We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Sacramento Cal Expo
Ranked #8 of 80 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
Tiburon, CA
Level Contributor
370 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2010

A very pleasant, friendly atmosphere, clean, spacious room, very nice breakfast.
Excellent value!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nepenthium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    125
    33
    14
    10
See reviews for
79
54
30
262
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2009

I chose this hotel for it's location near Cal Expo, as well as the Marriott reputation. My wife had a problem at check-in; the lady at the front desk was trying to apply an extra $13 fee that was not on our confirmation. It took a visit from the manager in the back to resolve it.

The room was large and nicely furnished; however, the bathroom was smaller, and there was no mini-refrigerator as promised on the Marriott website. The biggest issue was noise; you could constantly hear the other rooms' doors open and shut, as well as some other hallway, room and air conditioning noise. There is also must be a railroad nearby, as we heard a train pass by several times during the day and night. I am a heavy sleeper, and all of the above noise bothered me. It certainly bothered my wife.

There is plenty of parking, and the location near Cal Expo and I-80 is great. However, if I were to return to the area, I'd try another place.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OregonBeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2009

We were planning a trip to the California State Fair and wanted to stay near the fair. This hotel is walking distance to Cal Expo. The registration clerk was extremely friendly and helpful. The cafe team was the same. We got an incredible package for the fair that included tickets to the fair and a full breakfast (not just the typical fair of bagels and cream cheese - they served omelets, sausages, bacon, pastries, waffles, orange juice, yogurt, oatmeal, cold cereals, fruit...). Free parking. New hotel. Big rooms (we had two queens - not sure what the other rooms were like). Nice big bathroom. Generous with towels. Rooms were spotless. Nicely decorated - looked more high end than you'd expect for a Courtyard. If you are sightseeing downtown, this is probably not the best location. But if you're going to any event at Cal Expo, I highly recommend this hotel. If we go to the State Fair next year, we'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walnutcreekgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupertino, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2009

This Courtyard is very clean and has a very high end feel to it. I considered the rate very reasonable. Service staff very friendly. There is no free breakfast. But, after staying at 'free breakfast' places with very tight, cramped eating areas and constantly saying 'excuse me, I'm sorry' to everyone, it was almost a relief to eat in an open and spacious eating area.

I did not face the railroad the other reviewers mentioned, but I chose this location because was in a quiet location away the city.

I really liked this place.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingBern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa, California
Level Contributor
232 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2009

I stayed one night while on return home from a business trip. This is one of the nicer Courtyard hotels I have stayed in! Everything was fresh, clean, and in good working condition.
The on-site restaurant had one of the better meals I have had in a while, whether at a hotel or not!
The rooms were quiet (even though mine faced the freeway. I never heard any trains as one reviewer noted). The room was clean, in good working condition. Only slight complaint was that internet connection was slow in the room...whether wired or wireless.
I would certainly return, especially if given the same rate!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LQGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2008

This hotel is new, clean, and easy access to most of Sacramento. I have stayed here many times for business purposes and every time the service has been great.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ATravelerCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eCommerceCoordinator, eCommerce Coordinator at Courtyard Sacramento Cal Expo, responded to this review, 4 January 2009
Dear ATravelerCalifornia,

Thank you for the wonderful review! We are so very happy to know that you have stayed with us many times on business and have experienced our superior customer service every time! We are extremely proud of our efforts in maintaining a very high level of customer service, and we want to thank you for your recognition.

Thank you for always choosing to stay with us while in the Sacramento area. We truly appreciate having you as our guest and look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,
eCommerce Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2008

I stayed at the Courtyard by Marriott for one night on a business trip. My room was on the third floor, facing the parking lot. The hotel is a bit removed from downtown Sacramento in a park of Marriott hotels. That was fine for our purposes, but don't expect lots to do!

I had read the reviews about the train noise, and I can confirm that the rumors are true. Every couple of hours a train went by and signaled its presence. It woke me up each time. When I wasn't waking up due to train noise, I was startled by the on and off of the air system. Once the air reached the right temperature, it turned off, only to turn back on with a bang every hour or so. Between the train and the air, I woke up every hour throughout the night. I disabled the air, but the train kept coming.

Just in case you think I'm a light sleeper (which I am), my colleague who also had a room on the third floor had the same experience. She managed to sleep through some of the train activity (but not all of it), she was startled by the air system.

I didn't rate this hotel lower because there are positive elements. Namely, the room was large and pleasant, the bed was very comfortable and staff were welcoming.

  • Liked — Comfortable room and bed
  • Disliked — Noise from trains and air system
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 415traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eCommerceCoordinator, eCommerce Coordinator at Courtyard Sacramento Cal Expo, responded to this review, 11 January 2009
Dear 415traveler,

Thank you for completing the review and for your compliments on our rooms and friendly staff. We appreciate your time in giving us your feedback.

We also want to apologize for your experience with the train noise. We are aware of this sudden influx of trains passing in the night and have taken the necessary steps to look into this situation further.

Again, thank you for your comments and for choosing to stay with us while in the Sacramento area.

Sincerely,
eCommerce Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
3.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
2.7 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
0.9 mi away
Hilton Sacramento Arden West
Hilton Sacramento Arden West
#9 of 80 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 80 in Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,457 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sacramento/South Natomas
2.1 mi away
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
#12 of 80 in Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Sacramento Cal Expo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Sacramento Cal Expo

Property: Courtyard Sacramento Cal Expo
Address: 1782 Tribute Rd, Sacramento, CA 95815-4402
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#4 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#7 Best Value Hotel in Sacramento
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Sacramento Cal Expo 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Sacramento Cal Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Sacramento Cal Expo Hotel Sacramento
Sacramento Marriott
Sacramento Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing