We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient place to stay if doing business @ Capitol Park”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
Ranked #1 of 81 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Convenient place to stay if doing business @ Capitol Park”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We recently stayed at this property while on a business trip to Sacramento. The best thing about this property is it's convenient location. You can walk to almost every government building from this hotel. You can also walk to so many dining options around the area. From the front door of hotel turn left and around the corner you will find several dining options. The only thing about the hotel that I did not like is the parking situation. Although the 7-floor garage is next door, I found it uncomfortable. You have to take the stinky elevator to the ground level and enter the hotel from the street or an alley... and there is a $17 parking fee to park in the garage. However, there is no other choice but park at their garage.

The rooms are good sized & comfortable. We stayed in a one bedroom suite. It had a kitchenette, fridge, dishwasher, stove top, pots, dishes & utensils. Also had a small dining & living room area. Overall, the room is comfortable.

This property serves daily FREE hot & cold breakfast. Don't expect much though... they serve the typical "corporate" style breakfast. Cereals, breads, scrambled & hard boiled egg, sausage, oatmeal. Well, it is Free ... so don't have high expectations. But it is quick & good enough to start a busy & hectic day of meetings.

Lastly, overall, since I am a Marriott Gold Elite member trying to earn permanent Platinum level, I would still stay at a Marriott Property. Otherwise, I would stay at the Embassy Suites. It is right there at the heart of Old Town Sacramento & on the river.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the higher floors. The bar at the lobby can be very loud!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VegasPinay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    526
    196
    60
    24
    14
See reviews for
187
109
41
393
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
469 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

By no means a bargain, this business hotel lack charm and personality and is the epitome of bland. However, it is well located, has convenient off-street parking (at a fee; do your best to get the charge waived) and provides an efficient, clean stay. The provision of cooking facilities is a boon and maybe well suited to a business stay for a few days. Street side rooms can be a little noisy (I was on the 9th floor) owing to the bar across the street. Staff were efficient and friendly. Breakfast was basic. Nothing to see here folks, move along.

Room Tip: Street side rooms can be a little noisy (I was on the 9th floor) owing to the bar across the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FreshEire A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smoranvi, General Manager at Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. Your comments are extremely important to us. I was disappointed to read you were not very impressed with our hotel and we will certainly take a look at what things we can be doing differently to provide a better experience in the future. We certainly want our guests to leave with a wow feeling, my apologies this did not happen during your stay. Thank you again for your feedback.
Shelly Moranville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crescent City, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

If you are looking for the best place to stay near the Capital this is it. The rooms are great, parking is easy and the service is wonderful. Trust me, I've stayed at most all the hotels and this is the best.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeff3239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville North Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Loved the Residence Inn during a recent stay for the RCMA conference. Great to have the easy convenience of a Residence Inn AND downtown. Tim at the front desk was very helpful with bags and boxes. Would highly recommend this hotel any length of stay downtown!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sescovitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Hats off to Virgie and her team for helping us with our recent business travel. Her ability to accommodate our every changing needs and schedules is truly appreciated. Thank you!

The property is well located for downtown, I just wish it wasn't booked full so often - hard to get into.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smoranvi, General Manager at Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience and interaction with Virgie. I will be sure Virgie gets your comments and we will share your review with the entire team. We are very fortunate to have such a great team of people working for us and taking care of our guests. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you the next time you are in town!

Shelly Moranville, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, NC
Level Contributor
376 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

First class Residence inn. High rise hotel style, big city feel, in house bar and restaurant, nice pool area, so close to many restaurants and nightlife. A little pricey and a $17 dollar parking fee, but you can't beat the location. Great for business or weekend fun in Sacramento.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Based on the recent reviews, I was honestly a bit underwhelmed by my experience here. While the hotel was clean and newly renovated, I was surprised by how cold and unhelpful the front desk staff was. They generally seemed disinterested in helping me out and they weren't that friendly. Not what I'm used to from most Marriott properties. Location is great and the included breakfast is a nice addition. Beds are on the stiff side and I didn't find them that comfortable. All in all, a decent stay, but wasn't blown away like some of the other reviewers.

Also: one thing to consider...the hotel is near a popular local bar and we had a decent amount of noise (even though we were on the 9th floor) on Saturday night until about 2am.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor to avoid noise from local bars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank p_tone75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smoranvi, General Manager at Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thank you for your recent review. I truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and I will certainly share it with our team. We strive to provide excellent service at all times and I was dissappointed to see this was not your experience while stying with us. It is important the staff receive this feedback so they can continue to grow.

Thank you again, and I do hope you will return to see how your feedback has helped us improve.

Sincerely, Shelly Moranville General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 81 in Sacramento
1,549 reviews
1.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
5.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Sacramento Airport-Natomas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park

Property: Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
Address: 1121 15th St, Sacramento, CA 95814-4011
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#4 Green Hotel in Sacramento
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#11 Family Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park 3*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at Sacramento's newly renovated Residence Inn that offers a full service experience in the heart of Downtown. Conveniently located one block from the State Capitol and the Convention Center, our downtown location offers world class restaurants, theaters, museums and city wide events all within walking distance. This beautiful 15-story hotel offers 235 spacious suites that include fully-equipped kitchens, living rooms with plenty of space for relaxing & entertaining. Our just remodeled 3 Fires Lounge located just off the lobby offers a lunch and dinner menu as well as in room dining. We make your stay more enjoyable with complimentary grocery shopping & on-site laundry facilities. Don't forget to join us for our complimentary hot breakfast buffet each morning. Relax by our pool or soak in the spa to melt tensions away. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, our friendly staff takes pride in exceeding your every expectation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown At Capitol Park Hotel Sacramento
Residence Inn Capitol Park
Sacramento Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing