We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner with Grandchildren”
Review of Black Bear Diner

Black Bear Diner
Ranked #36 of 2,015 Restaurants in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Santa Clarita, California
Level 6 Contributor
305 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Dinner with Grandchildren”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Walked over from the hotel for dinner after a long day on the road. The kids love all the bear wood carvings that are displayed outside and inside the restaurant. It was clean the food good and well priced. Our table service was excellent.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank WMSCV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    68
    15
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Staff and food were great! Clean and nice set up. Only down fall was the music was too loud no complaints other than that. I would recommend and return myself.

Helpful?
Thank MsBenz8808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Chicken Fried Steak”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Boy was this a surprise after a long day at work. Order the Chicken Fried Steak / Onion Ring / Salad / Fries / Veggies / Corn Bread. Yes had a chat with my later when I came home from the trip. Came home to the hotel next door, ordered my food. Left 5 minutes later plus the five minutes to get to the restaurant from the hotel food was ready in all three containers. I thought they made a mistake, but it was all mine. I was gonna save some for the next day, but it was so good, didn't want to waste it. I was content the next day. It was great, just found out they have it here where I live.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Freddy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Grove, Illinois, United States
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good comfort food”
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

If you're hungry and are hankering for a burger or some mashed potatoes and meatloaf this is your place. Good food, quick service. Smaller portions available! Could have been a little cleaner but food and great waitstaff mafe up for the crumbs on the table.

Helpful?
Thank Jo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FL
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Black Berry Bear Claws Are The Best!”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We stayed over night at the Fairfield Inn and saw the advertisement for Black Bear Diner and decided to give this chain a try. Chains are not my favorite and did not expect the friendly staff and packed tables. My husband ordered breakfast and enjoyed delicious corn beef hash which we expected to be the usual canned doggie food type found in most chains. This was the Real thing with shredded corn beef and potatoes. My vegetable soup was the best ever and tasted homemade. Most of all the "bear claws" were full of real fruit berries with a tinge of tart and not overly sweet. I would definitely go back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flsouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Bear Diner also viewed

 

Been to Black Bear Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing