We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come for the drinks but stay for the food”
Review of Shady Lady Saloon

Shady Lady Saloon
Ranked #75 of 2,018 Restaurants in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$14
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Berkeley, California
Level 6 Contributor
617 reviews
244 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“Come for the drinks but stay for the food”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This brothel themed bar is renowned primarily for their cocktails, and rightfully so. They make an amazing array of tasty mixed drinks, many of them classics from over a hundred years ago. THe only problem is sorting through the giant menu to pick one that appeals. Thankfully they are organized by spirit so if you can narrow it down to gin, rum, vodka, whiskey, or other you will be in good shape.

This place also has surprisingly good food. It's fairly standard bar fare but it's well executed and a nice option if one is in the mood for some eats with the drinks. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Retinol13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    25
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Elves convention”
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Maybe it was because we arrived surrounded by people dressed in holiday greens, plus one guernsey cow, or maybe because the band played an awesome few sets of an eclectic jazz bluegrass Santana fusion e.g, their own sound, or because we were so happy to rendezvous with my brother, but this was one serious fun bar. Decorated ala 1890 men's saloon with yes painted naked ladies and sepia era photos, it has very solid bar food and an extensive and reasonable drink menu. Our shrimp po boy was a spicy response to the Big Easy favorite and the cheddar biscuits and duck tots were savory and unique. And yes it was a young beautiful crowd. Who knew Sac had a night life; things are definitely better than 30 years ago.

Helpful?
Thank jaumeAlaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis, California
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Fun, Funky Place - Great Bartender!”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Visited for the first time before dinner at the Magpie. Not sure I'd come for the food (didn't try anything), but we sat at the bar and sipped wine while chatting with a fantastic bartender! He had his hands full with a large crowd but was cheerful and attentive to all. Would definitely come back for more brews or vino and to enjoy some local music.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hollisJ_dr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fair Oaks, California
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great for lunch”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I go to Shady Lady for lunch fairly frequently. They have an awesome skirt steak salad. I think it's the only thing I ever get. It's a good choice for lunch, in part because there are always open tables and the booths are roomy (good for small meetings).

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rjbouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sacramento
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Atmosphere, cocktails, and great food”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

I am not a person who likes to go out regularly (I travel often) so when I do take the plunge for a night out in Sacramento, the ONLY place I consider is Shady Lady. The atmosphere is bar none the BEST in town. Some might think Shady Lady is too "cool" from the exterior but fear not -- the people are friendly, the service is excellent and most importantly the cocktails authentic, robust and well worth the price! The food is also stellar, with choices ranging from lighter meals -- Grilled hearts of Romain Caesar or Honey Lime Grilled Chicken Salads are my favorites -- to the more hearty -- Shady Lady Cheeseburger with caramelized onions and garlic mayo or Fried Chicken with macaroni and cheese are my husbands go to choices. Every now and then we venture to try something "new" in Sacramento and we always find ourselves finishing our night at Shady Lady, often wishing we had just started it there!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kvvSacramento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shady Lady Saloon also viewed

 

Been to Shady Lady Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing