We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Sterling Hotel Sacramento
Ranked #39 of 82 Hotels in Sacramento
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Stayed only one night wish it could have been longer. Grand old home which has been tastefully renovated. Staff very friendly, bed comfortable, and breakfast was good free Wi Fi. Only con's would be parking(metered street parking) and noise at 6.30 in morning from adjacent building leaf blowing!
Would I stay here again? Absolutely!!!

Room Tip: We had twin bed room 211 extremely spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carol a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

Loved this charming hotel. Stayed at the hotel for multi-day function at the Convention Center around Thanksgiving. Friendly front desk. Loved the cucumber water and hot tea available all day in the room off the entry. My daughter and I stayed in a lovely room complete with antique trim, super high ceilings and funky light. Perfect. The bathroom was very functional, but if you are not nimble or are a little older/overweight, you may have a little difficulty stepping into the tall tub/shower. Not an issue for us. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the atmosphere. Would definitely stay at the hotel should we return to Sacramento.

Room Tip: We had friends who also stayed in the hotel and did not have rooms with the charm ours did. I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonHyde2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

This is a neat old mansion converted into a pretty nice hotel. My room was gigantic and great, with a 4 poster canopy bed, huge showers and jacuzzi tub. The meeting facilities are excellent as well. Only a couple blocks from the capitol and the convention center.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank adriantm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

H street is lined with old Victorians and when we pulled up in front of the Sterling we were all smiles...Yes! curb appeal? you betcha! we walked up the steps to the grand entry door and were greeted by a super friendly and personable young man you processed our reservation with speed and a smile! you know, he was genuinely glad to have us there! do you ever get the feeling when you check in that you are an inconvenience to some folks? not this place, we received a first class greeting all the way(upon check out by a different clerk as well) our room (201) was huge with a beautiful clean bed tucked into a three window nook overlooking H street. our bathroom was gorgeous, tiled with a jet tub perfect for two, amazing! the bed was more than comfortable, the hotel gorgeous! I have seen reviews about parking here but there is a garage less than a block away and we had no problem parking on the street in front of the hotel! The Sterling is one block from any kind of cuisine imaginable, the neighborhood is quiet and safe. We usually select accomodations that have character and the Sterling did not disappoint.The Hotel is furnished to the Victorian period, detailed, clean, clean, clean and you will love it when you see it. I am aware of where I am on this planet and what I have done in my 55 years on this earth and this hotel was an enjoyable experience. we will stay here again and again and this is most certainly a jewel. We availed ourselves to a couples massage next door at "Thai massage" and had Sushi at the "Kru" on 26th and J (awesome) if you are looking for the perfect weekend get-a-way with your special lady guys this is the place to do it if your in Sac. Thank you Sterling we were more than takin care of!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snowchasers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

The Sterling is charming. My room was huge and quiet. Location is perfect, close to the Capital and the big hotels. Easy walk to the old city and riverfront.

Parking was challenging. You need to self-park in a garage and walk to the hotel, which is slightly uncomfortable in Sacramento.

Staff is friendly and helpful.

I wish every business city had a similar choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite and book ahead for a good rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 359kateh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This hotel is small - 16 rooms - all different and very cool! The service was great and my experience was pretty wonderful. My clients had booked the hotel and I was so happy to be somewhere with character instead of a chain hotel. The room was gorgeous with a comfy bed, free wifi, views of the neighborhood and some beautiful trees in the midst of changing colors. Happily with a wedding reception taking place on the first floor, I couldn't hear the celebration in my room on the 3rd floor.

The front desk staff were very helpful with restaurant recommendations and directions. There were quite a few to choose from just a short walk away. Did not get a chance to try out the gourmet restaurant downstairs as it was closed from 2pm Sunday and Monday. The continental breakfast was just that and the coffee was nice and fresh.

If you want something that's boutique lovely, in midtown Sacramento, stay here. Oh - and if you are attending something at the Convention Center, it's a 2 block walk.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different. I loved being on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephSelesnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

The Sterling Hotel is in a great location, surrounded by beautiful historic homes. Our room was spacious and well decorated. Very little attention was paid to the continental breakfast of unhealthy, packaged foods. Parking became a problem as the night clerk had told us that parking on the street was free on Sunday, but if we left the car there after 8:00 AM on Monday,, we'd have to plug the meter. So we made a point of paying the meter before breakfast so that we could linger over (what we thought would be) a nice breakfast. As we were eating breakfast, the morning desk clerk (manager) came and told us that our car would be towed away because the street sweeper comes around on Monday. Unhappily, we moved the car, and the clerk was very rude about the lack of communication regarding parking. A lesson learned about checking parking rules before spending the night.

Room Tip: If you're a senior or physically challenged, you may want to inquire about the tub/shower in you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dsaxtonCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 82 in Sacramento
1,700 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Downtown
Quality Inn Downtown
#47 of 82 in Sacramento
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
0.5 mi away
Inn off Capitol Park
Inn off Capitol Park
#38 of 82 in Sacramento
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sterling Hotel Sacramento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sterling Hotel Sacramento

Address: 1300 H St, Sacramento, CA 95814-1907
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 82 Hotels in Sacramento
Price Range: £124 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sterling Hotel Sacramento 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Sterling Hotel Sacramento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sterling Hotel Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing