We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than its pictures”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Sacramento Cal Expo
Ranked #37 of 81 Hotels in Sacramento
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Better than its pictures”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I was ready to just be happy with whatever conditions I get since its just an over the weekend stay. While most hotels would have amazing pictures and not be that beautiful in reality this hotel looked better than its pictures (building and rooms). No problem with the beds, towels, room temperature, parking (shared with Courtyard by Marriott), cleanliness, wifi available anytime and anywhere for free. If you swim, you can ask for more towels and toiletries from the front desk. Breakfast was good, but not amazing. Location good: good restaurants nearby, Cal Expo nearby. and likewise Arden Mall. No restaurant inside the hotel but you can cook or heat anything since they have a kitchenette and dining table inside the room.or you can call for food delivery.

Room Tip: Get a room at the end near the swimming pool. It's nearer the elevator, swimming pool, and has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ann c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AartiRam, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Sacramento Cal Expo, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Ann,

Thank you for taking the time out and giving us a feedback on your recent stay. We really appreciate your positive comments and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We take pride in providing excellent and welcoming service to all of our guests.

Your feedback has been shared with the entire staff and once again we would like to thank you for being a guest with the TownePlace Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    54
    19
    17
    7
See reviews for
44
13
10
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Estero, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Three things are a priority to most travelers: a comfortable bed, a clean bathroom with soft towels, and an Wi-Fi that works. This hotel has none of them.

The beds advertised as Queen size are not (they are more like oversized Full) and are extremely uncomfortable, the towels were mistaken for bath mats they were so thin and ruff, and the Wi-Fi seldom worked before it timed out.

It offers many amenities but it fails miserably on the areas that count the most for a comfortable overnight stay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kenneth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AartiRam, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Sacramento Cal Expo, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Kenneth,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with the TownePlace Suites Sacramento Cal Expo. I apologize that your recent stay was not satisfactory and appreciate your feedback.

You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. Please be assured that we are taking immediate corrective steps to avoid such problems in the future.

Once again, please accept my apology. We would like to regain your trust and we hope you will allow us an opportunity to provide you with an exceptional guest experience when your travels bring you back to this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manteca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Cut my weekend short when my car was broken into and no I didn't leave anything in my car to appeal it to be broken into as the front desk assistance claims that's probably why it happened. No security and no cameras what kind of place is this that can't even protect their guest.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jzm176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AartiRam, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Sacramento Cal Expo, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out and sharing your experience with the TownePlace Suites Cal Expo. I apologize that your recent stay was not satisfactory and appreciate your feedback.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your expectations. Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit.

You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future. If I may be of assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wasilla, Alaska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The hotel was nice, and staff was very friendly. My only complaint would be the walls seem a bit thin. But I still enjoyed my stay, and I felt the location was very convenient for visiting different Areas in Sacramento.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AartiRam, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Sacramento Cal Expo, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Gabriel,

We are delighted that your stay with the TownePlace Suites Sacramento Cal Expo was enjoyable.

Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.

Thank you and we wish to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My family and I were here for an extended stay, and the place was very clean and the staff was very helpful, especially Singh at the front desk. The hotel as a whole is extremely relaxing. We stayed in a 2-bedroom suite with a pull-out coach. There were three of us so that made it relatively easy, but you could sleep six if you wanted to. A convenient location, close to the Arden Mall, Sac State, and Downtown Sacramento.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Satchi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AartiRam, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Sacramento Cal Expo, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Satchi,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the TownePlace Suites Cal Expo. We are delighted that your stay with the TownePlace Suites Sacramento Cal Expo was enjoyable.

Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
182 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel while we attended the County Fair. This has pro and cons..
pros: only one mile from CalExpo
very clean
friendly staff (except the lady serving breakfast on Memorial day)
price was great

Cons: 1. offers shuttle service within a 7 mile radius, but because of the discounted rate was told we could not get shuttle service for the MILE drive to CalExpo
2. had scrambled eggs available on Thursday and Friday, but was told not available on weekends.
3. one day, the breakfast area ran out of pepper, the next day they ran out of sugar...the place was packed, they should have anticipated this
4. PARKING!!!!! very poor parking, place was so packed, cars were parked in the middle of the cul de sac, or you had to park down close to the street

would I stay here again...Probably, just aware of how each day the change their services.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AartiRam, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Sacramento Cal Expo, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Ann

Thank you for your feedback. With group rates, different amenties and some restrictions are involved. Unfortunately it was not communicated clearly with your team and we apologize for that. We appreciate your feedback and it will be passed onto the sales team.

Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.

We hope to see you soon.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I came to Sacramento for work for at least 3 months. We thought the Towneplace Suites at Cal Expo would fill our needs. They are dog friendly, with clean bedroom suites. We were immediately greeted upon check in by a surly gal who informed us our room would not be ready for "at least two hours". No smile, no customer service.
Should have known by the greeting that their customer service was subpar. The only redeeming ray of sunshine is Jessica who went out of her way for us.
Just about every other employee at the front desk we ran across in the 6 weeks we stayed there was unfriendly and down right rude.
I would like to add that the sales lady Amy will tell you anything you want to hear and then won't be there to back it up. Ex. Amy told a friend of ours upon specific request before booking that the pool area was dog friendly. After the second day we were kicked out quite rudely by an employee. No smile and "I'm so sorry guys but we have had some complaints about your dog". Just get your dog out of here now.
If you are looking for a place who will give your taxes back after 30 consecutive days (like the law says) you are looking at the wrong place. This property has its own tax policy which apparently supersedes the state and county laws of 30 days. They give you your month of taxes back after 90 days.
We have moved on to the Larkspur Landing and wish we had made the move much earlier.
There is a lot to be said for employees who are happy to go to work, put a smile on their face and go out of their way to make a person's day better...not worse.
Greatly disappointed by my stay at this Marriott which makes never want to stay at one of their properties again.

Wonder what I can do with 50 days of Marriott rewards....besides stay at a Marriott property.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank 744jennys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AartiRam, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Sacramento Cal Expo, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Jenny,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the TownePlace Suites Sacramento Cal Expo.

You indicated that your stay with us was unpleasant. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your expectations. Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit.

You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future. If I may be of assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact me.

Thank you,
Aarti Ram.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
1.7 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Cal Expo
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Sacramento Cal Expo
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Sacramento Cal Expo
Courtyard Sacramento Cal Expo
#10 of 81 in Sacramento
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sacramento
0.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Sacramento - Arden Way
1.6 mi away
Arden Star Hotel
Arden Star Hotel
#44 of 81 in Sacramento
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Sacramento Cal Expo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Sacramento Cal Expo

Property: TownePlace Suites Sacramento Cal Expo
Address: 1784 Tribute Rd, Sacramento, CA 95815-4402
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 81 Hotels in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Sacramento Cal Expo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Real Living! I would like to take this opportunity to introduce you to the TownePlace Suites Cal Expo, Sacramento CA. The TownePlace Suites is conveniently located to all major destinations of Sacramento, including Sacramento International Airport, Downtown Sacramento, California State Capital, and Old Town Sacramento. We offer 117 spacious suites that come in four different floor plans, ranging from Studio Suites with one queen bed or two queen beds, One Bedroom Suites and Two Bedroom Suites. Each of our hotel suites is uniquely designed for the extended stay travel in mind with fully quipped kitchens and the welcome home feel. We provide a complimentary local shuttle service Monday-Friday,within a 5-mile radius, which would be a great transportation resource for your personnel. There is also 775 sq. ft. of meeting space that can comfortably accommodate 25-30 people as well as catering services available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your TownePlace Suites Sacramento Cal Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Sacramento Cal Expo Hotel Sacramento
Sacramento Towneplace Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing