We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great considering it's a budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
Ranked #12 of 81 Hotels in Sacramento
Reviewed 12 July 2009

My wife and I stayed here for 1 night on the second leg of our 3 week honeymoon.

The hotel is nicely located, under a mile to Old Sac and very close to the Capitol.

The rooms are spacious and quiet, with above average bathrooms for a 3 star hotel. Breakfast wasn't cheap, but it was plenty and the quality was high. Internet in the business centre was free for 45 mins if you entered your room details - another plus for a 3 star hotel. Had a large gym, with small outdoor pool too, which was impressive.

Staff are nice and efficient, with the valet parking being fairly reasonable at $25.

Would recommend this for a short stay in Sacramento and doubt you'd get much better for the money.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin_and_Steggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,019)
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

923 - 929 of 1,019 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2009

We decided to drive up to Sac (from Berkeley) for 4th of July weekend. We found a really great rate for this hotel online and decided to give it a whirl. It is a lovely hotel - the room was clean and comfortable, and they even allowed us to bring our little dogs for a $100 pet deposit. We wanted to travel to Sac for the holiday weekend to enjoy some warmth and let the kids swim. The only drawback to the Sheraton, and the only reason it gets 4 stars instead of 5, is that the pool area is rather small and it only gets full sun for about an hour and a half - from about 1pm to 2:30. When the sun isn't shining on the pool, it is a bit like a wind tunnel. We still enjoyed it though. The hotel has a lovely fitness center and nice breakfast buffet. The best part of the Sheraton though is the LOCATION. Both mornings we were there, we walked over to the grounds of the Capitol building, which is beautiful and expansive. It has amazing orange trees, a rose garden, and some of the coolest memorials I have ever seen. Especially the Vietnam Memorial is not to be missed! I imagine that if you were attending a convention, the Sheraton is the best place to stay. The convention center is right next door. There is a great coffee house a few blocks away (I think on 16th) called Temple, if you'd like to take a stroll for your morning coffee. I also thought the beds were very very comfortable, and I can be pretty finicky about that.

Overall this place is great. We had a great time and I would definitely return.

Just one more note - parking is a bit expensive. $18/day if you add it to your hotel bill - $24 if you pay at the garage.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RD-Goes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2009

The hotel was good. The room was modern and clean. The staff at the front desk were helpful and friendly. Breakfast was good as well. If I needed to stay in Sacramento I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2009

My office travel agent scheduled me here for a one night stay. All went well until around 4 a.m., when I awoke with a terrible itching. At around 6 a.m. I called my wife, the scientist in the family. She suggested I peel back the sheets and the mattress pad and check the corners of the bed. Sure enough, in the left hand corner at the head of the bed I found what looked like a small tick (a bedbug). It was dead. I folded it into a small piece of paper and took it to the front desk. Although the woman looked horrified, no one from the hotel ever contacted me. I find it interesting that other reviewers have reported similar experiences. Also, it later occurred to me that the bedbug I found probably didn't die from old age. More likely, the hotel tried to deal with the problem but didn't do a very good job. Staying here is a bit like playing Russian roulette--it's a nice hotel, and maybe you have a good stay. But maybe you come home and toss out all your clothes and luggage.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kurtwiese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2009

Usually convention hotels are too crowded and less comfortable than this one. Definitely comfortable bed, though some noise comes from the hallway. The convenience to the convention halls right across the street can't be beat. A nice morning coffee stand, good restaurant, good lobby cocktail service. I only have an issue with the lobby design itself; it seems low ceilinged and awkwardly long and narrow, and you lose any real interior view of a charming old market hall ceiling which preceded the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CalUrsus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2009

Very pretty hotel with wonderful accommodations and an ideal location. Within walking distance of most of Sacramento's attractions, including the Capitol and Old Sacramento. Room was clean and nicely furnished. Lobby bar was a very popular meeting place and the buffet breakfast in the restaurant was delicious.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judiebMunster_IN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2009

I have stayed here 2 times. This is a great hotel next to convention center. Rooms are good. Lobby is a great place to hang out. Food is good. Rooms are very well done. Irecommend this place highly as well as the hyatt next door. Quick walk to convention center. Has some rooms in it for convention.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thedzoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 81 in Sacramento
1,658 reviews
0.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
0.1 mi away
The Sterling Hotel Sacramento
The Sterling Hotel Sacramento
#39 of 81 in Sacramento
74 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sacramento/South Natomas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel

Address: 1230 J St, 13th and J Street, Sacramento, CA 95814-2907
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sacramento
#11 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range: £136 - £382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of downtown Sacramento, you'll find the city's best shopping and restaurants within blocks of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Sacramento
Sacramento Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing