We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Hotel, Good Breakfast, Avoid During Fair”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Sacramento Cal Expo
Ranked #35 of 82 Hotels in Sacramento
Reviewed 19 October 2011

We happened to be staying at this hotel during the California State Fair (Fairgrounds right next door) and the parking was always a challenge in the evening because of the Fair-goers. The lot is not that big and it's definitely competitive.

The rooms are basic although the studio king room was a bit small. The wing chair was right up next to the bed and there is an odd configuration for the bathroom. The door swings open into the side of the bed. The refrigerator was full size and the kitchenette was well equipped. Due to a mix up, I did spend one night in a studio with 2 queen beds and it was much bigger and there was room to move around. I would recommend in general you request a room on the street side (not parking lot side) of the hotel. We had a number of rooms for our party and the street side rooms were bigger all around.

The hotel did offer a nice continental breakfast spread and if you were early enough (and the carnies weren't there) you could enjoy hard boiled eggs and fresh fruit along with the usual breads, cereal, and yogurt.

I used the washer and dryer and it was fine although one person in our party had her clothes come out with all kinds of stains from the machine. The hotel sent the stuff out for cleaning and everything came out, but be warned - especially if you don't have time to wait and see if they can have them cleaned for you. The pool is awkwardly located in the front parking lot and is very small so if there are a lot of kids or if you want quiet, it's hard to come by. In general the staff was really kind and attempted to be helpful. There was one gentleman at the front desk who didn't seem to know what he was doing, but we usually just waited until someone else came on shift to ask for assistance.

The only real down side to the hotel is we did have some things stolen while we were there by other guests. I think it's partly the transient element of the people who come during the fair. It was partly our fault (we flipped the prop on the door to step out for a minute and came back in less than 5 minutes, but someone came along and took our things).

Another person in our group mentioned having the door propped on the metal lock while waiting for someone else to stop by and some strangers started to come into the room - no knocking - and when they saw someone inside said, "sorry" and quickly walked away.

If you need a hotel with easy freeway access, this is pretty conveniently located, just don't stay here during the California State Fair.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the street side (not parking lot side) of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OpEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TownePlaceSuites011, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Sacramento Cal Expo, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2011

Thank you for your review of the TownePlace Suites Cal-Expo Sacramento!
We appreciate that you took the time to provide feedback and I will pass on your comments to our Staff. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. Your comments have been reviewed by the hotel’s management.

Please accept our sincere apologies, we hope you will continue to use TownePlace Suites as your lodging of choice, and look forward to welcoming you back in an effort to provide you the level of service you expect from TownePlace Suites by Marriott Cal Expo Sacramento.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2011

staff was extremly kind and helpful. Rooms were clean and nice. location was right next to cal expo, easy to get to everything.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tlcroses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TownePlaceSuites011, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Sacramento Cal Expo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2011

Thank you for your recent correspondence regarding the TownePlace Suites by Marriott. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.
We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature.
It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts and takes the time to say thank you. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make the TownePlace Suites by Marriott, a leader in excellence.

Sincerely,

Ruth Martinez
General Manager
TownePlace Suites by Marriott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

I've stayed at Tribute Rd Courtyard by Marriott many times because it is close the Business 80 and Starbucks. I decided to try Towneplace Suites next to the Courtyard's because it has kitenette in the rooms. However I regretted the decision for the following reasons:
1. The parking spaces are so small so many people ended up taking up two spaces. I had to park at the Courtyard and walk over.
2. The front desk was unmanned for almost 10 minutes with a note stating sorry for the inconvenience, really!?

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trvlite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TownePlaceSuites011, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Sacramento Cal Expo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2011

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with the TownePlace Suites by Marriot. Your willingness to share your thoughts with us is genuinely appreciated.

We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. Your comments have been reviewed by the hotel’s management and appropriate action has been taken to ensure a situation of this nature will not be repeated in the future.

Again, please accept our sincere apologies. We hope you will continue to use TownePlace Suites by Marriott as your lodging of choice, and look forward to welcoming you back in an effort to provide you the level of service you expect from TownePlace Suites by Marriott.

Sincerely,

Ruth Martinez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

This place is your average Marriott Towneplace Suites room. The service as always was impeccable. The food was the same as any other similar hotel. My only problem was the bed. I went back to the same hotel twice and both times the beds were horrible. I was appalled because I am a travel veteran and I normally find Marriott's beds are the very best out there. The beds were supposedly queen but felt more like doubles with a bad sag in the middle. In a way that's probably good because my spouse and I found ourselves rolling in to each other all night.

Room Tip: Stay at the Fairfield or Courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sush81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TownePlaceSuites011, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Sacramento Cal Expo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2011

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with the TownePlace Suites by Marriott. Your willingness to share your thoughts with us is genuinely appreciated.

We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. Your comments have been reviewed by the hotel’s management.

Again, please accept our sincere apologies, we hope you will continue to use TownePlace Suites as your lodging of choice, and look forward to welcoming you back in an effort to provide you the level of service you expect from TownePlace Suites by Marriott Cal Expo Sacramento.

Ruth Martinez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Liked:
- the spacious rooms--we stayed in a 2 bedroom suite with kitchenette. very comfy for family of 6
- free breakfast--not a great spread, but covers all the basics
- blackout curtains--great for a nice afternoon nap
- heated outdoor pool--we did not use it, but several families were having fun. Pool size is a little small though
- TVs in each room
- ample parking
- free wi-fi
- kitchenette was well stocked with clean pots and pans and silverware

Disliked:
- Due to miscommunication we were directed to a wrong room BUT our room key was able to open another guests room. Because of this we didn't feel save leaving our valuables in the room when we were out sightseeing.
- outdated TVs (old CRT monitors!)
- train tracks less than a block from the hotel. You can hear the train at night. Maybe uncomfortable for light sleepers

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GKayla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TownePlaceSuites011, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Sacramento Cal Expo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2011

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with the TownePlace Suites by Marriot. Your willingness to share your thoughts with us is genuinely appreciated.

We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. Your comments have been reviewed by the hotel’s management and appropriate action has been taken to ensure a situation of this nature will not be repeated in the future.

Again, please accept our sincere apologies. We hope you will continue to use TownePlace Suites by Marriott as your lodging of choice, and look forward to welcoming you back in an effort to provide you the level of service you expect from TownePlace Suites by Marriott Cal Expo Sacramento.

Sincerely,
Ruth Martinez ~General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

We were in the area for my son's baseball tournament and his team has been staying here 3 years in a row and I see why that is. This was my first time and I was impressed. The hotel was very clean. The front desk was very courteous and helpful with requests. the rooms were very clean and with an updated decor and the bed was great to sleep on. I think the mattress might have been one of those tempur pedic style mattresses. I dont usually sleep great in hotels but i did here. Another nice thing was that I ordered a pizza delivery from Extreme Pizza which was good and forgot to ask for paper plates. Then I realized when I looked in the kitchen cupboards there were plates,drinking glasses, coffee mugs etc. The room I had was just a regular room with 2 queen size beds. The room I had a nice size refrigerator, 2 burner kitchen dinette, and a dishwasher. I do not have any negatives to report about this hotel. I will gladly stay here again and would recommend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quackquackbang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2009

We stayed two nights at this hotel for part of our family's vacation. We took the kids to Raging Waters park, which is less than one mile away for a day before moving on to spend time with family nearby in the Bay Area.

The location was perfect for our purposes, we probably could have walked to the water park had we felt so inclined. The neighborhood seemed perfectly safe with plenty of nearby restaurants.

The hotel itself appeared to be relatively new - either that or it was EXCEPTIONALLY well maintained. Either way, it was a pleasant stay in clean, comfortable rooms. No wear and tear on carpets, furniture was in top notch condition, TV was in excellent working order. The beds were comfortable, a little on the soft side, which suited us just fine. There was plenty of closet space for luggage.

We did not make use of the swimming pool or hot tub, but they looked to be quite nice, if a little small. We took advantage of the hotel's free breakfast - it was pretty basic but more than enough for us. Bagels, toast, waffles, cereals, yogurts, etc. It worked for us.

No problems with the wireless internet.

When my husband was checking us out, the hotel manager or owner (not sure which) seemed genuinely concerned about whether we enjoyed our stay and if there was anything he could do to make it better. Really, we couldn't have asked for anything more from this level of hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BankerLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Sacramento Cal Expo
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Sacramento Cal Expo
1.7 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Cal Expo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hilton Sacramento Arden West
Hilton Sacramento Arden West
#11 of 82 in Sacramento
862 reviews
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sacramento
3.0 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sacramento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Sacramento Cal Expo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Sacramento Cal Expo

Address: 1784 Tribute Rd, Sacramento, CA 95815-4402
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 82 Hotels in Sacramento
Price Range: £86 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Sacramento Cal Expo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Real Living! I would like to take this opportunity to introduce you to the TownePlace Suites Cal Expo, Sacramento CA. The TownePlace Suites is conveniently located to all major destinations of Sacramento, including Sacramento International Airport, Downtown Sacramento, California State Capital, and Old Town Sacramento. We offer 117 spacious suites that come in four different floor plans, ranging from Studio Suites with one queen bed or two queen beds, One Bedroom Suites and Two Bedroom Suites. Each of our hotel suites is uniquely designed for the extended stay travel in mind with fully quipped kitchens and the welcome home feel. We provide a complimentary local shuttle service Monday-Friday,within a 5-mile radius, which would be a great transportation resource for your personnel. There is also 775 sq. ft. of meeting space that can comfortably accommodate 25-30 people as well as catering services available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your TownePlace Suites Sacramento Cal Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Sacramento Cal Expo Hotel Sacramento
Sacramento Towneplace Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing