We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun bar”
Review of Dive Bar

Dive Bar
Ranked #1,146 of 1,998 Restaurants in Sacramento
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Description: Neighborhood bar, (916) 737-5770
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun bar”
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Was there Saturday night, saw the mermaid and the merman, fast service. A little crowded, but not too bad.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank venturer07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    11
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“If you're here for the mermaids, you're better off at Disneyland.”
Reviewed 8 July 2012 via mobile

I drove from the Bay Area to see the merfolk, called ahead, and was told 8 would be a possibility on a Saturday night. I arrived early, paid an ungodly sum to park at the Hyatt, and ordered what I thought was the $5 house white special. (It was neither $5, nor special.) 8 rolled by, then 8:30, then 9, and at 9:15, my date and I had to leave (we're not 20something).
This establishment absolutely knows when the mermaids are scheduled. If this were Vegas, you'd show up on time for the Treasure Island pirate show and be rewarded, right? I've been wanting to do this for over a year and I'm disappointed. It's a lovely place, the drinks and service are fine, but if you're coming from out of town to see the mermaids, you won't get an honest answer about their show times. Of course there's a schedule somewhere, but this place somehow thinks they're adding to the mystique by keeping it under wraps. The valley tries so bravely to be edgy, but 20 years after I've moved away, it's still missing the mark. I really hope this place makes it and capitalizes on the kind of revenue potential and audience it could draw from insightful marketing. Meanwhile, I'll be saving my allowance to visit Ariel at Disneyland next summer.

Helpful?
2 Thank ARH_Miller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
196 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Elusive mermaids & mermen”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We've gone three times, all on weeknights, and never saw mermaids but we did spend some time looking at the giant aquarium over the bar. During Happy Hour, most of the chairs are occupied but it's not crowded by any means. When you buy a drink, you are given a plate for the appetizers, which are all pretty standard, but tasty. There are bags of Fritos and a vat of chili to put on them. When the appetizers are gone, they're gone, so grab an extra taquito for later. There are drink specials that are about the same as anywhere else. There is no waiter service during Happy Hour, and each time we went there was a lone bartender trying to serve everyone. Good music- lots of (loud) classic rock that's not standard. We heard In-A-Gadda-Da-Vida for the first time in a long time! After happy hour, the place is pretty dead. We never did see mermaids, and the doorman told us that it costs them too much to have the mermaids if there aren't a lot of customers, so the best chances to see them are later in the week and on weekends after 9:00. WTH?

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lakeside31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
659 reviews
342 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“Fun St Pats Day”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Good value. We ate had a few beeers and a generally good time. The bartender was great and the bar menu just what we were looking for. Inexpensive good for a heavy snack. Almost a meal. Also got a free Guiness as the Guiness reps passed through and the whole house got a deal!!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BaronFoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st louis missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Cool place to see.”
Reviewed 22 December 2011

I didn't eat here. We walked over to see the mermaid and the tank, had a cocktail and left. Techno music playing, different kinda vibe going on, not my kind of comfy place.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank boamot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dive Bar also viewed

 
Sacramento, CA
 

Been to Dive Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing