We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Greens Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$125
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$232
US$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hyatt Regency Sacramento(Sacramento)
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$245
US$229
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$194
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$164
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$177
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$195
US$175
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Delta King(Sacramento)
US$161
US$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveller rating
57
36
5
2
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
57
36
5
2
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstyle doorfantastic hospitalityrenovated hotelgreat amenitieslight railneeded a place to stayparking lot isbed was comfortableother guestswould definitely stay here againold townalphabetsackingscaliforniaclosetrefrigerator
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 112 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2011

This motel offers you a nicely decorated, hip, big, clean room for a great price. Our room was painted bright green, there were purple chairs, a small desk, as well as a little fridge. The AC works well, there is wifi and a pool (we did not use the pool, but it looked nice). The bed was comfortable.

The neighborhood is not as good, but it felt safe enough to us, and the motel has a gate that closes at night.

Other cons include: you only get housekeeping if you call for it, there are no glasses in the room if you want to drink some water, the drapes are short so the room is not kept very dark at night (although it was adequate).

We would stay here again if we were driving through Sacramento. It is a much better option than a chain motel.

www.riderbymyside.com

Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
Thank riderbymyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

I thought the establishment was clean and staff friendly and helpful - not so sure I liked the neighborhood being a woman traveller - but I will go back again -

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dade4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

I travel to Sac on business quite often, but was tired of the usual picks. Oooh...a new chic modern hotel? I'll give it a whirl! Check in was a breeze! The room itself was quite cute. Modern furniture gave it a cool look which was nice to show off. Modern furniture sometimes can have that "cold" look, but the Greens' seemed to be the aberration. The bed was super comfy. The bathroom was spotless. Only a couple of cons: this part of town in Sac is a bit sketchy (not horribly crime ridden, but I wouldn't feel too safe walking around at night). Also just wished they had offered a little breakfast foods.

Overall, a great deal for a clean, eco-friendly, easy on the eyes hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karmanitrate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2011

The Greens is, as discussed in other reviews here, a great deal. The very clean, eco-friendly, comfortable rooms were an inexpensive and funky crash pad for us during 5 nights of business in Sacto. Our room was spacious and somewhat spartan but we had everything we needed, including free wifi and an ironing board. Other guests ranged from tattooed hipsters to contractors. The biggest drawback was the inconvenient, actually nonexistent hours that the place was staffed during our stay. They are apparently trying to save $ by only having the office open from 9 am-9 pm. We weren't able to call for directions from the airport, or to use the pool and reading room (it is inside a locked lobby), and getting a receipt before our 5 am flight was a huge hassle. Once you track them down the staff are quite friendly and helpful, though. This is in a gentrifying neighborhood - think south Congress in Austin circa 1990, with pawnshops and homeless pushing shopping carts past indie art studio spaces. There's a fabulous panaderia down the street, but no decent coffee for miles.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RachelR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thegreenshotel, Manager at The Greens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2011

Dear valued guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review / feedback after your recent stay at The greens hotel. We do apologize for any of the inconveniences caused. Particularly the fact that we have such limited hours at the office. We will take corrective measures and make sure the office is open longer hours and that the staff are more accessible. Its just that we are a financially struggling hotel and hence we are very frugal with our work hours. But I admit that we need to look out for our guests' comfort and needs too.
Hope to see you the next time you are in Sacramento.
Sincerely,

Yvonne, Javier & Rick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2011

artsy room, immaculate, extremely comfy bed. we stayed in room U. if it is typical of the $70 "superior" rooms, wow! the manager really cares about the guests, the rooms and the grounds. security is excellent so you don't have to worry about the "transitional" neighborhood. although they don't have a 24 hour desk, the night manager is always on call and was waiting for us at 11pm. we bad an unexpectedly perfect motel experience and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viacoyote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews