We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very recommendable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Sacramento Midtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Courtyard Sacramento Midtown
Ranked #25 of 80 Hotels in Sacramento
MAGALIA
Level Contributor
165 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 410 helpful votes
“Very recommendable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2008

Located close to all freeways, downtown and the UC Davis Medical Center, this is an exceptionally nice Courtyard hotel. It is very quiet despite its location and looks more like a full blown Marriott hotel than a Courtyard. Room rates are decent. On weekends one can get an especially good deal. Rooms are large and well furnished. Spacious public and business area. Cleanliness is immaculate. Beautiful outside swimming pool, surprising for a city hotel. Lots of free parking.

  • Liked — Location, spacious rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Buddy-Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    88
    31
    20
    5
See reviews for
61
27
13
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2008

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights last week and my stay was fantastic. The rooms were very comfortable and had a large amount of space for me to keep all my belongings (I was moving and needed a lot of space!)
Everything was clean and in working order and having the refrigerator and the microwave was a great plus.
The restaurant was great and the service was fantastic. Everyone was so polite and helpful throughout the hotel.
We also spent the afternoons out by the pool which was stocked with fresh towels and lounge chairs. The location is great for Sacramento, only a five minute trip on the highway to downtown and across from the hospitals if you are here to visit them. The parking is free which is a great deal considering it is almost $30 downtown! I had a great stay here and would highly recommend the Courtyard Midtown to anyone who wants a great stay in a great hotel! Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BostonBostonTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento Valley
Level Contributor
282 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 787 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2008

In Sacramento for a meeting. This Courtyard which was rennovated last year, is off of Stockton Blvd. next to the Shriners Children's Hospital and a block away from the U.C. Davis Medical Center. Check was okay. Not warm or welcoming.
Lifts were a bit slow. Room smelled a bit unpleasant. Despite a nice rennovation to the lobby. The rooms do not really look inviting and relaxing. Some odd room furniture. Not the best lighting. Bed was comfortable. To be honest, the Fairfield Inn brand properties that I have stayed are better than this property for the atmosphere, room and value.

The room features both a mini fridge and microwave. I opened the fridge and there was some previous occupants leftover takeout meal and beverage. I brought this to the front desk and the front desk person did not really say anything. Amazing.

Ordered room service. Food was okay. Service was good. I ate breakfast the next morning in the restaurant. Service was excellent. Though the buffet was not much better than a good complementary Residence Inn buffet.

Not much food choices after business closing hours. Across the street on Stockton Blvd. is a good cafe called Sunshine Cafe but it closes in the evening. Also a good and healthy local chain La Bou.

If you have a child patient at the next Shriners Hospital next door or patient at the U.C. Davis Hospital, you can not beat the location, but do not let attractive lobby fool you.

This is a second rate property for it's brand, and it is unlikely I would stay here again when you have so many other choices in the Sacramento.

I suggest the Residence Inn at Capitol Park, Hyatt Regency on L street, Embassy Suites near Old Sacrametno, or Rancho Cordova Marriott. Or the Hilton at Arden or Residence Inn Cal Expo are all better choices than this property.

  • Liked — Excellent & Friendly Service in the Restaurant
  • Disliked — Not Clean, Not Inviting, Not Friendly
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SeminarTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
columbus, oh
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2008

We stayed Thursday through Sunday nights at the "over 62" rate. Found the mini fridge and microwave handy. Room was large, clean and quiet. Had used the website option for extra feather pillows, which were there upon check-in. Staff friendly and helpful, public areas very nice. Easy walk to Starbucks, Le Bou, and Sunshine Cafe. I recommend Sunshine Cafe -- good food, some with a Korean flair, always fresh and inexpensive, but they only serve until 3 p.m. and only weekdays. Short drive from J Street area and Midtown, where there are quite nice local shops and restaurants.

One minor problem -- one evening when we returned, our room smelled like smoke in this non-smoking hotel. Staff apologetic and fixed this, also gave us free buffet breakfast next morning.

  • Disliked — No free breakfast
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Ysanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2007

Basically on the UC Davis campus, very convenient to hospital and medical buildings (you can walk there). Walgreen's down the street is a 5-minute walk, good for those last-minute needs. Hotel restaurant food is OK; you can always go to Food Source (next to Walgreen's) if you want that gallon-sized bucket of ice cream instead.

Very small fitness room, minimal equipment. Room had microwave, fridge; comfortable and quiet, clean, functional. If you're on hospital business, they may offer a considerable discount.

  • Liked — Convenient location, Walgreen's close by for last-minute stuff
  • Disliked — Slow/inconsistent wireless internet service; expensive
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ninko999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2007

I stayed here recently on a business trip to work with one of the nearby hospitals. The hotel is well situated for access to the hospitals, and I saw a number of other guests who appeared to be staying at the hospital because they had family members being treated there. I was working night shift (6PM-6AM) which meant that I slept through the day. I was concerned that the cleaning crews in the hallways, etc. would keep me awake during the day, but was pleasantly surprised that this was not the case. The room was quiet and restful. The beds and pillows were extremely comfortable and the entire hotel was very clean.

I had reserved a king-size room, but as the only ones left were handicap-enabled rooms, I chose the option of taking a room with 2 queen size beds instead. The room was enormous! Plenty of space to stretch out. The room had brochures about internet access requiring you to plug into the wall jack, but I found that it was actually wireless enabled and I was able to sit in the comfy chair or on the bed while checking email, etc.

The restaurant was not bad, but a bit overpriced. The first night I had a great steak accompanied by some rather woody asparagus. The second night I showed up right at 5 when they opened and was seated by an employee. As I needed to be at work at 5:45 I gave her my order. Several employees asked if I had been helped, and I told them Yes. Only when I asked arond 5:20 about the status of my burger was it discovered that this person who sat me (never saw her again) had neglected to drop off my order with the kitchen. The other staff got me my food ASAP, I was able to eat and still make it to work on time, and the manager took half off my bill for the trouble. The breakfast buffet is average -- nothing spectacular, but not bad either.

In all, I was happy with this hotel as a nice place to stay, particularly if you're needing close proximity to the UC Davis and Shriner hospitals for work or treatment.

  • Liked — Location, comfortable room, helpful staff
  • Disliked — Restaurant a bit pricey
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jbeebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2007

Went to a class for a nursing certification at this hotel. It was small, but had everything I needed. No other hotel was in the area though, so I didn't have a choice. Nice quick check-in and large room w/fridge and sitting area. Great bed and pillows. Spacious business rm with 2 computers. Small work-out room. There is a small restaurant/bar that is very plain, but serves very good food. Swimming pool: cold!! jacuzzi-nice, but more like a warm bath. Quiet area. Not too far (& easy to get to) from the capitol building and Old Town Sacramento & river.

  • Liked — quiet, free parking, clean
  • Disliked — cold pool
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank terriraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Med Park
Hotel Med Park
#43 of 80 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
2.6 mi away
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
#13 of 80 in Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sacramento University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Courtyard Sacramento Cal Expo
5.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sacramento/South Natomas
2.4 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Sacramento Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Sacramento Midtown

Property: Courtyard Sacramento Midtown
Address: 4422 Y St, Sacramento, CA 95817-2220
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#23 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Sacramento Midtown 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Sacramento Midtown is the perfect place to relax and recoup after visiting nearby downtown Sacramento. Our beautiful hotel is near the UC Davis Medical Center campus and perfect for both leisure and business travelers. Our spacious guess rooms are designed for guest comfort and feature warm colors to relax the mind. You'll find newly upgraded 32" flat screen TVs, desk area, coffee maker, two-line phone with speakerphone, voice mail and much more! On-site you'll find a business center, fitness center, outdoor pool, and whirlpool for your convenience. Our hotel also features on-site dining available at the Bistro, an American style cafe open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. In addition, our Bistro has a full service bar and proudly serves Starbucks Coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard Sacramento Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Sacramento Midtown Hotel Sacramento
Sacramento Courtyard
Sacramento Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing