We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice on outside, less so on inside”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Sacramento - Elk Grove
Ranked #66 of 83 Hotels in Sacramento
Reviewed 16 November 2012

The motel is attractive on the outside - particularly at night. This is somewhat negated by the need of a on-site security guard. There appears to be a somewhat questionable clientele - not exactly threatening, but a bit scary in their appearance and behavior.

We stayed in what was described as an accessible room. Though it may have met some ADA standard for an accessible room, but it the space felt crowded and misused. The presence of a chair (be it an office chair or a wheel chair) made it impossible to open or close the bathroom door. The distance between the bed and the TV stand would likely not support the use of a wheel chair or motorized scooter. The bathroom was roomy - but getting to it would be a significant problem.

Since my disability does not require the use of a wheel chair, the motel did supply an office chair upon request. The "desk" space adjoins the same wall as the bathroom door and using the desk and chair, as noted above, makes accessing the roomy bathroom difficult.

The other problem was regular observance of bugs in the room - spiders, beetles, ants, etc. showed up regularly during our stay. Never a great quantity, but on a daily basis, none the less, the bugs showed up in the bathroom, on the bedding, on the walls and ceiling, and on the clothing hanging on the clothes rack on hangers.

The free breakfast was heavy on carbohydrates - cereal and breakfast rolls.

The personnel were helpful - in providing directions, answering questions, and being patient as we spent extra time in the lobby because of tight confines of the room. They provided helpful reference to a local taxi service that arrived quickly and, apparently, knew the metropolitan area well. When we first arrived, the free Internet was very intermittent, though a day or two later this seemed to resolve itself.

Room Tip: Check directions for State Route 99 - going North or South means taking different roads away from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank floydHJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anish P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Sacramento - Elk Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our Motel on tripadvisor.com. We appreciate your suggestions and your opinion is important to us. I would like to begin by apologizing for any discomfort you had to endure during your stay. To make sure that our guest in the ADA rooms have a better experience I am currently working on improving the entrance to the bathroom and changing the way the doors open so that it is easier to access it.
However, insects in the room from time to time is not our property norm and I wish that we were informed right away so that we could have taken care of that problem. I do apologies once again.
I would also like to say thank you for staying with us and giving a positive feedback on our staff decorum. I will make sure to thank them on your behalf for providing our guest with great customer service.
I hope that we will see you again and that your future experience will be more positive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2012

Stayed at the Red Roof Inn for four days. The staff was helpful and the room I had was amazing.
The best experience ever for the money. If you are looking for a really great place to stay with a great staff and beautiful rooms I would recommend you stay here. You are close to so many places to eat and just few minutes to downtown. The front desk staff gave me excellent customer service.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yvee c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anish P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Sacramento - Elk Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Red Roof Inn of Sacramento. I am very pleased to hear that you thought our rooms were amazing. We are newly renovated property so the rooms have a very modern look and design. In regards to our rates they are very reasonable in comparison to other inns especially the ones that are closer to Downtown area. Thank you, once again for staying with us and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Nice and friendly atmosphere, front desk employee was helpful and friendly. Rooms were clean and beds comfortable. FREE CONTINENTAL Breakfast. Next business trip will be staying at the same place. Keep a good work.

Room Tip: Keep a good work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elenaterry1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anish P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Sacramento - Elk Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Red Roof Inn of Sacramento. I am so glad to hear that you had a pleasent stay at our Hotel. Our staff works very hard to make sure the rooms are clean and to provide all our guest with friendly service. We appreciate your business and would love to have you stay with us again. So, we hope to see you soon.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

the room was very clean and front desk staff very nice but if they paid attention to what really was going on they would find hookers, pimps etc. after checking in was soooooo afraid to go outside because of activity going on. was even afraid to go get ice. the rooms were so very nice and clean but outside was scary because of illegal activity going on. did not even get the free breakfast just wanted to leave as fast as possible!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: beware of the circle rooms alot of hookers there and customers!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anish P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Sacramento - Elk Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our property on tripadvisor.com. We value your opinion and your feedback. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our front desk staff friendly service and clean rooms. However I do apologise that you did not feel safe to go outside in the evening hours. We are an exterior property and that is why we have security on premises to make sure that our guest feel safe. Security patrols every half an hour to prevent any trespassers coming to the property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Newly renovated property very modern rooms. Excellent customer service and clean rooms. Enjoyed my stay.
Came down for a friends wedding but we wanted something better than a motel 6 since we were going to be there for a few days with kids. I didn't want another nightmare with moldy fridge and fly laden rooms. Everything was so clean, and the service so friendly, made me want to write a good review for them.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Otto D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fatima P, Guest Relations Manager at Red Roof Inn Sacramento - Elk Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Thank you for staying with us at Red Roof Inn Sacramento- Elk Grove. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. As you mentioned, our rooms are newly remodeled with flat screen TVs, refrigerators, microwaves, and coffee makers in each room. We are glad that you had a positive experience with our staff, as we strive to be the best in customer service. Hopefully you enjoyed the wedding and vacation time. Thank you and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

I was visiting family and decided to stay at this hotel because I heard it was remodelled recently and to my surprise it was beautiful. Modern Hotel clean rooms with microwave and refrigerator which was really nice because I was travelling with my daughter. The staff was very friendly and accommodating and the breakfast was good. I definitely will be staying at this hotel again when i visit my family again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fatima P, Guest Relations Manager at Red Roof Inn Sacramento - Elk Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Thank you for staying with us at Red Roof Inn Sacramento- Elk Grove. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. As you mentioned, our rooms are newly remodeled with flat screen TVs, refrigerators, microwaves, and coffee makers in each room. We are glad that you had a positive experience with our staff, as we strive to be the best in customer service. We hope you had a great visit with your family. Thank you and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Nice rooms and clean looks like it was recently remodeled. Exceeded my expectations for a budget motel. Front desk was very friendly, loved the rooms really modern.

Room Tip: Nice clean rooms I liked the courtyard side rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bathica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anish P, Manager at Red Roof Inn Sacramento - Elk Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Dear Bathica,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Red Roof Inn of Sacramento. We are pleased to hear that you had a positive experience at our inn. Our front desk and housekeeping staff is always happy to hear good comments about their performance. It encourages and inspires them to do better. I also would like to say great observation in regards to our property being newly renovated. We have recently opened our doors in May after six months of renovating the property. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sacramento
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Sacramento/Elk Grove
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Elk Grove
4.9 mi away
Extended Stay America - Sacramento - Elk Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
EconoLodge Sacramento North
EconoLodge Sacramento North
#59 of 83 in Sacramento
164 reviews
9.5 mi away
Days Inn Sacramento Downtown
Days Inn Sacramento Downtown
#43 of 83 in Sacramento
499 reviews
5.3 mi away
Good Nite Inn Sacramento
Good Nite Inn Sacramento
#32 of 83 in Sacramento
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Sacramento - Elk Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Sacramento - Elk Grove

Address: 7780 Stockton Blvd, SR 99/Golden State Highway at Mack Road, Sacramento, CA 95823-4306 (Formerly Motel 6 Sacramento Southwest)
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 83 Hotels in Sacramento
Price Range: £55 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Sacramento - Elk Grove 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near to so many Sacramento area businesses and attractions! Red Roof Sacramento - Elk Grove is close to Old Town Sacramento, Arden Fair Mall, Kaiser Permanente Hospital, Sacramento County Fairgrounds, Funderland, Sacramento Zoo, the California Military Museum, Discovery Park, and Water World USA. For business travelers, you’ll find we’re convenient to Cal State University UOP of Sacramento, McClellan Air Force Base, Sacramento International Airport, and the Sacramento Convention Center. You’ll find we provide all our guests with great customer service—come enjoy our flat screen TVs in all rooms, continental breakfast, and many room amenities. We’re looking forward to seeing you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Red Roof Inn Sacramento - Elk Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Sacramento
Motel Six Sacramento
Sacramento Motel Six
Sacramento Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing