We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reservations for Sacramento Conference” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
Ranked #13 of 80 Hotels in Sacramento
Mission Viejo, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Reservations for Sacramento Conference”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

I had to make reservations for about 8 people with different itineraries. It got so complicated but the gracious and patient reservation personnel at the Sheraton Grand were very helpful and accomodating. They understood the complications of sending people to big conferences and their special schedules. I am glad I was able to re-arrange their lodging to attend the conference on time with the help of the Sheraton excellent reservation staff.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    364
    128
    44
    39
See reviews for
112
136
62
522
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Cucamonga, California
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

billing problem. tried to book a room for my parents. my dad ended up being charged, after two weeks of explaining and leaving messages with no returns, I talked to John David who instead of transferring me asked what I needed help with, apologized and worked hard to fix the problem, connect me with the correct person and made sure that person was available to talk to me.
I wish i had been able to deal with him from the beginning. They need more people like john to help customers.
I have stayed here before and enjoyed it, but after this mess i was going to not stay here again, but because of john, we will be willing to stay at a sheraton in the future

thanks John!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mpatch2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaluma, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

The only negative I found this visit was the dinner room service trays were still sitting in the hallway at 7 AM the next morning. I hadn't noticed this on previous stays; maybe there has been a change in day staffing hours, but thought I would mention it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ardith d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

I booked a reservation here because it is the host hotel for the California International Marathon. While the decor is nice looking and the lobby and bar area seems nice, the beds in the rooms are old and tired. I booked a room with 2 double beds in case one of the beds was not comfortable. At least I would have another chance for the other bed to be comfortable. That was not the case. Both beds are sagging in the middle and lean to one side (the side which one would normally get on and off the bed). I am here to run a marathon and sleep is of utmost importance. I have yet to be able to sleep well on these saggy beds.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank TNJtraveler111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton_Grand_Hotel, Manager at Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear TXtraveler1111,
We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel and let us know about your recent stay. We sincerely apologize for the issue you encountered with our beds! Our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper bed is typically a highlight for guests, and we couldn’t be sorrier that they were anything less than wonderful… especially the night before your big run. We will certainly look into replacing these mattresses as soon as possible!
Best,
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berthoud, Colorado
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Stayed for 3 nights for an Irish dance competition. Hotel was great but when we told the clerk how we wanted to split bill he charged everything to my card and that is NOT what we told him. Shared a room with a fellow dancer. Called a day later when all charges were on my bank account. Was put through to accounting who weren't in. Let a message explaining clearly their mistake and it's been a week and NO call back! Unacceptable! Make sure if you share a room you get someone who understands how to break it down and does it correctly! Just disappointed with their billing people who couldn't even give a curtiousy call back! Thank goodness the roomie paid me with a check. Not sure if I would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillivanilli69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton_Grand_Hotel, Manager at Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Jillivanilli69,
I appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel! I am pleased to hear that you liked the hotel; however I am concerned about the billing issue you encountered. I sincerely apologize for lack of service you have received. This is highly unusual and I would like to assist in any way possible. Please feel free to contact me directly.
Best,
Loren Colvin, Front Office Manager
916-447-1700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

What a wonderful hotel! First, I booked for the wrong night. When I showed up a day late, no problem. Then I'd forgotten my deodorant. When I called down to find out if there was a gift/convenience store nearby, no problem -- they sent some up. When I needed a delayed check-out because I had to print out a crucial document after a day of meetings, no problem.

Honestly, this could have been a terrible trip, but the Sheraton and its staff smoothed a rough road.

Meanwhile, the room was clean, well appointed, and well maintained, as were the public areas. The bed was comfortable and the bar friendly. I couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoingGoingAlmostGONE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton_Grand_Hotel, Manager at Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear GoingGoingAlmostGONE,
We are so glad to hear you had such a wonderful experience at our hotel! We are glad to hear that all of the things that could have gone wrong were fixed by our staff! We look forward to having you back again soon!
Best,
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
189 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

Surprisingly good stay and customer service! We would stay here again if in Sacramento.

The staff made it great:
We arrived one day earlier than our group rate, having booked one night in the concierge level for that one night early before our convention/group.
I spoke with Keoni at reception about having to move to our cheaper (group rate) room the next day. I also spoke with him about my need for a quiet room, away from elevators, heating or aircon ducts outside the building making machinery noise, vending machines, etc.
Most of the time when I explain this at a front desk it seems this request carries no weight.
Keoni took the time to consider the floor plan of the hotel and found us a room on the concierge level at our group rate and bedding configuration (family members were joining us after that first night which is why we booked 2 double beds at the group rate for the rest of our stay).
He found us a corner room and thought this might be quiet.
Our room: beautiful, windows on two sides, and QUIET.
I appreciate when front desk clerks actually listen to their guests and try to accommodate.

ALSO-- FOOD TIP: Instead of waiting in long lines at the convention center across the street during our group event for food, Keoni told us about a tiny family run coffee shop --Tantric I believe is the name--footsteps outside of the Sheraton (to the right of front door). Zero to little lines, and much better food and prices than at the convention center. We had coffees, lattes, wraps, salads, sandwiches between our various family members. So there's your food tip if you are going to an event at the convention center.

Housekeeping - terrific in not making alot of noise in the morning yelling down the hallway, which has happened to me at other chains. One day I was in the room until the afternoon and the housekeeper could not have been nicer about it.
Room was very clean.

Everything went so smoothly I was very impressed as I know when our large convention group comes to town it can be hectic and hotel staff can get frazzled. Not here--everything and everyone so helpful it felt more like a boutique hotel than an impersonal chain.
Another time I returned to the room as the housekeeper was making it up and he graciously disappeared for the short time I needed to change clothes and gather my things.
Everyone at the front desk was pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Higher floor is more quiet. (We were on 25th floor).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethStreetMoM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton_Grand_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear ElizabethStreetMoM,
We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel and let us know what exactly made your stay wonderful! We are pleased to hear you had such a nice experience with your quiet room, as well as our service! We hope you will join us again at the Sheraton Grand Sacramento!
Best,
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 80 in Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
1.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
3.5 mi away
The Westin Sacramento
The Westin Sacramento
#18 of 80 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel

Property: Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
Address: 1230 J St, 13th and J Street, Sacramento, CA 95814-2907
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sacramento
#11 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of downtown Sacramento, you'll find the city's best shopping and restaurants within blocks of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Sacramento
Sacramento Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing