We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor housekeeping and lousy Internet make for a disappointing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Airport Natomas
Ranked #24 of 81 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Poor housekeeping and lousy Internet make for a disappointing stay”
Reviewed 19 April 2013

I was not going to write a review about this place but this morning, I kind of feel obligated to. You see, 24 hours after my stay at the Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Airport Natomas earlier this month, I received an online guest satisfaction survey from IHG (InterContinental Hotels Group) and simply deleted that email as I did not have the time nor the inclination to fill out their survey. Two days after that, I received a separate email thanking me for my stay there. How sweet! A week later (that would be today), I'm receiving another automated email from them asking me to fill out the same survey. Isn't it pretty obvious that if you do not respond the first time around, chances are you won't respond the second (and third) time either? I call this constant barrage of emails pestering. Anyway, this time I clicked the "Unsubscribe" link at the bottom of their survey email and I sincerely hope I'll be left in peace from now on. I have a serious problem when hotels (and other businesses) start harassing their own customers.
Now on to my stay proper. I must state first of all that I paid $160 plus tax for a one-night stay at this property, which is pretty outrageous for a basic airport-style motel. The other well rated properties in the area (the Homewood Suites, the Hilton Garden Inn and the Hampton Inn) were all in the same price range the night I stayed there (why, I still can't figure out), so I decided I might as well pick the best rated one.
Upon entering the room, I noticed that the bedding looked rumpled, almost as if housekeeping had just made the bed for someone already staying in the room. There were what looked like cookie crumbs all over the desk and there were two rolls of nearly empty toilet paper in the bathroom with no extra (new) roll.
I had some work to do the night I was there and although I was able to easily access their wireless Internet, the connection was painfully slow and downloading even the smallest of files (like a 30k Word file) seemed to take 20 to 30 seconds each time. I called reception and explained the problem, and the young man on the phone was excellent in responding to my complaint. He called their Internet provider and called me back a few minutes later to explain that their was nothing unusual or wrong with the Internet that night. We compared our respective download and upload speeds, and I could clearly see that his speed was decent and mine (0.16 Mbps download/0.17 Mbps upload) was dismal. He then suggested I use their in-room cable connection instead, which I did, unfortunately with no significant improvement in the speed. I gave up working altogether that night and went to bed quite frustrated.
I must admit that their staff is super nice and helpful, but to me the poor housekeeping (I did not mention this issue to the front desk clerk because I checked in after 9 PM and figured no one could fix my room that late in the night) and the unusable Internet made me regret my choice. And those unsollicited emails became the icing on the cake, which explains why I'm writing this review today. $183.11 including tax for all this aggravation - there are better options out there, I'm definitely never returning here.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Airport Natomas, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Dear marxusboy,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our front desk.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding housekeeping and the internet connection. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    77
    24
    4
    2
See reviews for
55
49
20
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gridley
Level Contributor
245 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Had the pleasure of using this facility for a meeting last weekend and the service was incredible. Front desk manager Cindy was wonderful and so personable. We used their meeting room and were very comfortable for the entire evening.
Our rooms were wonderful and clean and just immaculate. Enjoyed a delicious breakfast the next morning and really appreciated the earliness of their breakfast as we had to be gone to another event at 0630. The 0600 breakfast really fit our schedule well. Thanks for everything!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rnprofessr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

This hotel is directly off of I-5, right next to several amenities, just four miles or so north of downtown, and, perhaps best of all, within walking distance of the Sacramento Kings arena. It is extremely clean and comfortable. We spent just one nigh here (to watch the Lakers play the Kings) and were able to get a quick bite at In'N'Out (right near the hotel), walk to the game (and avoid having to pay for parking or traffic hassles exiting/entering the arena), and walk back to the hotel at the end of the night without incident. Breakfast was just fine, as they had my staples: oatmeal, yogurt, fresh fruit and coffee.

As a runner, I was easily able to run about a 5-mile distance in the bike lanes or shoulders of the wide roads. Of course, I'm sure traffic was mitigated by the fact that it was a Sunday morning, but I'm sure it'd be just fine on other days as well.

Overall, I highly recommend this property, especially if you are coming in town for an event at what used to be ARCO Arena.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fortuna, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

This hotel is right off I-5 and yet didn't hear any freeway noise. The lobby is large and beautiful with the breakfast area right there also, with a large TV. Breakfast was nice, would have liked to know the omlette had peppers before I chose it though. There were different hot choices each day we were there (2 days). I highly recommend the 'french toast.' It was a bread choice and I popped it in the toaster and added jelly and it was wonderful. It was available both days.
Our room was nicely decorated and had a choice of firm or soft pillows already there. There was a constant fan/air noise from some kind of ventilation in the bathroom. Not sure what that was about. The bed was soft, but not too soft; and the refrigerator and micro were hidden in a lovely cabinet.
Check out was quick and smooth even though we paid with a different card than the one given at check in (to avaid a hold on our debit card).
Many choices of restaurants nearby including: Ihop, Denny's, Sizzler, KFC/A&W, Panda Express (with a drive-thru), Taco Bell, Weinerschnitzel. Nearby is a Safeway with a gas station and Jamba Juice. Fabulous coffee in that same center is 'It's a Grind.' I enjoyed a blended chunky monkey w/ fresh banana, and an iced mint mocha (it's famous?).

Room Tip: Pool is on the south west end of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelinSportsMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

This is one of the newer HIE sites. As a platinum member going on 10 years, this is one of their nicer sites. Lots of restaurants near by and proximity to airport is helpful. Hotel is off of the main road so relatively quiet - enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthur A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

We needed hotel near airport for 1 night due to early morning flight. This hotel is newer construction quiet and clean. There are plenty of dining options around both fast food and sit down. Grocery store across the street. It is only a few exits from airport heading away from city so I can't imagine there would be any traffic issues.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nottarts23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Very nice, new rooms, nicely decorated. Good desk and chair. Very clean rooms. Free Wifi and parking.Friendly and fast check in and out. Would definitely stay here again. Didn't try out the pool or spa.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathiann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Sacramento-Airport-Natomas
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Sacramento Airport-Natomas
0.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sacramento International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sacramento Airport Natomas
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sacramento/South Natomas
2.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Sacramento Natomas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Airport Natomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Airport Natomas

Property: Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Airport Natomas
Address: 2981 Advantage Way, Sacramento, CA 95834-9666
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#21 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Airport Natomas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you come to Sacramento, we ve got what you need. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sacramento Airport-Natomas features 100 beautifully designed guest rooms and studio suites, all of which are equipped with microwaves and refrigerators. We are the closest hotel to the Sacramento International Airport, conveniently located just 4.5 miles south, with a 24-hour complimentary airport shuttle. In a hurry? Our well-situated location, just off of Interstate 5, between downtown Sacramento and the Sacramento International Airport will ensure you get to your desired location with ease. You ll spend less time in traffic and more time doing what you came to Sacramento to do. Our hotel amenities will help with your busy day including free wired & wireless high-speed Internet access, a 24-hour business center and convenience shop. With a wide variety of eateries within walking distance, you ll have more time to focus on your busy schedule. Once the day is over, relax in our comfortable rooms featuring the Simply Smart bedding collection with the Serta Perfect Sleeper mattress and two choices of pillow comfort. Have an early flight? Be sure to schedule a reservation on our complimentary 24-hour airport shuttle the day prior to your departure. If you are not able to enjoy our complimentary hot breakfast bar from 6:00am to 10:00am, be sure to pick up a breakfast to-go bag at the front desk on your way out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Airport Natomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Airport Natomas Hotel Sacramento
Holiday Inn Sacramento
Sacramento Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing