We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is great; rooms, amenities aren't” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
Ranked #13 of 80 Hotels in Sacramento
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
152 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Location is great; rooms, amenities aren't”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

This hotel takes top prize for a great location near the capitol and convention center. My room, however, wasn't "tight" so that when another guest banged at a door down the hall at 2 a.m., it woke me up. And another guest told me she was similarly awakened. There was a large gap between the bottom of the room door and the hallway -- so the first defense against disruptive sound wasn't put in place. Elevators had suffered a mishap, so only two of the four were working and hotel was full. Checking in, only one person was at the front desk so line took time. Room amenities of soap, shampoo were of generic quality -- didn't even want to take them to put into my "give-to-shelter" bag. At the price had expected a robe & slippers, but the closet was bare. The essentials of a very nice hotel are almost there, but very uneven experience. Room was clean, but the bed squeaked!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JWP8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert R, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us regarding your most recent stay. We are disappointed to hear about your experience and your feedback will be forwarded to the appropriate managers. We hope to welcome you back and provide a more positive experience next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    364
    128
    44
    39
See reviews for
112
136
62
522
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
112 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

I was here for meetings, and I can't tell you how completely satisfied I was with the accommodations. First, this old building (which I believe was an old market during the 20s, 30s and 40s - if not longer ago) was completely and beautifully refurbished (and added onto, of course) into a wonderful hotel space. The lobby and sitting areas are spacious and welcoming, the wi-fi is free (along with some computers) for guests, and the restaurants/bars are terrific. The rooms are great, the pool and spa are probably everything you'd need, and the staff is utterly professional. The rooms are reasonably priced. And you're right in the heart of downtown Sacramento - right by the Capitol!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank feiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert R, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback! It is so wonderful to hear back from our guests, especially when they are able to experience so many aspects of our property. We hope that you find yourself in Sacramento again soon so that we have the opportunity to welcome you back and provide another satisfying stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Just want 2 say AMazing. When looking for a Hotel I saw pics of your Gym. That's what made me pick this one. I most often stay at Embassy , Hyatt or Hilton but this was a great pick. Walking in Amazing, few from my room AMazing, room service AMazing, Beds AMazing and the customer service AMazing. . The Pillows I need 2 know were I can buy some of those AMazing!!!!!! Ok did I say AMazing yet?? I will stay here again you are gonna have a regular: -)

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert R, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed the Sheraton Fitness by Core Performance and that you found the pillows on our Sweet Sleeper bed so comfortable. We hope to welcome you back soon for another amazing stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Lennie Sciortino, Banquet Captain at the Sheraton Grand Sacramento, should be given a commodation for giving service above and beyond the call of duty at our business function.

Lennie checked in with us at 4pm to confirm the timeline for our no host bar, dinner and dessert. The timeline he had was off by over an hour! The event coordinator at our company gave the Sheraton banquet person a 5:30p start for the bar and 6p for dinner when it was actually 4:30p for bar and 5:15p for dinner. Lennie didn't hesitate! He called for all hands on deck and within 20 minutes had our bar delivered and set up, dinner tables decorated and utensils set another 20 minutes after that. Food was delivered piping hot to the banquet line, and our attendees were never aware there was any problem.

Lennie was fast, efficient, and friendly! He even checked on us and made sure we got some food, too. The food was excellent.

Again, give Lennie a great big 'Thank You' from our company.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ksatake, Manager at Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent event hear at the Sheraton. We are excited to hear your comments about Lennie and the rest of our staff and will share them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Beautiful hotel in downtown Sacramento. You can walk anywhere. Fabulous, friendly staff especially Chad at Front Desk and Nick in Guest Services. Rooms spacious and higher floors boast wonderful views of the city. Room service prompt and food was good. I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PalosVerdesPeninsula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ksatake, Manager at Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your expereince with our staff. We will make sure that we pass this along to our staff. We look foward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
202 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

All the bar tendrs here just so great! There David Jackson (SPHINX), Michael Matter (Butterfly), Brittany (DRAGONFLY), Nate (ELEPHANT), Steve G (PHOENIX) and Eric Deckard (MARLIN)!

What I want write of is pass weekend! I came in Tuesday (there two fundraising walks Saturday and Sunday)! Tuesday, Steve was there! Ask him, "All these people here, why I only one to sit here," he mentions is convention of Doctors and Medical people, they usually refuse drink! They know here if I order anything, is just orange juice! Saturday and Sunday after the walks, come back! Eric there both days! Saturday ask if he can cut the applie in slices, he glad to do, put on a plate in shape of happy face! Sunday he ask if I want snacks and water, I ask for hot chocolate instead, he ask if I want whipped cream! How they make hot chocolate when ("WE DO NOT HAVE MILK AT THE BAR) not sure how they made, but he did! No charge! Ask him, he say he buying today!

Keep up good work! See all you Jazz Jubilee and Birthday stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ksatake, Manager at Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Karen C,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent visit with our bar staff, we will share your comments and will look foward to seeing you back in a few weeks during the music festival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

I travel to Sacramento often for work and I always stay at the Sheraton Grand Sacramento. It's easy to get to, the staff are all very friendly and helpful, the restaurant food is delicious, walking distance to most places I need to be, and the rooms are clean, spacious and quiet. The bed is incredibly comfortable, the shampoo/conditioners and soaps all smell wonderful, the hair dryer is great and there is enough space in the bathroom for all of my numerous toiletries. The closet is very spacious and there's a safe. I really can't say anything bad about this place, it's top notch.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley D, Manager at Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
We are very grateful for your loyalty and want to thank you for sharing your review on your most recent stay with us. Your comments for our convenient location, helpful staff and delicious food are very much appreciated. Thank you again for your delightful review and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 80 in Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
1.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Westin Sacramento
The Westin Sacramento
#18 of 80 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
0.7 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel

Property: Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
Address: 1230 J St, 13th and J Street, Sacramento, CA 95814-2907
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sacramento
#11 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of downtown Sacramento, you'll find the city's best shopping and restaurants within blocks of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Sacramento
Sacramento Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing