We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They have created a wonderful and hip environment with comfort, charm, brilliant design and a warm, friendly staff.”
Review of The Greens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Greens Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Sacramento B&B and Inns
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“They have created a wonderful and hip environment with comfort, charm, brilliant design and a warm, friendly staff.”
Reviewed 25 June 2010

Sacramento seems to be saturated with chain motels with no character so it was a great pleasure to find The Greens Hotel.  They have created a wonderful and hip environment with comfort, charm, brilliant design and a warm, friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zerog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    27
    4
    2
    5
See reviews for
11
21
15
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2010

I absolutely love The Greens Hotel. I have stayed at The Greens on 5 separate occasions and have recommended to everyone I know. The staff is excellent and extremely accommodating. As a photographer and artist I very much appreciate the thought that went to decorating both the grounds and the rooms. Each room is unique and is a showcase for local artists work. With 2 courtyards and a pool it is the perfect place to unwind and relax. The rooms are quiet and the bedding is superior.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jparks2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
American in Europe
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2010

I spent two nights at The Greens and thought it was great. Nice design attitude and Eddie the manager was really friendly. My room was massive so not sure where the small rooms are and the bed and bedding were very comfortable. I did not experience any ambient noise and the parking was great. Clearly the neighbourhood would not suit everyone and if you are of a nervous or paranoid disposition you will not enjoy the motel. This is a neighbourhood on the "up" but if your into urban renewal you will appreciate it. Minor down points were not enough lighting available in the room, shower power not terrific and given the area, I would have felt better having a chain lock on the interior of the room would have been appreciated but loved the dutch barn style door. Would happily return.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norfolk23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, CA
1 review
Reviewed 5 November 2008

We stayed at the Greens Hotel for a non profit event on Oct. 30th. I was very pleased by the decor, and set up of the room. I was also pleased with the down bedding and cozy towels and fluffy shower rug. The staff was very helpful and courteous. Lewis the manager was great!

  • Liked — It was clean, inviting and comfortable.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank hpuleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2008

We enjoyed our one-night stay at the stylish and new the Greens Hotel. They've done an outstanding job remodeling the old motel and making the rooms feel like a swank lounge with leather headboards, bold paint color and original art. The room was comfortable and super clean with unique furniture, including a comfortable bean bag. Staff was friendly and very responsive. We stayed here for a night of R&R as well-earned time away from our infant son, but because of the cool decor, I felt a little like we were partying harder than we actually were!

I did miss the in-room coffee and the closet needs some illumination. Both the cable and tv remotes still need some programming (volume, etc). I would spend the extra to get the bigger room next time. There was no check-in wine pour as detailed on the reservation.

There's not much going on in the immediate neighborhood, even on a Saturday afternoon and evening. We ate at Fran's Cafe in the same complex and the meals were tasty with a good selection of wine. Little Joe's is basic and fine for breakfast, although a little greasy, but they only take cash.

  • Liked — The industrial yet arty decor
  • Disliked — The sleepy neighborhood
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank laskrops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2008

I was very excited to stay at The Greens: I love modern furniture and I know the Limn stores. The hotel was probably a very old run down motel of the 50' that was given a make over. The rooms (VERY small) are each painted a different color inside, shockingly bright (our was a bright red), truly too much. The furniture is nice and the small bathroom quite pleasant (marble) and clean. But: the wireless was not working in the room ("sorry...") the direct tv (nice flat screen) had only crap tv channels available - all the movies channels were not available. The worst thing was the noise: from about 4 am in the morning I could hear people talking in the back (I assume it was staff), walking with heavy shoes, and all kind of noise. The location is not that great but you'll have parking. Overall I would not go back there even at the incredible rate of $53 through Hotwire.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank edrCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Tahoe
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2008

The Greens Hotel is located in an area of Sacramento that is just on its way up. Del Paso is a district that was so run down that artists could afford to move in. In response, other businesses opened up, including "Enotria", a great wine tasting and gourmet restaurant. Two blocks up is the Greens Hotel. This whole area is a work in progress, but there are several coffee houses, art galleries and eateries along the street that are worth a look.
As for the hotel, it is unique in many respects. Each room is a different solid color and since there are 26 of them, each has a letter of the alphabet instead of numbers.
The owner bought an abandoned concrete block motel and danced it up to a hip, zany (and reasonably priced) place to stay and since it is fenced in, it felt completely safe at night. There are many things to like, the music in the quad, the neat decor and the new furnishings. Hair dryers are on request . There is no coffee available, just a greasy spoon next door, but otherwise, most enjoyable.

  • Liked — Interesting design and daring location
  • Disliked — No coffee maker
  • Stayed October 2008
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MrWayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
3.0 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
2.6 mi away
Governors Inn Hotel
Governors Inn Hotel
#16 of 81 in Sacramento
494 reviews
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sacramento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Sacramento Cal Expo
3.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sacramento/South Natomas
2.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 81 in Sacramento
1,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greens Hotel

Property: The Greens Hotel
Address: 1700 Del Paso Blvd, Sacramento, CA 95815-3017
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Greens Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Greens Hotel has re-opened on November 7, 2014! We have worked very hard to make sure that our accommodations, landscape and public areas are comfortable, clean, and welcoming. We have added a Keurig to every room, the nicest bathroom amenities available to us, luxurious mattress pads, and comfortable bedding to make your stay memorable. The Greens Hotel is the centerpiece of an authentic little Sacramento neighborhood where mid-century suburbia shares the sidewalks with the best of today's design, art, fashion and dining. Twenty-six rooms named A through Z and one suite frame a casual commons, best for a breezy summer nights gathering around the pool or in one of our private and intimate courtyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Greens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing