We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for short stays” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Days Inn Sacramento Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Days Inn Sacramento Downtown
Ranked #35 of 80 Hotels in Sacramento
Angmering, West Sussex
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great for short stays”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

We booked this hotel on line the day before and based that selection solely on price, proximity to Old Sacramento and the fact that Days Inn have always been good in the past. It didn't let us down. Suprisingly, for an area so close to the Freeway, it was nice and quiet. The guy on the desk was friendly and efficient, taking his time giving us clear directions when we went out in the evening. The room was good, nice and clean with effective air conditioning. The only downside, which stopped this being a 4 Star review was the stink of cigarette smoke in the corridors, it really was unpleasant. Not sure if it's always like this or if it was a particular, chainsmoking guest in a nearby room. As I say apart from that, really good value for money if you're looking for an overnighter in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank isummers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    149
    93
    47
    41
See reviews for
106
119
59
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire Engalnd
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Very good hotel if you are in town for one night or a couple. Good sized rooms. Very clean and comfy. hotel staff very friendly. As we had an upstairs room we could have the window open at night. Fun to watch folk trying to cook the waffles at the complimentary breakfast!

Room Tip: Have a 1st floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saunders80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden Grove, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

Came upon this hotel as we needed a place to stay. So glad we found it! Newly painted exterior was a welcoming flag to us. Place was clean and right on the Sacramento and American Rivers, making for a very nice bicycle ride that evening and to begin the next day, with views of the Sacramento skyline and Capitol building from the American River trail. Nice!
Place is smaller and more personal than some of the surrounding hotels. Nice, clean, restful stay. Thank you!

Room Tip: There was some vagrants around the nearby River park, but everything was safe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HazelDell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Mirage, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Let me preface this review by saying that I normally don't review hotels but I was so disappointed with this hotel and the management that I decided to review it. I picked this hotel not only because of easy access to Hwy 5 but primarily because I was traveling with dogs and needed wired internet to do some work. When I had called the hotel earlier in the week, I was advised they had wired internet, but when I arrived and got checked in, the wired internet was not working in my room.

I contacted the front desk where the girl told me there was only wireless internet- I told her that I was advised earlier in the week that there was wired internet and she reassured me that no in fact there wasn't. I mentioned that I chose this hotel specifically for that and she was nice and apologized but did not offer any sort of assistance to try to help me ( I'm guessing since now I know she was knew, she probably just wasn't sure what to do). Since I was already checked in and the dogs were settled, I wound up staying but was not able to complete my work and lost out on money because of this.

The area is very shady-a lot of homeless/drunk people wandering the street right outside of the hotel- I did not even feel comfortable walking my dogs down the block. As far as the room was concerned, it was an ok room- the mattress was pretty uncomfortable- you could feel the springs and the room felt a little dingy. The bathroom was ok and there were clean towels and sheets on the bed. The room definitely could use updating- the tv was old and made a high pitched humming noise when I turned it on so I didn't use it.

I spoke to the manager the next morning when I checked out and he was not very nice. I asked for a discount on the room because I had lost out on several hours of work and he refused. He said that it was my fault that I did not physically go down to the front desk even though I called and he also said that I should have known that the girl I had spoken to was new and because she was new, she had given me the incorrect information. I advised him that I had tried getting the internet to work wired and it wasn't and he said I should have asked for a technician to look at it. I asked him why I would do that if his employee said that there was no wired internet and he said that I should have still asked. He also said that I should have spoken to the girl at the desk the night before about a discount, even though she wasn't a manager and that I already had a low rate (military rate which was an advertised price on the Days Inn website). Needless to say, he refused to help me at all or offer me any sort of discount due to the inconvenience.

I have stayed in many a hotel over the last several years and am not that picky but I can say without a doubt that this was the worst customer service I have ever received and I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. If you can stay somewhere else, I would suggest you do.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank celise14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunnySacramento, Manager at Days Inn Sacramento Downtown, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thank you for your review on tripadvisor.com. We apologize for the inconveniences during your past stay at our motel. Make sure that your each and every comments will be addressed, and try to improve our best during your next stay. We know that you were very disappointed during your last stay. For that disappointment we would love to give you 20% discount during your next stay.

Thank you again for your reply on tripadvisor. If I can be any assist to you, don't hesitate to contect me at (916) 443-4811.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.3 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sacramento
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Downtown Sacramento
0.3 mi away
Governors Inn Hotel
Governors Inn Hotel
#16 of 80 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Executive Inn and Suites Sacramento
6.0 mi away
Good Nite Inn Sacramento
Good Nite Inn Sacramento
#31 of 80 in Sacramento
3.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.9 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Sacramento Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Sacramento Downtown

Property: Days Inn Sacramento Downtown
Address: 228 Jibboom Street, Sacramento, CA 95814 (Formerly Capitol Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Sacramento Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Old Sacramento, Railroad Museum and Convention Center In the heart of Sacramento, our Days Inn Sacramento Downtown hotel offers a great location and value. Our Sacramento, CA, hotel near Old Sacramento is centrally located off Interstate 5. Enjoy free Daybreak continental breakfast with waffles and read your free newspaper. Take a refreshing swim in the outdoor pool or connect to free high-speed Internet access. Get the most out of your stay with the 24-hour front-desk service from our friendly staff. Other thoughtful amenities include free parking, guest laundry facilities and wake-up service. Each hotel room features a microwave and a refrigerator. We offer non-smoking and handicapped-accessible rooms at our Sacramento, CA, hotel, where kids 17 and under stay free with an adult ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Days Inn Sacramento Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Sacramento Downtown Hotel Sacramento
Sacramento Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing