We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming, Warm” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amber House Inn of Midtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amber House Inn of Midtown
Ranked #1 of 14 Sacramento B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Calistoga, Napa Valley, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charming, Warm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Amber House a couple of weeks ago. We got there about 7PM and were greeted by a charming young woman. She showed us around and took our order for breakfast, asking if we would like to eat in the dining room or have room service. The room was cozy and inviting. My husband had arranged for one of the "special packages" to be in the room. It was delightful. We were very close to many restaurants and walked to dinner. When we returned from dinner, there was warm cookies waiting for us.

Upon waking in the morning, there was coffee and orange juice waiting outside our door (nice plus). Breakfast was delicious and we met the owner, Judith and enjoyed talking with her. She has done a wonderful job making the Amber House warm, comfortable and enjoyable.

We highly recommend when in Sacramento that guests stay there.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChelseaGardenInn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    47
    15
    7
    1
See reviews for
37
203
22
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Calistoga, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We spent one night at the Amber House Bed & Breakfast last week the night before a meeting in Sacramento. We found the opportunity via the CABBI Guide and our stay certainly exceeded our expectations. Very nice room, extremely comfortable bed, wonderful breakfast--and all at a very reasonable price. Great experiences as well with the night Innkeeper (good restaurant suggestions in walking distance) and the Owner at Breakfast. I really appreciated the options provided for the morning beverage and meal--fresh squeezed OJ and eggs benedict with a wonderful fresh fruit salad. The Inn actually has two buildings--we look forward to our next stay in the Craftsman style main building--wonderful architecture and furnishings! Thanks for everything, Judith!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dac2665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed just one night as part of a road trip. We found the house and room attractively furbished, the bathroom with the antique bath and separate shower splendid. The innkeeper was really friendly and helpful. The cookie delivered to the room was a nice touch, though too close to dinner for our liking. The breakfast comprised a melon bowl, followed by an egg dish well presented on the porch.

We found the parking easy (and innkeeper was helpful again) and the area quiet and easy to walk to the Capitol and other sights.

Our only gripe was that there was nowhere at all to put anything away in the room. This would have presented a problem if we were staying more than one night. There was a small wardrobe with two hangers, used by the dressing gowns, two small occasional tables and no safe. However this did not detract from the enjoyment of our stay which was very pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fussy_People
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
75 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at Amber House after attending a musical in town.
The staff work there, no owners present, but the service was good although the lady who checked us in was a bit stiff. Otherwise excellent service with coffee at the door waiting in the morning and a great breakfast served either in your room or in the dining room.
The main house is beautiful, very nicely decorated.
Our room wasn't very large, but the bed was great and decor all very tasteful.
This is a great spot for a night away for a couple, or even if you have business downtown.
We looked around at several of the other rooms and all were nice and some were larger if you wanted to stay for several days and needed more space.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Stayed here on our wedding night and 10 years later for our anniversary:). Everything was great. Excellent dinner recommendation to The Press. Returned to chilled champagne. The only change I would suggest is clarification on the process for the massage appointments. We had a 7pm appointment and expected everything to be setup when we returned from dinner. We would have returned earlier had we known the therapist wouldn't have access to the room (which cut into 10-15 minutes of massage time).

Room Tip: I think I preferred the Vivaldi room to the Beethoven.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bonnyjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

Amber House is a lovely B&B set in a very quiet neighborhood but within a modest walking distance of the capital. The room we were in was nicely furnished and very comfortable. The breakfasts were uniformly delicious (but see comment below) and the service was gracious and warm.

There are several things, none major, about Amber House you should consider before you book. First, it is not inexpensive but has the drawbacks one finds at many bed and breakfasts: noise from other guests that is unavoidable and louder than one usually finds in a hotel. Second, you have no control over the temperature of your room, although they will graciously adjust the temperature of the entire house. Three, as noted by other reviewers and defensively responded to by the hotel, sone of the breakfasts do not have some items that you might expect at a B&B, like meats or breads or pastries. Sometimes they did, other times, the breakfasts were skimpy, though delicious. Four, they do not put out nibbles or food in the afternoon or early evening like many B&Bs do. That didn't bother me but it might you. They do bake delicious chocolate chip cookies every evening and bring them to your rooom so that might suffice for you. Five, and more significant, we stayed in their second house which, tho the room possibly similar to ones in the main house, deprived us of tge reason to be in a B&B: common rooms you can use during the day. Though yiu have access to it from across the street, you probably won't use it as a practical matter. Plus, we faced exclusion from using it on several occasions, because of a function being held there. So we had no place even to meet our daughter who was passing through Sacramento and we went to a Starbucks instead. We only got a sweet, "you can't", which sounded more like "too bad".

While Amber House was excellent in many respects, you might evaluate whether you'd be just as happy in a comparatively priced hotel, particularly if you cannot stay on the main house ir uf a wedding is booked.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank steve g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmberHouseBB, Owner at Amber House Inn of Midtown, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay. We appreciate all your feedback as we continuously strive to provide our guests the best service and experience. We thought it important to note for future guests reading your review that it is VERY unusual that we have 2 events back to back in our main house, especially since we host only a few events per year. Unless the party books the entire Inn, our public areas are available again after 4 pm for our in house guests, as was the case during your stay. We apologize that you were not able to use the facilities at all times and met your family offsite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 80 in Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
1.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
1.5 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
0.8 mi away
The Sterling Hotel Sacramento
The Sterling Hotel Sacramento
#40 of 80 in Sacramento
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber House Inn of Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber House Inn of Midtown

Property: Amber House Inn of Midtown
Address: 1315 22nd St, between Capitol Ave. & N St, Sacramento, CA 95816-5717 (Formerly Amber House Bed and Breakfast Inn)
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Amber House Inn of Midtown 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two beautifully restored historic homes in a quiet-turn-of-the-century neighborhood, seven blocks from the State Capitol and Convention Center. Marble tiled bathrooms with Jacuzzi bathtubs for two, some rooms also feature fireplaces and private patios. Gourmet breakfast at the time of your choice, high speed internet access, parking. The only 4 Diamond Inn in Sacramento is the place for business and pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Amber House Inn of Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amber House Hotel Sacramento
Amber House b&b Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing