We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sushi for everyone even if you don't like raw fish”
Review of Sushi Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sushi Cafe
Ranked #305 of 2,249 Restaurants in Sacramento
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Restaurant details
Reviewed 6 September 2017

this is our local goto sushi restaurant since we live near the place. family and extended family love this place for its quality sushi and variety of non sushi menu. my mother does not like raw fish so she aways gets salmon bento box or dinner. portions are pretty generous and filling. the chirashi is very reasonably priced. good food, sometimes busy atmosphere during peak times but service is efficient.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank charles n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

Had lunch here recently. They offer a great bento box for $8.50. You select two items and it comes with pickled cucumbers, miso soup, a California roll, rice and salad. My companion ordered the salmon teriyaki and sesame chicken while I had the mixed tempura and sesame chicken. We washed it down with ice cold Asahis. Delicious and plenty to eat.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank JoeHafky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017 via mobile

Have been here multiple times- good rolls and bento dinners-people are nice and friendly-clean and decent ambiance. (Not super loud and shrill like so many midtown places) so able to talk and relax. There are not a lot of solid places there eat south of broadway -but this is one. Check it out!

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank Kathleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017

It was end of March and mailing wouldn't do since our last visit to the Secretary of State in Sacramento. The mailing back in February was to request an apostille state notary for usage in a foreign country. We went and completed our business in a correct manner than through mailing.

The weather was cloudy and rainy ...And, it was 3:15 late afternoon with no lunch for all of us. We decided to go to Sushi Café again, as our last visit was in August. But the weather was not kind to us. We hope the food would still be as good as before.

By the late wet afternoon, we got to Sushi Café. It was also packed with customers. We scratched our head and figured out it was probably Friday afternoon and people were getting early for dinner.

Luck was with us. The price for lunch was good from 11:30 am to 3:30 pm. So we ordered at lunch prices instead of the dinner prices, which was higher. We ordered the dragon rolls, 3 bento lunch boxes, one of chicken tempura, pork Katsu, and sashimi, etc a small dish of crispy honey ribs. We had tea and water.

The bill came and it was very reasonable for the three of us, as we head out to the wet, rain and start the long journey back to the Bay Area.

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Quasarsoujourner01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2016

It was after we finished our business at the Secretary of State office, my brother in law called a friend who lives in Sacramento. He recommended Sushi Café on at 4491 Freeport Blvd for lunch. And, it was only about a 10 minute drive from Downtown, Capital Mall.

We got there and it was a crowd time, as it was lunch. Parking was available. As we got out of our car, both sides of Freeport Blvd have eateries, Starbuck, mobile shops, Chinese, Japanese, American, etc to choose from.

We located Sushi Café and entered the restaurant. At that moment, a sense of cool breeze hit across our faces! It felt great! The hostess was there to guide us to our table. There was a sushi bar, and quite a lot of tables fill with customers eating away as we sat down. There were a few Japanese decorations fill through out this cafe. Water and tea were the beverage of the day for our group. Service was prompt.

For lunch, three of us ordered the Bento (box lunch - $8.50) It came with California roll, mix salad, rice and two additional items . It also came with seaweed soup. We each ordered salmon sashimi, shrimp tempura, or pork ton-katsu, . Our last order was two orders of shrimp tempura roll & spicy tuna roll that have 8-10 pieces.

We filled out stomach and strolled out to the hot weather, set to drive back to cool San Francisco! The bill was reasonable.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Quasarsoujourner01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sushi Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Sushi Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing