We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic and Sassy Ultra Modern”
Review of The Greens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Greens Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Sacramento B&B and Inns
Woodland Hills, CA
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Chic and Sassy Ultra Modern”
Reviewed 18 April 2011

I travel to Sac on business quite often, but was tired of the usual picks. Oooh...a new chic modern hotel? I'll give it a whirl! Check in was a breeze! The room itself was quite cute. Modern furniture gave it a cool look which was nice to show off. Modern furniture sometimes can have that "cold" look, but the Greens' seemed to be the aberration. The bed was super comfy. The bathroom was spotless. Only a couple of cons: this part of town in Sac is a bit sketchy (not horribly crime ridden, but I wouldn't feel too safe walking around at night). Also just wished they had offered a little breakfast foods.

Overall, a great deal for a clean, eco-friendly, easy on the eyes hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karmanitrate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    27
    4
    2
    6
See reviews for
13
21
15
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2011

The Greens is, as discussed in other reviews here, a great deal. The very clean, eco-friendly, comfortable rooms were an inexpensive and funky crash pad for us during 5 nights of business in Sacto. Our room was spacious and somewhat spartan but we had everything we needed, including free wifi and an ironing board. Other guests ranged from tattooed hipsters to contractors. The biggest drawback was the inconvenient, actually nonexistent hours that the place was staffed during our stay. They are apparently trying to save $ by only having the office open from 9 am-9 pm. We weren't able to call for directions from the airport, or to use the pool and reading room (it is inside a locked lobby), and getting a receipt before our 5 am flight was a huge hassle. Once you track them down the staff are quite friendly and helpful, though. This is in a gentrifying neighborhood - think south Congress in Austin circa 1990, with pawnshops and homeless pushing shopping carts past indie art studio spaces. There's a fabulous panaderia down the street, but no decent coffee for miles.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RachelR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thegreenshotel, Manager at The Greens Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2011
Dear valued guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review / feedback after your recent stay at The greens hotel. We do apologize for any of the inconveniences caused. Particularly the fact that we have such limited hours at the office. We will take corrective measures and make sure the office is open longer hours and that the staff are more accessible. Its just that we are a financially struggling hotel and hence we are very frugal with our work hours. But I admit that we need to look out for our guests' comfort and needs too.
Hope to see you the next time you are in Sacramento.
Sincerely,

Yvonne, Javier & Rick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
Reviewed 14 January 2011

artsy room, immaculate, extremely comfy bed. we stayed in room U. if it is typical of the $70 "superior" rooms, wow! the manager really cares about the guests, the rooms and the grounds. security is excellent so you don't have to worry about the "transitional" neighborhood. although they don't have a 24 hour desk, the night manager is always on call and was waiting for us at 11pm. we bad an unexpectedly perfect motel experience and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viacoyote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

My husband and I stayed here for New Year's Eve. We paid $70 for the "superior" room. Regular rooms go for $50.

Now, for htis money, you'd expect a pretty skeevy place. However, this place is awesome. Not fancy, but scruplously clean, and with amenities and finishings that you might not find in a room for twise the price.

The bathroom is marble with high end finishings. The shower was very low-flow, but I suppose that's what you get from an eco-conscious hotel in a water-starved region.

The bed was fluffy and deluxe, with very high quality linens. Really MUCH nicer than you'd expect for the money. In fact, we stayed in some expensive places in Napa valley earlier on this road trip, and the bed was comparable to the bed in any of them.

So: not fancy, but kind of hip and incredibly comfortable. I'd stay here again any time.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoanneTravels66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, SC
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2010

This is a smartly renovated hotel in a transitional part of Sacramento. The feeling is like a contemporary Inn and the staff is very helpful. I was here for a conference downtown and the commute was simple each day. I would definitely recommend this hotel for those who like interesting places to stay that are far from routine.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCTraveler864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2010

This hotel creates its own category: "budget cool." We had never been to Sacramento before and chose this hotel based primarily on TripAdvisor reviews. We were not disappointed. Our room -- which we got for the unbelievably low price of $70/nt -- was spacious and nicely appointed. The bathroom was great and the bed was very comfortable with nice sheets. As noted in other reviews, the area in which the hotel is located is transitional; while there is some development and the area doesn't feel dangerous, there aren't a lot of places you can reach on foot. (It was a short trip to Old Sac and midtown, though.) Because there wasn't a lot nearby, it would have been nice to have coffee available in the room or in the office.
This hotel is definitely a good bargain.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank espaustx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2010

The Greens Hotel and staff made my first, solo and shotgun visit to Sacramento the best vacation decision that I could have ever made.

At first, even the big-city Chi-town gal (me) was a bit overwhelmed walking out of the airport to 90°+ weather, hopping in a cab and driving across the sprawling dried summer grasslands of Sacramento. But, it all changed upon my arrival to the Greens.

You walk up to the place and it's such a warm, modern and fresh take on an a classic motel layout. The patio is blanketed with Cali flora (think cacti, hearty shrubbery), trendy outdoor furniture and mostly shaded, thanks to the thoughtfully arranged aerial sheets of tarp pulled tightly and securely.

I fell in love with my room. Vibrant, avocado green walls make up room "V" (which I stayed in). Layers of light and heavy black curtains over the window give you the option of shaded/partial light to complete darkness (which I neeeed to sleep at night). The contrasting red furniture was such a stylish touch, the black-and-white patterned floral carpet was clean and cute and the crisp, white sheets pulled everything together.

The staff was amazing. Rick and Yvonne were unbelievably accommodating. I could not have dreamed up a more pleasant, hospitable pair. They were the comfort that I needed while I was away from everything that I knew (behind the scenes: I booked the trip to Sacramento because the band I wanted to see wasn't coming to Chicago this summer. I didn't want to visit some close small town so I visited the far-away small city instead). They genuinely wanted to make sure my trip was enjoyable and they succeeded.

Would I stay at the Greens again? Definitely! It was so refreshing to find a successful non-chain, environmentally conscious hotel to add to my much needed vacation. Thanks, Greens :)

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeonyLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
3.0 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
2.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 81 in Sacramento
1,604 reviews
2.6 mi away
Governors Inn Hotel
Governors Inn Hotel
#14 of 81 in Sacramento
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sacramento/South Natomas
6.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Sacramento
Crowne Plaza Sacramento
#37 of 81 in Sacramento
282 reviews
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sacramento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greens Hotel

Property: The Greens Hotel
Address: 1700 Del Paso Blvd, Sacramento, CA 95815-3017
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Greens Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Greens Hotel has re-opened on November 7, 2014! We have worked very hard to make sure that our accommodations, landscape and public areas are comfortable, clean, and welcoming. We have added a Keurig to every room, the nicest bathroom amenities available to us, luxurious mattress pads, and comfortable bedding to make your stay memorable. The Greens Hotel is the centerpiece of an authentic little Sacramento neighborhood where mid-century suburbia shares the sidewalks with the best of today's design, art, fashion and dining. Twenty-six rooms named A through Z and one suite frame a casual commons, best for a breezy summer nights gathering around the pool or in one of our private and intimate courtyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and getaroom.com so you can book your The Greens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing