We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not my favorite Residence Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
Ranked #1 of 81 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Not my favorite Residence Inn”
Reviewed 3 July 2012

As a Marriott Reward Platinum member you are supposed to be entitled to an automatic upgrade (when available). When I asked about this at the front desk I was told that my rate (I was with a group) did not qualify me for the upgrade. OK, I can accept that and checked into my studio. The rooms are fine but on the small size for a Residence Inn where the logo is “spread out”. There is entirely too much large furniture in the room making the space feel crowded. The closet is so narrow I could not close it without crushing my clothes, and forget about storing luggage.

The desk staff was very, very friendly with the exception of a manager who when asked a question about accommodating a simple request got very defensive and said something like “at your rate, you people will have to deal with that yourself”. You people? The entire time I was there the place was filled with large groups. Do they not want our business? I’ve only been spoken to like this one other time at a hotel, when I booked through Priceline and they seemed to resent the rate. I’ve stayed at various Marriott properties through business or leisure over 60 night so far this year - this experience did not warm me to this brand.

Other than that, decent enough property and close to the lovely Capital Park.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilysdads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback although I was very dissapointed to read your review. I am saddened that any of my team would use this phrase and I will definately talk with my managers and supervisors to ensure this is corrected immeditaely and other do not feel the way you did! I do hope next time you are in Sacramento you will give us another try so we can demonstrate this was a one time thing and not the normal occurance.

Thank you again for your gift of feedback!

Shelly Moranville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    526
    196
    59
    24
    14
See reviews for
187
109
41
393
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We were in town for a volleyball tournament at the Convention Center. We had stayed near the Expo Center at the beginning of the season and decided we wanted to be closer when we knew for sure we were playing at the Convention Center.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. The check-in process was very smooth. The parking was a little strange (parking garage next door), but we knew we were not going to need the car over our two day stay. The staff also allowed us to keep the car there even after we checked out. That was VERY HELPFUL.
The continental breakfast is one of the best we have experienced during the volleyball season. We stayed in quite a few hotels this past season. The breakfast was WONDERFUL!! So many options ... hot and cold. The breakfast staff was AMAZING!! They were constantly moving and keeping things full, taking away trash, etc.
We were in a one bedroom suite ... very nice accommodations!! The full kitchen was a plus!! We highly recommend this hotel!!! We will definitely stay here again if we end up in Sacramento next season.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merced California
Level Contributor
174 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

The hotel is situated ideally for business travelers needing access to nearly every State office in Sacramento. It is clean, and has a good breakfast and lounge. The staff are friendly and helpful; but.....on Friday and Saturday nights, the night clubs surrounding the hotel are packed (a good thing) until closing. From about 1:00 AM until 2:30 AM, there was too much yelling, on the street adjacent to the hotels. It is all fun for thoise involved; but, for jhose trying to sleep it is very distracting. We had a corner room (paid extra for view of the park) - and the corner is the worst place to be for the noise. Lesson learned - find another hotel for weekend stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bagpipemarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

I've stayed here twice for events at the Sacramento Convention Center. The first time, with two friends, we had a full-suite (two bedrooms, 2 baths, living area, kitchen) and it was perfect for us. This time, with my husband, I had what I think must be a "junior suite"--bed and living area and kitchenette. There's a desk and a small dining table. It is so much more comfortable than a plain hotel room and having a full-sized refrigerator, a real coffee maker, a microwave and stove was so handy! If you don't want to cook or re-heat, the Cafeteria 15L is right across the street, and the Garage is next door. The hotel lounge is pretty nice, too, and not crazy expensive (for wine at least). The easy access to the Convention Center is just icing on the cake! This is the only place I'll stay for future conventions and meetings in Sacramento.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the park. It's quite a pretty view through the trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pharrisslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL, USA
Level Contributor
212 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012 via mobile

The hotel is an ideal location if you have business downtown or at the Capitol. Rooms are decent and average sized but the beds were uncomfortable and the linens (towels and sheets) were old and rough.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chgotrvlr71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smoranvi, General Manager at Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Thank you for your review. I agree we have a perfect location in the city, the view of Capitol Park, the restaurants and night clubs in walking distance make it easy for our guests to get around without alot of effort. Regarding the sheets and towels, we noticed this as well and just last month we changed the company we use for our linen and we purchased several cases of brand new sheets and towels; out with the old and in with the new!! So sorry you did not get to experience the new stuff, but certainly if you retrun you will notice the difference.

Again, thanks for sharing your feedback and we hope to see you again soon!

Shelly Moranville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2012

I stayed here for a week in May/June and it was well above my expectations. Every member of the staff from the front desk to the bar to the housekeepers are helpful, positive, smiley, and really seem to want to help you and make your experience great. This is rare to be consistent across the board and for an extended period of time!

I've worked in hotels and restaurants my entire life and I have to say I have been so impressed by a staff as a whole while I was here. The hotel is in a great location, lots of activity around, easy to walk to places, it's clean and comfortable! The employees want you to feel comfortable. Every question I had, every request I made, was met above and beyond my expectations and with a smile. Stay here!

Room Tip: I was offered to change to a higher room and didn't take it, but if you stay on the second floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LVE_EVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smoranvi, General Manager at Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Thank you so very much for your review, I don't think I could agree with you more! As the General Manager here I am so very proud of our entire staff and the care they give our guests. I can tell you each one of them takes great pride in our hotel and making sure our guests feel safe and comfortable while away from home. I am truly fortunate to be surrounded by so many good people! I will promise to share your comments with the entire team at our daily huddle!

We hope to see you again soon!

Shelly Moranville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Bragg
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Every year we come to Sacramento to attend the Convention of Jehovah's Witnesses at the Convention Center, we stay here. The location to the Convention center can't be beat. Almost right across the street. The rooms are very clean, well maintained and spacious. Having the kitchen is very handy. Great hot breakfast. Staff is extremely kind and accomidating.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank super8fortbragg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 81 in Sacramento
1,547 reviews
1.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
5.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Sacramento Airport-Natomas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park

Property: Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
Address: 1121 15th St, Sacramento, CA 95814-4011
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#4 Green Hotel in Sacramento
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#11 Family Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park 3*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at Sacramento's newly renovated Residence Inn that offers a full service experience in the heart of Downtown. Conveniently located one block from the State Capitol and the Convention Center, our downtown location offers world class restaurants, theaters, museums and city wide events all within walking distance. This beautiful 15-story hotel offers 235 spacious suites that include fully-equipped kitchens, living rooms with plenty of space for relaxing & entertaining. Our just remodeled 3 Fires Lounge located just off the lobby offers a lunch and dinner menu as well as in room dining. We make your stay more enjoyable with complimentary grocery shopping & on-site laundry facilities. Don't forget to join us for our complimentary hot breakfast buffet each morning. Relax by our pool or soak in the spa to melt tensions away. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, our friendly staff takes pride in exceeding your every expectation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown At Capitol Park Hotel Sacramento
Residence Inn Capitol Park
Sacramento Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing