We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel with crappy parking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
Ranked #1 of 80 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Great hotel with crappy parking”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights on a business trip to Sacramento, one of my favorite cities. The hotel is a tall nondescript building at the eastern edge of downtown. But I was pleasantly surprised by how bright, warm and pleasant the lobby and my room was. All the staff I interacted with were exceptionally friendly and helpful. I loved my one bedroom suite. It was very well designed and comfortable. You could hear hallway noise in the living area, but once you were in the bedroom it was quiet, dark (with the curtains closed), with a comfortable quiet heating system and a great bed. Breakfast was good for a free breakfast and included lots of options and better quality foods than a best western/holiday inn. I would have had a fabulous stay if it wasn't for the parking situation. Parking is $17/night which is both too expensive for the hotel's location and waaaay too expensive for what you get. The hotel's parking spaces are on 3 of the top four floors of a 13 floor (7 main floors, 6 sub-floors) parking garage located next to the hotel. From the hotel, there's a sharp left turn and then to get into the lot an immediate turn right into a narrow opening against a tall concrete wall. It's a strange and difficult setup and I badly scraped the side of my rental car in the process. From the looks of that wall and the curb across from it, I'm not the only one to have trouble--there was lots of car paint, scratch marks, and crumbling concrete from other hotel guests. Then, guests are only allowed to park at the top so there's a long drive up which I fond frustrating as the garage is largely empty in the evenings. All of the spots were full except the top roofless level every time I tried to park (at 9pm, noon and 6pm). And because of the specific area leased by the hotel, none of the parking is both near the elevator and under a roof. Once you check into the hotel, you can use your key to access the garage from K St, between 15 and 16th. This is a typical garage entrance (and the only exit). It's a shame, because if they put a rubber bumper on the garage entrance and either dropped the price or leased lower floors, I would've loved this place. As it stands, I would recommend it if you don't have a car (although there are many hotels with a better walking location) or if you just need parking for the night and can park on the street. I'm pretty sure it's cheaper to park in that garage if you drive in the main entrance instead of dealing with the hotel so that's another option. For me, the stress of damaging a rental car was a distraction from my trip and makes it hard to rate this hotel highly.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smoranvi, General Manager at Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park, responded to this review, 1 November 2011
Thank you for your review! Your comments are very important to us and we always share them with them team. I understand the concern and challenges with the parking for our hotel, since the hotel does not own the garage we are limited on the options however we are looking at ways to improve this service to include the possibility of bringing back Valet Parking, but we want to be sure we do it right so if we add this service it will most likely be in January. We were delighted to hear that you do enjoy our hotel and we hope to see you when you return in the future.

Thank you for your feedback, and we hope you have safe travels!

Shelly Moranville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    510
    188
    57
    23
    12
See reviews for
180
107
41
375
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

My husband is a Marriott's reward member and we had to use our free certificate before it expired. We decided to book downtown just for the evening. This is a great location...we did not pay for parking because it is free after 6pm on the street and we did a late check in and early check out.

Our 1 bedroom suite with king bed was great. It had a full kitchen (with two stove burners) and a large stainless steel fridge. We were only there for the night, but this place would be great for an extended stay. The lobby staff was friendly and you are within walking distance to a lot of great restaurants.

The room has a small dining table and a desk...is was set up very nicely and was very clean.
Breakfast the next morning was fairly decent, although they could have improved on the traffic flow with food item condiments placed in various locations.

You can rent bikes in the lobby (we did not) and it also sits atop the Three Fires Lounge. My husband's beer was 4$ and my wine was 6$....not bad for a premium location.

I will recommend this to my out of towners on business...it's a great fit!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbique00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomball, Texas
Level Contributor
372 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

Check in was very pleasant, staff was extremely helpful although not very knowledgeable about the local area which really surprised me. I asked about a few attractions including
The horse and carriage ride but she knew nothing about this!

Breakfast was good, nice selection.

The rooms were of a nice size. I just loved the kitchen area even though we did not use it, it's nice to have that option. The rooms were very clean, modern and well maintained. Although the bed was very hard and difficult to sleep on.

Parking was just $17 per day which gave you in and out privledges.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank applestrudel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smoranvi, General Manager at Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park, responded to this review, 9 October 2011
Thank you so much for your review and feedback. I agree the one bedrooms are great rooms. The privacy of the bedroom and the additional tv, along with the kitchen make these very comfortable rooms to stay in when you are away from home. We do have a few new front desk team members; we will definately make it a priority to focus on the teams knowledge of the local area. It is certainly important for the team to be able to recommend activities in the area.

We look forward to having you stay with us again, when you visit Sacramento in the future.

Sincerely,

Shelly Moranville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merced, CA
Level Contributor
129 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

Stayed here last month. Idealy located in downtown Sacramento, next doors to the convention center and a few minutes from attractions such as Old Sacramento and Arden Faire Mall. Large rooms with modern fittings, a comfy bed and a flat screen TV. Room was neat and clean. The free breakfast was plentiful with a good selection of hot and cold items. The only minor gripe is that you have to self-park in the garage next doors as the valet service is not there any more. I will recommend this place for a business/leisure visit with family.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kst1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oroville, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

This hotel was great!!! Within view of sacramento convention center which made it really easy. We were checked in by Benjamin, the front desk supervisor, he was the nicest and most helpful front desk staff we've ever experienced. Breakfast was INCREDIBLE.... it far exceeded our highest expectations. Checkout was a breeze and all the staff was very nice. You could hear the patrons at the bar next door hollering here and there on friday and saturday night but as long as your not a really light sleeper it wont bother you.... overall a great experience and we will return every time we go to sacramento.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the corner of L and 15th may be quieter (due to nightlife in the area)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smoranvi, General Manager at Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park, responded to this review, 7 October 2011
I was delighted to hear about your experience! We are very fortunate to have a well trained staff that really puts guest satisfaction first. I will be sure to share your comments with the team so we can continue to celebrate their accomplishments.

We look forward to seeing you next time you are in Sacramento!

Sincerely,

Shelly Moranville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nevada
Level Contributor
125 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

We stayed for 3 nights. My expereince is what I had hoped for, Marriott did not surprise me. The staff was wonderful, the room (with separate living room/kitchen area) was perfect for our meetings. When we needed, towels, ice, extra chairs- no problem.
The only issue was the separate parking structure that had to connection to the hotel. But it was well lite. They do charge $17/day to park which I thought was high.
I would recommend the location and would stay there again,

Room Tip: the actually bedroom is small our kingsize bed filled every inch but the bed was great and very comf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

I stayed at this hotel for a convention for 5 days. I had a suite here that was reasonably priced that included a full kitchen, 40" flat screen TV, living room and the room included basic free wifi access and breakfast daily. The rooms are very clean and I had requested a room that did not face the nightclub as per other travelers reviews of this hotel due to noise from the club across the street. I had a room that faced the pool on the 11th floor and it was quiet except for a skirmish that occurred with a couple of drunk girls that got into a fight in the hallway at 2am and then pulled the fire alarm. Had to travel down 11 flights of stairs and the fire company came and investigated and the alarm was pulled by one of the girls. The hotel is within easy walking distance to the convention center and many area restaurants. The downtown area is clean and felt safe during the day. Never really traveled around at night since I was by myself. The basic Wifi access is very slow so you would need to upgrade to a fee for service wifi if you need fast internet. The breakfasts were great with choices of scrambled eggs, potatoes, sausage, egg mcmuffins, make your own waffles with toppings, variety of fruits, yogurt, bagelsl, juices and coffee. I would highly recommend staying here to anyone that may be looking to stay in the downtown area of Sacramento.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JS24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smoranvi, General Manager at Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park, responded to this review, 28 September 2011
Thank you for your review! I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am also excited to share that our internet woes will be resolved shortly. The hotel is working to upgrade our internet speeds and provide these new speeds across the board to our guests for free. Again, thank you and we hope to see you next time you are in Sacramento.

Shelly Moranville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 80 in Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
1.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
5.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Sacramento Airport-Natomas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park

Property: Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
Address: 1121 15th St, Sacramento, CA 95814-4011
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#4 Green Hotel in Sacramento
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#11 Family Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park 3*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at Sacramento's newly renovated Residence Inn that offers a full service experience in the heart of Downtown. Conveniently located one block from the State Capitol and the Convention Center, our downtown location offers world class restaurants, theaters, museums and city wide events all within walking distance. This beautiful 15-story hotel offers 235 spacious suites that include fully-equipped kitchens, living rooms with plenty of space for relaxing & entertaining. Our just remodeled 3 Fires Lounge located just off the lobby offers a lunch and dinner menu as well as in room dining. We make your stay more enjoyable with complimentary grocery shopping & on-site laundry facilities. Don't forget to join us for our complimentary hot breakfast buffet each morning. Relax by our pool or soak in the spa to melt tensions away. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, our friendly staff takes pride in exceeding your every expectation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown At Capitol Park Hotel Sacramento
Residence Inn Capitol Park
Sacramento Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing