We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location in downtown sacramento”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center
Ranked #30 of 81 Hotels in Sacramento
Arvada, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent location in downtown sacramento”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

This is not the average Holiday inn Express hotel. Its very large with a convention center attached. It has a decent restaurant and is close to many others. The proximity to Old Sacramento and the new downtown mall make it a great location.

Room Tip: The higher the better in regards to the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pkdenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
strat1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Thank you for the great review and pointing out our great location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    92
    52
    23
    19
See reviews for
35
48
23
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
chicago, IL
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

I stayed one night at this location after winning a bid on Priceline. It was farther from downtown than I wanted, however, the location makes up for it with A LOT of great nearby restaurants and bars. The hotel is located on a busy street, but I didn't hear any street noise. Check-in was ok. The hotel has a lobby business center and a great work out gym. On site parking is a plus, but instead I walked from the Greyhound station in 110 degree weather (A really bad idea). My room was clean and comfortable, however, the AC vent wasn't closed correctly. Luckily, I was able to fix it myself. My only complaint was the fact that I could hear the room above me. Given the fact that I was completely exhausted, I slept VERY well. The bathroom was very well lit and I enjoyed the shower. Breakfast was great. Selection of items was great. Coffee was good. I walked to a nearby CVS to purchase water and milk for the next day. Would be great if hotels gave out bottles of water because I'm not always sure about the local water. My room also had a great recycle bin so there was no worry about the plastic bottles. Not sure I would return if in the area only because of the out of "downtown" location.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjaysfan21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
strat1, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno CA
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Stayed her a night after taking Amtrak in and going out on another Amtrak train the next day. We walked about a mile from the Amtrak station to the hotel. I don’t recommend it on a June afternoon, but it was doable for my son and me. It was a Saturday, and there was not much activity on the street.
After a quick, friendly, check in, I walked around the neighborhood to the north. There were abandoned buildings, and the area looked a bit rough, so we did not go far in that direction. We walked around toward the Capitol looking for a place to eat, and there are a few places.
Next morning, we left early and did not get to check out the breakfast, so I can’t comment on it.
Overall, I liked this place. The common areas were all very nice and welcoming. The room was spacious. The window faced the street (the Wells Fargo Pavilion is across the street), and we had some intermittent noise from folks interacting loudly. But not a problem. I couldn’t get the thermostat to work on the air unit, so we just left the fan in the on position and were comfortable. The desk chair had an arm which was unscrewed and unstable, but we didn’t use the chair anyway.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G8R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
strat1, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. It is a nice walk from the train station except when its 100 outside. Being across from the Wells Fargo Pavilion is great especially during the summer Music Circus series of shows.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013 via mobile

Really great location within walking distance to the Capital, Convention center, and many restaurants. Rooms are reasonably updated and very clean. Comfortable beds and my room had a microwave and fridge. Free breakfast is great and is till 9:30 which is late by hotel standards. The only thing I would needs improving is that the AC made a loud thud noise every time it turned off. Not enough to waken you at night but during the day it can be annoying.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
strat1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel and enjoyed our close proximity to many downtown highlights. You will be happy to hear we have resolved the loud thud noise in the AC. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Iberia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

This is an older hotel but it was clean and the room was a nice size. The front desk was helpful. We had no problems and would stay here again. The location was great...eating places are within walking distance, which is what we did.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank librajr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
strat1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Thank you for the positive review and please come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

As soon as I walked in the room, it was like walking into a room full of musky moldy old room that hasnt been aired out in months. I opened the window and turned the air condition on to attempt to clean out the smell of the musky odor. I was sneezing and my nose was running until I left the hotel.

The bathroom is like a flashback to the 90's and was dirty and outdated. This hotel needs a major reno. The location was perfect for my work and the breakfast was not healthy by any means.

I will be running back to the Hyatt accross the street from the capitol when I visit Sacramento.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimK729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
strat1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
I am truly sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us and found the room unsatisfactory. I assure you our rooms are not moldy or dirty. Please feel free to contact the hotel and ask for the General Manager to discuss this further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

This hotel is the best kept secret in Sacramento. By far one of the best hotel values I have ever come across. I try to stay here every time I'm in Sacramento on business. It doesn't look fancy from the outside but the lobby, rooms, hallways and breakfast room are very nice and new. The rooms are sparkling clean. You can't beat the downtown location..restraunts, bars and a Starbucks are near by. The service at the front desk is world class. Kudos to the staff and management for what I consider one of the best businesspersons hotel in California.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank srwolffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
strat1, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
We love your review and greatly appreciate you sharing your experience with Tripadvisor. We hope to see you back here real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Downtown
Quality Inn Downtown
#47 of 81 in Sacramento
138 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
0.9 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 81 in Sacramento
1,604 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inn off Capitol Park
Inn off Capitol Park
#36 of 81 in Sacramento
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center

Property: Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center
Address: 728 16th St, Sacramento, CA 95814-2002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Holiday Inn Express in downtown Sacramento, a favorite of both Business and Leisure Travelers, Tour and Convention Groups and considered by many as Sacramento s Best Value . We are centrally located across from the historic Governors Mansion and walking distance to the Sacramento Convention Center, Civic Auditorium, State Capital, Government Offices, Wells Fargo Pavilion, Music Circus, Restaurants, Shopping, Movie Theaters and Starbucks. Convenient to historic 'Old Town Sacramento', Sacramento Jazz Festival, Arden Mall, Cal Expo, Raley Fields, Cal State University, UC Davis, UC Davis Medical Center, Sacramento Zoo, California State Parks, Thunder Valley and Black Oaks casinos. Enjoy our Complimentary Breakfast Bar with a wide variety of hot and cold items while catching up with the news reading your complimentary USA Today. Rooms are beautifully decorated and feature in-room coffee service, hair dryer, irons and ironing boards, on-demand pay movies and free wireless Internet access. We also have a business center, fitness facility and free parking. Pets are welcome and we re a 100% non-smoking, AAA approved hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Hotel Sacramento
Holiday Inn Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing