We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good with a few problems” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
Ranked #5 of 80 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
La Palma, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good with a few problems”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

The location couldn't be better for business or tourism in Sacramento. The hotel itself is up to the usual Embassy suites standard of rooms, facilities and complimentary breakfast. The Capitol Building is a well-framed view from the front of the hotel. The river-front tourist attractions are a very short walk away.

The are two very large and one smaller negatives. There is no fan in the bathroom so steam, etc. really builds up and is slow to dissipate (this is a pet peeve of mine for hotels). Parking is valet only for $28 a night with no real alternatives and WiFi is $13 a day - standard fare perhaps for business travelers with expense accounts but obnoxious for a family on vacation.

Be sure you are prepared for the added charges or you'll really be disappointed - they are not mentioned on all the travel websites

Without the negatives I would rate this hotel as near-perfect; so , if these don't bother you, you'll have a great time...

Room Tip: The North and South facing rooms at the upper floor levels have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    578
    387
    141
    53
    22
See reviews for
352
236
36
414
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chino Hills, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Always have like this hotel as rooms are nice, breakfast is great, location is perfect but I have never experienced the stuffy front desk staff and outrageous extra costs. Had to wait one hour to check in. Front desk staff acted as if we were bothering them and that they were doing me a favor by checking in and/or asking questions. They were unhelpful when it came to sightseeing in the area. No free WiFi yet Walnut Creek staff (where we had stayed before Sacto and got free WiFi) said that Embassy Suites gives Hilton Honors members free WiFi. Sacramento wanted to charge me $30 per night!! Hate the parking! Was charged $28.00 for my car to be parked NOT in their lot! Will think about staying in another hotel as I don't need this kind of treatment or excessive charges!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 5TravlingMcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seaside, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Very happy with our stay. Our room was spaceous and quiet. Will definitely return when we are back in this area. Location was perfect, just around the block from Old Town and just up the street from the Capitol building. We enjoyed both.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

Had ask for an upgrade prior to checking in, co worker got the upgrade but didn't have enough for myself. No problem, i understood. but when i went to my room it was hot. I checked air and it was on 65 and i waited for 2 hours and still hadn't cooled off any,called front desk and explained the problem (had temperature set at 65 and wouldn't go any lower) sent a maintenance for the second time and he wasn't professional at all and told me it was hot outside! i am from Texas and i know what hot it!!! Call manager on duty the next morning and explained and he said he would take care of it, but when i came back at 5pm still wasn't fixed and didn't get fixed for the next 2 days either. I give up.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kim092663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern, Calif.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

The room was very nice with a large screen tv in both the bedroom and living room. Usual amenities (coffee and maker, shampoos etc), as well as refrigerator and microwave. The food was decent and the conference rooms were comfortable. My only complaint would be that the wi-fi in the rooms was not free. In the lobby it is fine but in the room there was a significant charge. This is the second hotel in the Hilton chain that I have encountered this in. They spent money on ceramic tissue holders but want to charge for wi-fi which would be more helpful and appreciated. I have stayed in hotels that charge one third of what the Embassy Suites charge and gotten free wi-fi in the room. This makes no sense to me.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BNotes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imperial, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

Excellent location for visiting Old Sac. Great Views of the river and Old Sacramento. Close Proximity to Government Offices for business. Easy Off and On to Interstate 5. Within 20 minutes to Airport and 5 minutes to Chevys on the River.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Very nice hotel, great location. Rooms are spacious and clean. Small pool is nice for kids. Good breakfast and happy hour. Parking is valet only and costs over $20/day. Do not recommend eating dinner in the restaurant it lacks ambiance and entree prices are too high. Overall, would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aashleyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 80 in Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
1.1 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
0.4 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
0.2 mi away
Delta King
Delta King
#19 of 80 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
Address: 100 Capitol Mall, Sacramento, CA 95814-3244
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#9 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade 3.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newly Renovated Embassy Suites Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade hotel is located on the Sacramento River across from historic Old Town Sacramento. This full-service upscale all-suite hotel is just minutes from the California State Capitol, ARCO Arena, Sacramento International Airport and the Cal Expo - California Exposition and State Fair. Guests of the Embassy Suites Sacramento hotel stay in spacious two-room suites and will enjoy many hotel amenities, services, and facilities in addition to our Complimentary Cooked-to-Order Breakfast and Complimentary Nightly Manager's Reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade Hotel Sacramento
Embassy Suites Hotel Sacramento
Sacramento Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing