We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable like home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Sacramento University Area
Ranked #31 of 82 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 17 September 2013

My stay was fabulous. I really loved the comfortable beds and pillows. The room was so clean, nice, and big. The breakfast was delicious. I am looking forward to be there soon. The environment is very safe. People over there are really nice. They help us with the directions.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rockstart90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAJCA644, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sacramento University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear Guest,

A home like experience is what we thrieve to provide. It is always encouraging to hear positive feedback from our guest. We thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback and look forward to serving you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed one night on our way to Yosemite NP. Elevator broken, Ice machine out of order, overall a dirty run down old hotel. The visitor center in town was very helpful. Lots of great infomation and ideas for side trips.

Room Tip: Look for another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bluebells411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAJCA644, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sacramento University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear Guest,

I am sorry that we missed to make your stay a satisfactory one. We have recently updated our ice machine and have asked the elevator company to make safety inspections during off peak hours. We have also completed partial renovations. I look forward to an opportunity to better serve you on your next visit to our town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

One of the hotels I used to stay at years ago when in Sacramento on business. After this last trip... no more. Just too many things that management has given up on, which is a shame. Building is falling down around their ears. Everything inside the rooms are now totally and completely worn out.

Desk staff are helpless and that is also tough to see. Think the best thing for the owner to do is leave the hotel business at this point.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Eric VanGlider E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAJCA644, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sacramento University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay. I am disappointed that we missed the mark to make your stay a satisfactory one. In March of 2013 we finished partial renovations which included fresh paint inside and out, repaving the parking lot, updated lighting inside and out, new televisions and more. We will soon have new bedding and shears to complete our renovations. I hope you will give us another opportunity to better serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

my husband and I travel to Sacramento about once a month to visit our granddaughter. We always stay here because the rooms are comfortable, clean, reasonably priced and the staff is exceptionally nice. It feels like home. the pool and spa are clean and the exercise room is well equipped. The free breakfast has too many options to list and the dining area is kept very clean and stocked during breakfast hours.

Room Tip: we have stayed several times and found all of the rooms to be fairly quiet, not much traffic noise e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAJCA644, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sacramento University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words of praise. Your feedback will serve as encouragement for our entire team. We look forward to providing you with same great experience on your next visit to our town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

Room was okay but aircon was centrally controlled and consequently very cold overnight.
Breakfast was average for USA but not enough room in room for everyone to sit.
Man on reception was helpful about transport to the baseball if a little miserable on first meeting.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gacco29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAJCA644, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sacramento University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your stay. I am disappointed that we missed the opportunity to make your stay more comfortable. All our rooms have individual Heating/Airconditioning units with digital thermostat to provide you a more comfortable stay. Thermostats are located on the wall in each room adjacent to the bed. We will also open up more seating in our meeting room to accomodate more people during breakfast. Your feedback is genuinely appreciated and will help us improve our accomodations and services. My team and I look forward to better serving you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

This was my 2nd stay there. I first went in 2009 and decided to go back there because I had a good stay then (no problems at all, and a good overall impression). This time in 2013, it was different. The negative outweighed the positives, and I will not go back.

I stayed there for almost a week in July 2013. I was in a room on the first floor. In 2009, I was on the 2nd floor.

Here are my positives and negatives for my 2013 stay.
(+) Friendly staff
(+) Decent breakfast, included in price
(+) Room included microwave and small fridge

(-) Can only be accessed from one side of Howe Ave
(-) Floor was very dirty: the bottom of my socks were dark after a few minutes of moving around in the room. I think they have not washed the carpet for a very, very long time.
(-) Very old furniture that looked used and stained
(-) The "Free wi-fi" worked sporadicly and when it did, it was often very slow and/or problematic.
(-) The door keys I was given did not work (I was given 2, for me and my partner)! I had to go to the reception EVERYDAY to reset the keys because they would not open the door to the room or the doors to the hotel. I was explained that I had to keep the keys away from any magnet or cell phone, which I did, but the keys still had problems. Then, another time, the key would work for the room, but not for the back door to the hotel. I was told that sometimes they did that on purpose???!!! Extremely annoying.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms might be cleaner and have newer furniture.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CaliNini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAJCA644, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sacramento University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing us feedback regarding your stay. I am disappointed that we failed to make your stay a satisfactory one. Please accept my sincere apology. Unfortunately, there is not much we can do regarding access in and out of the hotel. On July 12th we had Cintas clean and sanitize carpet throughout the hotel. We are upgrading our highspeed internet speed to 50mbps starting August. I hope you will give us another chance to better serve you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Room was very large. It had 2 queen beds plus a couch. There was a note from Raj Naria, CHA General Manager welcoming us and acknowledging our Elite Gold status. Snacks were left as well as 2 bottles of water in the refrigerator. This was very nice. The shower was good as was breakfast. The internet was slow but as we arrived late, I did not call and ask about any problems. We would definitely stay again if in the area in future.

Room Tip: We requested a first floor room at booking and our request was honored. The room was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAJCA644, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sacramento University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. I am pleased that your stay with us was satisfactory. I have contacted our internet service provider and our technical support department to provide a more optimized internet surfing experience. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.1 mi away
Good Nite Inn Sacramento
Good Nite Inn Sacramento
#32 of 82 in Sacramento
463 reviews
3.7 mi away
Courtyard Sacramento Cal Expo
Courtyard Sacramento Cal Expo
#10 of 82 in Sacramento
493 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Sacramento-Cal Expo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Courtyard Sacramento Midtown
Courtyard Sacramento Midtown
#23 of 82 in Sacramento
233 reviews
8.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Sacramento
Crowne Plaza Sacramento
#37 of 82 in Sacramento
289 reviews
5.9 mi away
Governors Inn Hotel
Governors Inn Hotel
#15 of 82 in Sacramento
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Sacramento University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Sacramento University Area

Address: 21 Howe Ave, Sacramento, CA 95826-2623
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Sacramento
#18 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range: £82 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Sacramento University Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Sacramento University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Hotel Sacramento
Comfort Inn Sacramento
Sacramento Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing