We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“turn of the century charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sterling Hotel Sacramento
Ranked #39 of 81 Hotels in Sacramento
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“turn of the century charm”
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Beautiful old home converted into bed and breakfast type setting. We had a standard room with two queen beds. It was large, clean and comfortable with four-post beds, high ceilings and big windows.
The neighborhood is peaceful and feels safe. It includes many other homes from the same era. It's walking distance to the Governor's Mansion and convention center.
Front desk staff were great --- very friendly and helpful. We had misplaced some music festival information. Lauren found it, realized it was ours and called to let us know it would be waiting for us. She also told us about a weekly live music event at a nearby park, which we attended and had a great time.
The rates are reasonable and very reasonable if you book early. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sterlinghotelsac, General Manager at The Sterling Hotel Sacramento, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Thank you for the wonderful comments! It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    21
    16
    7
    4
See reviews for
16
25
2
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Clovis, California
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

I travel to Sacramento for work and was surprised to find this nice B&B type hotel in the area. The neighborhood is gorgeous (Mansion Flats) and very safe. The hotel offered basic amenities, do not expect anything above and beyond. The bed was not too comfortable and the bathroom was very small.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JAB2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atascadero
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

The hotel is beautiful and the staff is very helpful and friendly.
The reason I'm giving a rating of 3 to the hotel is because the mattresses are hard and uncomfortable and the pillows are overstuffed and hard. Neither my husband or I slept well because of this.
I was also disappointed to find that the housekeeper had neglected to put coffee or enough cups in our room. We were in a large room with 2 queen-sized beds and we had 1 cup, a single serve coffeemaker and no coffee, lots of cream, sugar and napkin packages though.
Our room itself was very nice with a large marble bathroom, working jacuzzi tub and free wifi.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bikracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut, CA
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We paid around $150 each night for 3 weeknights, for 3 people. Very spacious room (room #211) even when we have the rollaway bed. Huge bathroom with marble tiles. 2 short blocks to the convention center.

Cons:
- sloppy housekeeping
- customer service was marginal
- maintenance of property was quite sloppy.
- carpet has a lot of nasty stains
- 4-inch thick mattress pad was too soft for my back
- weird A/C system - some parts would be very cool, others very warm. We had a west-facing windows so the room was hot during the day. Very weak A/C inside the room.
- so therefore we left our windows open and the dump truck came at 6 am, emptying the bins RIGHT UNDERNEATH our windows (which was an alley), followed by very noisy birds, then morning traffic starts. :( But very well insulated windows, if you close them.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ariesgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We arrived to what seemed to be a charming hotel. WOW were we wrong. The room was horrible. First it was a handicapped room so things were a bit awkward. 2nd the bed was hard as a rock and all night you could hear awful noises that if you actually fell asleep you would wake up. The lady at the front desk was hard to find until you figured out she was setting outside smoking on the front porch. Over all the night was a disaster!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Bryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coppet, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2011

While it's always nicer to stay in a small charming hotel, this particular one has a serious problem. The heating in our room didn't work properly and the ballroom fan below our room had not been turned off, making a terrible noise. The hotel staff did eventually manage to solve both issues but the damage was done. When we finally tried to get to sleep it turned out the bed was very soft! The breakfast was fine however and the atmosphere pleasant enough though.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hans044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

My wife and I stayed here for our anniversary. The hotel has quite a unique history dating back many years. We stayed in the Huntington Suite and while it was ok for a one night get away, it had many issues that would have grown tiresome quickly. The TV's cable box had serious issues making it near impossible to switch channels. The shelf stereo's audio didn't work despite powering it on and checking wires. The bathtub drain plug didnt work well, it constantly leaked. The bed itself was just ok, not great not bad. Breakfast the next morning was basic, nothing hot. Aside from all these issues, the hotel has a nice romantic feel to it. It's location is convenient to the downtown attractions. We probably wouldn't stay here again, but also wouldn't discourage future guests.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jetsgopro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 81 in Sacramento
1,609 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
1.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Downtown
Quality Inn Downtown
#46 of 81 in Sacramento
139 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
0.5 mi away
Inn off Capitol Park
Inn off Capitol Park
#36 of 81 in Sacramento
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sterling Hotel Sacramento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sterling Hotel Sacramento

Property: The Sterling Hotel Sacramento
Address: 1300 H St, Sacramento, CA 95814-1907
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 81 Hotels in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sterling Hotel Sacramento 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Sterling Hotel Sacramento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sterling Hotel Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing