We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Service and Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amber House Inn of Midtown
Ranked #1 of 14 Sacramento B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
1 review
“Best Service and Location”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Amber House staff treated us excellently, the location is perfectly quiet and secluded feeling even though it is within walking distance of most of the downtown area, and we were so comfortable! We really enjoyed the reading room, the evening beverage and cookie service, and the delicious breakfast served course by course.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerrynM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    55
    19
    7
    1
See reviews for
40
230
23
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Galt, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

First off i will say that my wife loved this place and thinks it was worth the money, so that is what really counts since we went here for her. I really enjoyed the room. We had a really nice Jacuzzi, in the room. There was alot of room in the bathroom. The main bedroom was really small but i guess that is to be expected. The door had to have two deadbolts because otherwise it wouldn't stay shut. I loved the breakfast, it was the most fancy one i have ever had.

Over all it was pretty good. I am not sure it is worth the prices we paid for it. They had alot of extra benefits that they offers such as turn down service. We didnt get that or some of the other amenities. I think i may have been to red-neck for this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anewman87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmberHouseBB, Owner at Amber House Inn of Midtown, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
We are glad that your wife, especially, and you enjoyed your stay. You are certainly not "too red-neck" for Amber House. We do offer many services for our guests, many of which are long forgotten in mainstream hospitality these days. We discuss all of these options during check-in but will endeavor to provide more information about some of the less common services so that all of our guests can take advantage of the pampering available at Amber House. Everyone, including you, deserves all that we can offer during your stay at our Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Never stayed here before. Will always stay here going forward. Centrally located, innocuously perched in a quiet and safe neighborhood. I would think that there are more than twenty + restaurants within a five block radius, safe and secure for walking. Less than .8 mile from Capitol Square. A staff that has only your comfort in mind. A breakfast to die for in any number of combinations, served outside on the porch, inside or in your room. A very affordable and delicious wine list. Brandy in a wonderful decanter for that nice late night sip on the porch. Rooms that are accommodating, spacious baths, and daily room service. Judith, Carol, Dianna and everyone else just want to ensure that you have a grand time.

Room Tip: If you enjoy walking, if you enjoy being assimilated into a neighborhood, if you enjoy a great and r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sacramento
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Our small Sacramento company (15) held our all-day staff meeting here at the Amber House. We wanted to get away from the office to discuss our future goals and work plan. It is a beautiful place both inside and out. The meeting room and the entire Inn is nicely appointed with antique furnishings and comfortable chairs/sofas, with beautiful floors and windows. We were served both breakfast and lunch; the food was exquisite. The staff is friendly and helpful. We cannot recommend it more highly. It was a bit tight for 15 people in the meeting room; 13 would be better. Other than that, it was a wonderful experience. Our visit was several years ago, but we did not write a review at the time of our visit. We are taking the time to write one now because of the fond memories we have of our experience.

Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank marilyn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We spent a lovely night at Amber House in mid-May. The building is beautiful and the service was warm, friendly, and helpful. We requested an early check-in since we had to attend an afternoon wedding and they very kindly accommodated us. We stayed in the Emily Dickinson room, which was beautiful. And the breakfast the next morning was delicious! Wish we had more reasons to find ourselves in Sacramento and stay at this welcoming inn again.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Emily Dickinson room which was in the back--nice and quiet and sunny in the afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samantha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antibes, France
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Sacramento is not an exciting city - so that's a good idea to spend the night in a very personal place rather than in a business hotel. This B&B, owned by Swiss people, made us feel like home. Wood & brown tones, huge jaccuzzi in the bathroom, nice breakfast on the shadow terrace in a quiet street. Restaurants & bars 1 block away in Downtown. I do not think I would ever go back to Sacramento - but if you have to, book a room there.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cat r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgary
Level 6 Contributor
586 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We are so glad that we didn't want to stay in a hotel in Sacramento the other day; we happened to find Amber House listed in the AAA Guide for lodging in Sacramento. We called while on the road and reserved the Wordsworth Room - it is the only room with a king size bed. The bed was heavenly...incredibly comfortable and inviting with lovely linens. We had a large old fashioned soaker tub and a stand alone shower in the bathroom. Homemade chocolate chip cookies were delivered to our room while we were out having dinner. Coffee (or whatever you prefer) is left outside your door prior to your waking up. Breakfast was on the front porch at your requested time and consisted of a nice orange and almond salad to start followed by eggs benedict...and coffee and juice. I would highly recommend this bed and breakfast: the staff is friendly and welcoming and helpful; the rooms are very clean, comfortable and well appointed and the food was terrific. What more could one want?! We were so glad we just happened to look in the guide book that day!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skychaserCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 81 in Sacramento
1,581 reviews
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
1.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber House Inn of Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber House Inn of Midtown

Property: Amber House Inn of Midtown
Address: 1315 22nd St, between Capitol Ave. & N St, Sacramento, CA 95816-5717 (Formerly Amber House Bed and Breakfast Inn)
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Amber House Inn of Midtown 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two beautifully restored historic homes in a quiet-turn-of-the-century neighborhood, seven blocks from the State Capitol and Convention Center. Marble tiled bathrooms with Jacuzzi bathtubs for two, some rooms also feature fireplaces and private patios. Gourmet breakfast at the time of your choice, high speed internet access, parking. The only 4 Diamond Inn in Sacramento is the place for business and pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Amber House Inn of Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amber House Hotel Sacramento
Amber House b&b Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing