We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant surprise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grill Masters Steakhouse - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Grill Masters Steakhouse
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Used to be Monterey Bay Canners at this address.
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

We just checked in at the Hawthorn across the street and were starving from the 9 hours of travel. I had the bacon cheese burger and it was great. Flavorful, juicy, huge...everything you could ask out of a steakhouse burger. The atmosphere is a little dates but could add to the charm. It did not disappoint
My fiancé had the california burger. It's. bacon cheeseburger with avocado. Very fresh avocado, perfect

Don't overlook this place because it is off the beaten path

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonell G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    5
    3
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yucaipa, California, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

The food in this Restaurant was fantastic, a culinary delight. Came back to this restaurant twice and never disappointed. I would recommend this to my friends and family if you are ever in the Sacramento area please visit this restaurant. You will not be disappointed!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Tasty and Good Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

This restaurant was recommended by the front desk person at the Governors Inn Hotel. I appreciated the recommendation, as the food and service were both very good, and the location was just a short walk from the hotel.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Norma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“OK staple eatery”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

Ate here last night (5 May 2013). Good friendly welcome but took a while to get service to give our order. Do not order Jose Cuervo Marguerita (a whim on my part given was Cinco de Mayo) as I was not sure there was even tequila in it and could not taste the lime/lemon. Aside from that food nice, hot and tasty...ok but not startling. Good suburban eatery. Prawn skewers tasty, garlic potato mash ok. Porterhouse steak cooked just the way we had asked and salad good. Chocolate mousse cake somewhat bland, would suggest cream. And maybe a rethink on drinks.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hana23_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I recommend the Dennys, its right next door!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

My husband had chicken skewers and blackened catfish, the fish was good and the skewers were just OK. The garlic mashed potatoes were dense and cold. I ordered mesquite grilled orange roughy that tasted like a brick of charcoal, so I sent it back and asked to have a blackened piece of fish. The chef just recooked the original piece of fish, so now it not only tasted like charcoal but it was overcooked and greasy. The wild rice pilaf was bland and unseasoned. However, the vegetables were really good and cooked perfectly! The only reason for the two stars.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank desertangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grill Masters Steakhouse also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing