We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sacramento comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amber House Inn of Midtown
Ranked #1 of 14 Sacramento B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank George J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 429 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at Amber House after attending a musical in town.
The staff work there, no owners present, but the service was good although the lady who checked us in was a bit stiff. Otherwise excellent service with coffee at the door waiting in the morning and a great breakfast served either in your room or in the dining room.
The main house is beautiful, very nicely decorated.
Our room wasn't very large, but the bed was great and decor all very tasteful.
This is a great spot for a night away for a couple, or even if you have business downtown.
We looked around at several of the other rooms and all were nice and some were larger if you wanted to stay for several days and needed more space.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Stayed here on our wedding night and 10 years later for our anniversary:). Everything was great. Excellent dinner recommendation to The Press. Returned to chilled champagne. The only change I would suggest is clarification on the process for the massage appointments. We had a 7pm appointment and expected everything to be setup when we returned from dinner. We would have returned earlier had we known the therapist wouldn't have access to the room (which cut into 10-15 minutes of massage time).

Room Tip: I think I preferred the Vivaldi room to the Beethoven.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bonnyjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

Amber House is a lovely B&B set in a very quiet neighborhood but within a modest walking distance of the capital. The room we were in was nicely furnished and very comfortable. The breakfasts were uniformly delicious (but see comment below) and the service was gracious and warm.

There are several things, none major, about Amber House you should consider before you book. First, it is not inexpensive but has the drawbacks one finds at many bed and breakfasts: noise from other guests that is unavoidable and louder than one usually finds in a hotel. Second, you have no control over the temperature of your room, although they will graciously adjust the temperature of the entire house. Three, as noted by other reviewers and defensively responded to by the hotel, sone of the breakfasts do not have some items that you might expect at a B&B, like meats or breads or pastries. Sometimes they did, other times, the breakfasts were skimpy, though delicious. Four, they do not put out nibbles or food in the afternoon or early evening like many B&Bs do. That didn't bother me but it might you. They do bake delicious chocolate chip cookies every evening and bring them to your rooom so that might suffice for you. Five, and more significant, we stayed in their second house which, tho the room possibly similar to ones in the main house, deprived us of tge reason to be in a B&B: common rooms you can use during the day. Though yiu have access to it from across the street, you probably won't use it as a practical matter. Plus, we faced exclusion from using it on several occasions, because of a function being held there. So we had no place even to meet our daughter who was passing through Sacramento and we went to a Starbucks instead. We only got a sweet, "you can't", which sounded more like "too bad".

While Amber House was excellent in many respects, you might evaluate whether you'd be just as happy in a comparatively priced hotel, particularly if you cannot stay on the main house ir uf a wedding is booked.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank steve g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmberHouseBB, Owner at Amber House Inn of Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay. We appreciate all your feedback as we continuously strive to provide our guests the best service and experience. We thought it important to note for future guests reading your review that it is VERY unusual that we have 2 events back to back in our main house, especially since we host only a few events per year. Unless the party books the entire Inn, our public areas are available again after 4 pm for our in house guests, as was the case during your stay. We apologize that you were not able to use the facilities at all times and met your family offsite.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We loved the stay at this place, two houses hold the guest rooms with a kitchen available for customer use. We had left overs from travelling and Judith was kind enough to re-heat and supply us with plates and napkins for our dinner. The 2 person tub was a bit tight for two adults but hey...the candles, chocolate covered strawberries and champagne were amazing! Our bed was comfortable, the weather was perfect with the windows open (even though we were told if we wanted the thermostat changed, that was just fine). We were not bothered at all; by staff or guests and enjoyed a lot of private time in our room. It was a great romantic vacation. We woud absolutely stay there again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank npetrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I can't say enough good things about Amber House! My husband and I recently took my aging mother there after seeing the sandhill cranes at Woodbridge and en route to see the snow geese at Gray Lodge the following day. It was the perfect place to stop! It's a wonderful old craftsman, lovingly restored. Its within walking distance of a number of good restaurants. The rooms are gracious and charming. We felt so pampered with fresh baked cookies in the evening, coffee brought to the room in the morning, and scrumptious granola, fresh fruit and scones served by a warm fire. This was followed with a goodbye hug from the friendly staff and we were encouraged to return - something we hope to do!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hslettel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Details of the place are available on other reviews so aside from the great personal service, our room lacked a way to warm it up as the entire house is controlled by one locked thermostat so we were left a bit uncomfortable. The mattress could have been a "pillow top" but wasn't and was NOT comfortable. Perhaps a down comforter on the bed would have helped us get warm as the bedding was a bit thin. For the price, the included breakfast could have included some rolls or toast. Suggest that extra blanket(s) be left in the room "just in case".

Room Tip: Bring a blanket
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmberHouseBB, Owner at Amber House Inn of Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear John M
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Inn. We enjoyed taking care of you during your one night stay. We are sorry that the temperature in your room was not satisfactory. The night of your stay was actually the first night of the season we had the heat on (as per your request). Our house has various zones for heating/air (not the entire house is heated at the same time) we can adjust it by floor and keep it at an average temperature to please most of our guests. We encourage our guests to let us know their preferences - warmer/colder, our Innkeepers are here for you 24/7. We are sorry that we were not aware that you wanted it warmer, it would have been an easy adjustment. All our rooms feature european down comforters and additional down comforters and extra blankets are available at any time from our innkeepers. The mattress in your room is equipped with a NovaForm Mattress topper. All rooms in our Musicians Manor Home have these toppers, rooms in our Poets Refuge however have Pillow Top mattresses. We have noted your preference in your guest profile and will recommend a different room for your next stay.
Our 2 course gourmet breakfasts usually do not include a side of toast/rolls but we always have some bread products available upon request and they can easily be served while you enjoy your breakfast.
As a 4 Diamond Inn, we strive to make our guests stay as enjoyable as possible and anticipate any needs in advance. We encourage our guests to let us know any additional service/requests that may arise during your stay and we will be happy to accommodate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 82 in Sacramento
1,756 reviews
1.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
0.8 mi away
The Sterling Hotel Sacramento
The Sterling Hotel Sacramento
#44 of 82 in Sacramento
76 reviews
6.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Sacramento Airport-Natomas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber House Inn of Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber House Inn of Midtown

Address: 1315 22nd St, between Capitol Ave. & N St, Sacramento, CA 95816-5717 (Formerly Amber House Bed and Breakfast Inn)
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Sacramento
Price Range: £142 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amber House Inn of Midtown 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two beautifully restored historic homes in a quiet-turn-of-the-century neighborhood, seven blocks from the State Capitol and Convention Center. Marble tiled bathrooms with Jacuzzi bathtubs for two, some rooms also feature fireplaces and private patios. Gourmet breakfast at the time of your choice, high speed internet access, parking. The only 4 Diamond Inn in Sacramento is the place for business and pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Amber House Inn of Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amber House b&b Inn
Amber House Hotel Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing