We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed the king's rally!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cesar Chavez Park

Cesar Chavez Park
Ranked #41 of 168 things to do in Sacramento
Attraction details
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
567 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the king's rally!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

They really did an amazing job with this park for the rally. Staging, crowd control, food and beverage offerings, really made this park come to life with almost 15,000 people present. I did not realize it could hold that many!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank george p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    5
    13
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yuba City, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Creepy people and homeless”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

Need I say more? Ahh the smell of body odor and old urine in the hot summers of Sacramento are a special treat.

Helpful?
4 Thank MafiaElvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cesar Chavez Park”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2012

I would like to memorilize Cesar Chavez in a much more cleaner park then when we went there. It was a true same. It's to bad people can't respect their parks.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Char52_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“where to sit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

great for concerts in the park but I think there should be more places to sit and maybe more food options.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank karen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Drive by, but don't get out of your vehicle”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

The name of this park should tell you all you need to know. Cesar Chavez Park looks beautiful online, but in person is an entirely different story. This park is situated downtown in a relatively safe place, but the park itself is full of homeless people and criminals (meaning, drug dealers). I would recommend against parking your car alongside this park, or walking through it. Walk on the other side of the street (or a different block altogether), and park elsewhere if you need to be in this area of downtown. And, whatever you do (no matter how much you may want to go to one of the events they have in the park), avoid the park at night at all costs. It is dangerous (as opposed to just the unsettling feeling one gets from it during the day) and is not a place you want to be when the sun goes down (I lived in Sacramento for 18 years, and I still regularly go back to visit; it has not changed in all that time, and I don't expect it to in the future).

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank EricaBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cesar Chavez Park also viewed

 

Been to Cesar Chavez Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing