We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fit My Needs” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Sacramento-Cal Expo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hampton Inn & Suites Sacramento-Cal Expo
Ranked #14 of 80 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fit My Needs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

Yes, this hotel was undergoing renovations, but only in the lobby. The hotel room was nice, clean and spacious. Nicely equipped with a mini fridge and microwave. The hotel staff were pleasant and courteous. The complimentary hot breakfast in the morning was very filling and convenient. There were also complimentary cookies in the afternoon. There is nothing close to walk to, but I would recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the interstate noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank like2travel033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    110
    46
    24
    11
See reviews for
111
43
26
181
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

The hotel lobby was undergoing renovations and furniture in the room was in need of repair/update. There were workmen there during the day and the walls were stripped of wallpaper - making for an unappealing look. Wouldn't stay there again unless the entire hotel gets updated.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DNLinTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellen H, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Sacramento-Cal Expo, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Thank You for your honest feedback regarding your personal experience at the Inn. We refer to our current project as our "Remix Lobby Renovations." We agree that construction and workmen are apparent at the Inn. We try to keep noise levels and dust to a minimum during the project. We hope to have an opportunity to show you that our product offers a consitent experience you expect ~ designed to delight all backed by our 100% Hampton Guarantee!

In reference to your concerns regarding repair and updates in furnishings, We would love to know where we fell short of expectation so we can improve it. Our furnishings are branded Thomasville and are not factory made but rather hand picked by our Design, Purchsing Agent, Ownership & Mangement Team to be considered a cut above most. Our new modern lobby furniture will be showcased as the final phase of the project. Please know, We do try to alert our prospective guests on our web page with notifications of minor construction so you won't be surprised and hope that this assists with information?

During your next visit, please stop by and say hello, grab a complimentary cup of coffee and have a cookie on the house.. Give us a second chance to show you how proud we are of our staff and property and share the positive improvements to come! Thank You so very much for your valuable input and please enjoy your day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yucaipa, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

I traveled to Sacramento on business in January with one of my associates. We had a great stay at the Hampton Inn. Both rooms were great. While the facility was going through some renovations, the staff went out of the way to make sure that we were well taken care of. The service is what makes this stay so good. Thanks goes out to all the staff.....

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Alamitos, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

I called a month in advance and paid for a suite, since my two adult children were with me- we needed three beds. When I arrived the young , rude hotel clerk told me that my reserved room had been given away. She put us in a room which had two queen beds. For three adults. I had been refused by Hilton Honors to use my points for the stay, saying that the points could not be used for a suite. And I was not given the suite I reserved


Later that evening I went to the lobby to get tea , and heard that same employee complaining to the security guard that another customer was complaining to her when she told him that she had given away his room. She was upset that the customer was complaining to her!

There was a group who had rented many of the rooms in the hotel. They consisted of a group of boys and girls, and a few adults. The children were running up and down the hallways all evening- until about 11:00. Then they started again about 4:00 am. They were apparently jumping repeatedly from the before to the floor in the room over mine for hours in the early morning- it was the sound of someone jumping repeatedly and NOT someone walking.

In the morning the adults finally managed to gathered the children- boys to one room and girls in another- about 10:00. They were running up and down the hallways the second night, too, repeating the same noisy behavior.
That was Christmas day.

The next day I called Hilton Honors to ask if they would use my points to pay for the stay, since the hotel did not give me the room I had reserved. I also told them about the rude hotel clerk and the noisy group. I was assured that I would not be charged for the stay. And that the issue would be resolved and someone would call me.

It took them three weeks to resolve the issue to my satisfaction. And nobody from the hotel ever called to apologize

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DRR28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellen H, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Sacramento-Cal Expo, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Thank you for sharing your review of your recent experience at our hotel. We sincerely apologize this stay was not what you have come to expect from us. Though, due to guests extending their stay with us, we cannot always provide the requested rooms but always aim to handle these situations in the kindest way possible. We are very sorry you did not receive this typical level of service. Our goal is to provide every guest with a comfortable stay from check-in to check-out and we're very sorry yours was compromised due to noise and room availability. Please reach out if there is anything further we can do to assist you. Thank you so very much.


Ellen Ann Holmes
Hampton Inn and Suites Cal Expo Sacramento
ellen.holmes@hilton.com
(916) 927-2222
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

I had a business appointment in Sacramento on a Monday and decided to drive down from LA on Saturday to get some rest before my meeting. I chose Hampton Inn because I've stayed at Hampton Inns in Texas,Burbank, Las Vegas and I really like Hampton Inns.

I read the reviews before I booked my room and asked for a room on the quiet side. Even with the heater on I slept like a rock. The King Single was spacious. I only sat in the desk chair while there. It was comfortable enough. The Wifi worked every time, no problems. Breakfast was good both mornings, and I arranged for a late check-out so I could change my clothes after my meeting before driving back to LA, again without a problem.

The hotel is just off of Business Hwy 80, which was convenient for me to get to my meeting downtown. It took maybe 10-15 minutes to get downtown, and another few to find adequate parking.

I enjoyed my stay there and will most likely stay there next time I go to Sacramento.

Room Tip: My room was very quiet. Ask to stay on the side of the hotel away from highway Business 80 if you n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden Grove, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

We stayed for four nights over Thanksgiving Break. Eventhough they started renovations the day after we checked it, we never heard the workers from our room. And we were just down the hall on the first floor. We also did not hear the freeway that was next to the hotel. We had a very quiet night's sleep. Our room was a great temperature. The beds were VERY comfortable. The towels were thick and soft. The room was clean. The staff was very accomodating and pleasant. The breakfast was great. We had a different egg and protein dish every day. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CamlynW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

Have stayed at this Hampton several times for multiple days and found service and cleanliness always excellent. Property is well maintained and staff very friendly and helpful. Inn is located next I-80(Business) and have never had any problem with noise.

Room Tip: Staff is excellent! King Suites a good bargain. Free breakfast is professionaly maintained with qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
3.4 mi away
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
#13 of 80 in Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
6.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Sacramento Airport-Natomas
1.7 mi away
Hilton Sacramento Arden West
Hilton Sacramento Arden West
#9 of 80 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
2.7 mi away
Courtyard Sacramento Cal Expo
5.2 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Sacramento-Cal Expo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Sacramento-Cal Expo

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Sacramento-Cal Expo
Address: 2230 Auburn Blvd, Sacramento, CA 95821-1601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#12 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Sacramento-Cal Expo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn and Suites Sacramento-Cal Expo hotel is near the Sacramento Zoo and McKinley Park. Our hotel's amenities include: free breakfast, free WiFi, free parking, a microwave and mini-refrigerator in-room, a multi-lingual staff, an outdoor pool and whirlpool spa, fitness room, and 962 sq. ft. of meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Sacramento-Cal Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Sacramento-Auburn Blvd. Hotel Sacramento
Hampton Inn And Suites Sacramento-Auburn Blvd.
Hampton Inn Sacramento
Sacramento Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing