We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Sacramento-Cal Expo
Ranked #14 of 81 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
WA State
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

It's ludicrous to compare this price point against the 5-star hotels - I try to compare among similar properties.

Apparently, it's been refurbished, at least in part. Clean, quiet, eminently comfortable room and a great bargain at the price (not crowded - no next door neighbors and so cannot comment authoritatively regarding noise level.) Staff was remarkable - every one I encountered was friendly and genuinely helpful. The breakfast buffet was generous and healthy with a nice daily variation.

Absence of a restaurant was mildly aggravating, and the nearest off-property was a long walk. "Business center" featured one computer and a B/W printer - not generous, but both worked perfectly. Desk personnel happily took care of USPS mailings, FedEx pickup, and arrangements for cab to airport. Every request was handled with pleasant (at minimum) exactitude.

Bed was comfortable, air conditioner slightly noisy, TV new, shower volume a little sparse, complimentary internet was fast. In all, it was pleasant travel housing, and was well above average for this type of property, at least for the term of my visit. Not the Taj Mahal, but certainly no dive.

The meeting room was very nicely appointed, and attendant service was continually "on the mark." Hampton's regular caterer provided three outstanding luncheon meals during 3-day seminar.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poppatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    119
    47
    26
    11
See reviews for
119
45
26
185
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Red Bluff, Ca
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

This hotel was very clean. We have stayed here before and also the Holiday Inn Express next door. This hotel was almost empty and they had rooms booked all together. The wall are very thin and you can hear everything that goes on in the next room. The next time we will be going back to the Holiday Inn Express I tried to save a few bucks this time and I won't be cheep again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corkygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

This is a very old Hampton Inn located in a not so great neighborhood. I travel frequently and always use Hilton properties whenever possible so I have seen my fair share of Hamptons. It is in need of a complete refurbishment and I would recommend finding something else if you can.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Di4040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

The walls are thin so bring earplugs. It's also next to the 80 fwy, though I didn't hear it from where I was located (mid-way in the back). The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was pretty good, they served a different egg and meat option everyday (e.g., scrambled eggs, omelet, sausage, biscuits n gravy) along with make-your-own waffle, cereal, etc. Midweek they even offer a free happy hour, that's a nice touch. However, I wish they had a workout room, but I guess that might be asking too much for the price...

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank w c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

I'm a Hilton Diamond member. I've seen a LOT of Hamptons; this one is subpar.

I'm writing this review from my phone, because the in-room WiFi is so clogged before 11pm that I can't get a wireless signal. My colleague advises she contacted the front desk and was told connectivity is only guaranteed in the Lobby. Wireless access needs upgrading. This is a business-class hotel and in room WiFi is more the norm than not.

Room amenities are basic. Standard bed, desk, and armchair. TV has very limited channels - all in Standard Def - and HBO's audio has been jacked up so all the characters on whatever I'm watching sound like they're underwater.

In room microwave's turntable wobbles and clunks around while in use.

Bathmat is gray (not white) and a bit tattered.

Overall, the experience is just subpar. It's clear this property just does the minimum to get by. Don't expect anything above the franchise basics at this Hampton.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
291 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

I just (30 minutes ago) received this note from the Hampton Inn Front Desk Manager. I thought that to be fair, I would start off with this.

“We do apologize for the bed spread being lumpy, we are in the process of getting better Duvet 'micro fiber' ones that Hilton just approved; a lot of Hilton Properties have got the same complaints on them, and for the TV selections the owner is looking into some better options. We are looking into housekeeping for the reason why they placed a torn curtain and not notifying maintenance about the sink. Once again we are sorry for the inconvenience of your stay.”

The Hampton Inn & Suites Sacramento-Cal Expo is just a short hop off of the I80 freeway (heading north). Just take the Auburn Boulevard exit and you are almost there. Be careful thou, at the first intersection (just a few feet off of I80) you must keep to the left. Then proceed through the intersection that basically has two and three quarter stop signs (you don’t have one but there’s one just around the corner). There is a funny jog to your right where Auburn Blvd continues. Beware of any traffic (which you can’t see) coming towards you and in the same direction, from a parallel road (Auburn Blvd).

Did that make sense? It doesn’t. I walked down to these corners and watched traffic. It is one of the most confusing intersections that I have ever seen. A roundabout would be a great option here.

If you safely make it through this maize then the Hampton Inn is just a hundred or so yards down the road. You might not see the signs for it. So, look for the Holiday Inn Express and it is the next right (trust me, it is really there).

We found the check in friendly and efficient. The elevator (our room was number 219) was just past the desk. So, it was easy to get our cases transported to our room.

The room was spacious in size. It had a king size bed which at first, seemed to have a very lumpy mattress (please see photo). It turned out, only the bedspread was so clumpy. I mentioned this to the front desk person and was told that they knew about it. There apparently, was a (major) problem with the laundry servicing. I suggested that it should be replaced (bed cover and the laundry service).

There was a nice TV, in the room that gets only the very basic, unwatched channels (common complaint with many chains). In the corner was a reclining (whether you wanted it to or not) chair. Even when you knew its tendencies, when you sat down in it, it rocked back and smashed into the light behind it and which in turn, hit the wall. The person on the other side of the wall didn’t like this and turned their TV on (not sure what they would’ve watch, though). On this point the walls were ultra thin and noise did travel through from the adjoining rooms.

There was a small bar fridge that worked well. Also, an RJ45 (computer) internet connection that didn’t work well.

The room had a nice view of the Holiday Inn Express and parking lot. Just below this view was a wall mounted air conditioner/heater.

Inside the (external) hall entrance door is the door to the bathroom which opens up to block the inside hallway and similarly, a small closet.

It’s complicated but let's get back to the bathroom. The shower was the very best that I have ever used at the Hampton Inn & Suites Sacramento-Cal Expo. It was six foot high and had an adjustable shower head (which both showed promise). The shower adjusted from a fine pinpoint spray of water to a cone spray which flowed from the ceiling to the floor (outside the torn curtain, as well as inside). The other adjusted positions offered no usable value at all (i.e. two single streams of water and a third which shot over the torn shower curtain and into the sink). I also mentioned this to our friend at the front desk. She told us that this was due to their hard water (have they ever heard of CLR?). Hard to believe.

I think that I previously mentioned the shower curtain was torn. As well, the sink couldn’t hold water. They did have nice shampoo, conditioner and lotion. Also on the bathroom counter was a coffee maker. Okay, so all did not go down the drain.

All in all, at a discounted price of just over $111 (including taxes); I cannot give the Hampton Inn & Suites Sacramento-Cal Expo my seal of approval, which is too bad because I generally like Hampton Inns.

As stress-free as it was to get to, after an uninspiring breakfast, it wasn’t so easy getting back to the I5.

The next day we stayed at the La Quinta in Vancouver, Washington.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RadTel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
318 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Some Hampton Inns are tiny rooms. This room was gigantic with a nice sitting area and ample bathroom. The happy hour wines and snacks hit the spot. Good service arranging a cab for us to pick up at oh-dark-thirty.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from Auburn and I-5 traffic noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
3.4 mi away
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
#12 of 81 in Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
6.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
1.7 mi away
Hilton Sacramento Arden West
Hilton Sacramento Arden West
#10 of 81 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Sacramento Airport-Natomas
5.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sacramento/South Natomas
2.6 mi away
Courtyard Sacramento Cal Expo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Sacramento-Cal Expo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Sacramento-Cal Expo

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Sacramento-Cal Expo
Address: 2230 Auburn Blvd, Sacramento, CA 95821-1601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#12 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Sacramento-Cal Expo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn and Suites Sacramento-Cal Expo hotel is near the Sacramento Zoo and McKinley Park. Our hotel's amenities include: free breakfast, free WiFi, free parking, a microwave and mini-refrigerator in-room, a multi-lingual staff, an outdoor pool and whirlpool spa, fitness room, and 962 sq. ft. of meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Sacramento-Cal Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Sacramento-Auburn Blvd. Hotel Sacramento
Hampton Inn And Suites Sacramento-Auburn Blvd.
Hampton Inn Sacramento
Sacramento Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing