We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
Ranked #13 of 82 Hotels in Sacramento
Reviewed 24 August 2014

my wife and i stayed here on our 20th wedding anniversary. The check in was check and efficient, staff were willing to help at any moment. We just had a cocktail and appetizer in the lounge before a scheduled dinner...service, drinks and food were great.
I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foody2694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert R, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for your review. It is great to hear that our employees were able to provide outstanding service for you and your wife ! We hope to welcome you back for many more anniversaries!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,024)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

378 - 384 of 1,024 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

This is not an inexpensive hotel. In fact, it's a better-than-average full service Sheraton. I stayed in a King room, on the 23rd floor and had a great view from my window. The fitness gym is great, and the pool, even though is very, very small, shallow but still well-maintained and comfortable. This is a great place for business travelers, and it will make you feel like you're getting a break from being on the road. I didn't try the room service or eat at the hotel, but everything looked good. There's a huge bar in the lobby with nice seating that also serves food. The service was great too, especially the valet peeps. There is internet and wifi, but there's a daily fee for use. Nothing is free in the hotel except two bottles of water and the ice. So keep all the added expenses in mind.

Rooms are comfortable and clean, and the bed is your typical heavenly bed. Everything looked well kept. I liked the work table, and I especially liked that there were plenty of electrical plugs in logical locations that didn't require me to move furniture to access them. This has always been a pet peeve in older hotels. There was not a refrigerator so don't plan on storing any food. But hotels will usually rent you a fridge if you need one. So do check with the desk. I used the ice bucket to keep my drink cold. Temperature control system was nice and quiet. I didn't hear much noise from neighbors and I was there during two conventions, and the place was packed. The elevator was the noise. Curtains did a good job for shading, and DO make sure you close everything unless you want to wake up right when the sunrises. At least in the Summer months, it gets pretty bright.

Parking is ridiculous, and it's typical downtown area. Valet was $28 a night, and self park is $20, so it's really a small difference. Self parking is in a separate detached building across the street, so be prepared to lug your things back and forth. I opted for valet parking even though I didn't technically need it so much. I just liked the convenience. This was the only thing I disliked about the hotel.

Their elevators are pretty noisy, so ask for a room away from the elevator. I had the room next to it, and although on the weekends, it's less noisy, come Monday...those elevator bells will ding well into early morning. I loss some sleep from it.

There are great restaurants in Sacramento now, and there's plenty of choices if you're willing to drive ten minutes around the area. But you can walk to some wonderful restaurants from the hotel, but most cater to expense account dinners...so if you're not traveling for work, consider trying some of their other local places. I ate dinner one night at Magpie, and it was delicious and reasonable. There's a vegetarian restaurant within walking distance too called Mothers that was recommended. But they're closed on Mondays. I heard Bernardo's was good, especially for breakfast. Be careful walking around the area though. This is downtown, and one block will look brand new (near the hotel), three blocks later, it's super seedy. Then another two blocks another direction...it's fine again. Just think about that if you're traveling alone like I was.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank flannelpajamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert R, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We here at the Sheraton Grand are always striving to provide a comfortable and convenient experience for our guests. Your feedback will be shared with our team and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We had stayed at the Grand Sheraton Sacramento shortly after it opened, and were looking forward to staying there again.

Much of the property was originally the Sacramento Public Market, and that grand structure has been incorporated into the hotel's design. The main part of the lobby, many breakout rooms, the restaurant and the bar are all enclosed within the old Public Market structure, and its history is visually obvious, from the front door at 15th St & L St entrance, to the atrium skylight, with interior ironwork.

We arrived at a busy time, but the reservations/check-in process went well. The hotel could use a few more stations, for active times. Though my wife is a Starwood Platinum member, we were not offered an upgrade, due to the occupancy of the hotel during our stay, and our being on a corporate rate for a meeting on the property.

Our room was very nice, albeit small. It was clean, and with a comfortable bed. The bathroom is small, but adequately appointed. The view was over the Convention Center, so while not bad, is nothing to wax poetic about. The hotel was quiet, comfortable, and all staff were very accommodating during our stay.

The general property architecture is its biggest draw, and greatest charm. The room that we occupied was just average for a Sheraton hotel. Still, our stay was pleasant, and we would stay there again. In the Trip Advisor hotel review details, there is a place for "A Classic Hotel," and really the answer is two-fold - yes (for much of the common area), and no (for the rooms). Still, considering the common areas, there IS great charm - just not in the rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank The_Loup_Garou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert R, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a "Grand" and eloquent review of our hotel! As a Sheraton, we strive to create a warm and inviting environment for all of our guests. Our connection to the historic aspects of our building is an ingetral part of the guest experience and it is great to hear that your experience was such a positive one. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed there to celebrate 22nd wedding anniversary. Extremely easy to find. The staff was more than helpful from valet to housekeeping. We got a room on the 22nd floor which made for an awesome view. Why only 4 stars? Self parking is a little further than I wanted to tote my luggage around. So we did valet. The large window allowed the rising sun to fill the room with the big bright "WAKE UP" reminder. There was a nice bar/lounge area that gave us some time to relax. It's within walking distance to the state capital. Overall I'm happy with Sheraton Grand

Room Tip: Depending on what you are there for,,,, ask for a high floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dougoso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert R, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

We are so happy that you had such a wonderful experience at the Sheraton Grand hotel. Our goal is to provide a comfortable and warm experience. It is great to hear that you were able to enjoy our hospitality during your anniversary! We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The service here is outstanding! I traveled with my husband and six year old last weekend to attend a wedding. The valet guys are so helpful, polite and funny! Give those boys a raise! The location is great. The rooms were very clean. We had a great view on the 22nd floor. The beds were SO comfy!! I didn't try the room service, however i did try the breakfast buffet and it was just so so. I ended up getting a pizza delivered the first night. The pool is very very small but it was still fun. They have a pretty decent fitness center. Starbucks coffee in the rooms, as well as tea was great. Housekeeping was wonderful as well! Always remember to tip your housekeeper! Overall, great stay!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Conetha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert R, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

It is wonderful to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your experience at the Sheraton Grand Sacramento. Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We hope to welcome you and your family back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The room and food was average. Hotel is in a good location. Not as good as other Starwood properties. Charged for small amenities like baby shampoo. Charges for internet. I didn't valet a car, but it looked like it took forever. There was a long line and people grumbling about it taking too long and making them late.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AlohaGirl86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert R, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us regarding your most recent stay. We are disappointed to hear about your experience and your feedback will be forwarded to the appropriate managers. We hope to welcome you back and provide a more positive experience next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Having "Grand" in the name made me expect more than just an average downtown city hotel. The room was nice but nothing spectacular. The front desk staff and bellmen were all extremely helpful and are what really made the stay worth it. It is right across the street from the Convention Center so if you have a meeting there, you can't beat the location. As always, it amazes me that the very high priced hotels such as this do not offer free wifi in the rooms when pretty much every budget motel does that. While it is an ok place to stay, I will probably try one of the competitors should I need to attend another meeting at the Convention Center.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rangemgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert R, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience and it is great to hear that our front desk and bell staff were able to provide you with helpful service. Your feedback will be shared with all of the appropriate teams.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 82 in Sacramento
1,697 reviews
0.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sacramento/South Natomas
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel

Address: 1230 J St, 13th and J Street, Sacramento, CA 95814-2907
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sacramento
#11 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range: £131 - £447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of downtown Sacramento, you'll find the city's best shopping and restaurants within blocks of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Sacramento
Sacramento Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing