We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn and Spa at Parkside
Ranked #2 of 14 Sacramento B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed 25 November 2011

My husband and I had heard of the Inn (I got to see it several years ago on a home tour) and thought it seemed like a good place to spend our wedding night. We bought a Living Social special for $169, plus $100 off the $299 "couples spa package." We stayed in the room called Refresh. The room itself was nicely decorated, though we were surprised to find the shower and sink in the corner of the room. It was also way too warm. We slept with the windows open all night (in November) and never got cold.

The worst part about the room was that it had ants. I first noticed them in the evening near the sink/shower area. By morning, they were in the bed. When my husband expressed our displeasure at checkout, we were told the manager was out of town and would call us the next day. Two weeks have passed--no call.

The "2-hour" spa package is not two hours. We had an okay massage for less than an hour, then a salt scrub for about 15 minutes. Then they walked us back to our own room to sit in the Jacuzzi tub--how does that translate to a two-hour treatment when you end up in the room you've already paid for after and hour and 10 minutes?? (The ants loved the leftover chocolate from the strawberries.) So, at the regular price of $300, you've just paid $150 apiece (plus tip) for an okay massage. Plus, the salt from the scrub gets all over the floor, so you get to scrunch around on that the rest of the night and if you don't keep it off of your feet, it gets in the bed.

The next morning, breakfast was delivered on time, but there was no place to put the trays except on the bed. The balcony was out as it was November and had rained the day before. so my husband brought the little patio table into the room. There is a small kitchen outside the room with a coffeemaker, etc., except that there was no coffee in the cannister. We then decided to make tea except that there were only three coffee cups and all of them were dirty.

There also was not enough hot water--and I don't think the inn was full.

We received three different itemized statements--one by email before we went, one when we checked in, and another at checkout. Not one of them correctly stated how much we were being charged for the room and services. Fortunately, it appears they ultimately charged us the correct amount.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    36
    15
    8
    11
See reviews for
13
184
12
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

My husband and I have been coming to this B&B for years. We were really fond of Diane, the previous owner, sadly she lost the property in foreclosure and it's now owned by a corporation. The rooms are still lovely. The newer side of the B&B is still our favorite by far. The rooms are soooo nicely appointed. Very comfortable very chic. The older side is my least favorite, simply because some of the rooms are small. The last one we stayed in only had a tub, but the room is still nice. The food is still very good. It doesn't quite feel the same without Diane there. Hospitality is still the name of the game with a good B&B, it doesn't quite have that anymore.

Room Tip: the newer side is nicer, the rooms are more modern and roomy. Best room at the B&B is the "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happytodoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Beyond happy with this place!!!! I got a living social deal and stayed at the Dream room with my hubby for our two year wedding anniversary. I couldn't have been more pleased. Check in was a breeze, the concerige (can't remember her name, EEK!) was super friendly and very informative. She led us to our room (Dream) and we were stunned. Beautiful and immaculate!!! It was amazing!!! The bathroom is super beautiful with a marble shower that has 5 shower heads, which was awesome! It comes all with Molton Brown products, which are amazing products and very pricey! Our room came with a fire place, beautiful desk, plasma TV, a super comfy, well dressed bed, a huge jacuzzi tub and a chaise to sit on. Not to mention decorated wonderfully. Breakfast was beyond delicious and we were super stuffed. Nothing really to complain...people say the neighborhood isn't great, but I have no idea why they would say that, it wasn't bad at all (I am from Stockton, so everything else is better,LOL). Parking can be hard as there isn't a lot, but we managed. Also, our room was at the very top, and you have to climb a big flight of steep stairs, so be careful! When we checked out, I quickly peeked into the Kiss and Refresh rooms (they were being cleaned) and they were super beautiful. All in all, we were so happy and we definitely be back again!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kpotter_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orangevale, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

This was a surprise trip for my wife for our anniversary. I looked at going further out of town but decided to stay close to home. We had a great stay. We checked in around 6pm and went out for dinner downtown. It was nice to be able to just take cabs and not worry about parking. The room was great. There was a nice selection of styles and amenities to choose from. Somehow we got upgraded which was great. After our night out, we woke up to breakfast in bed and had a couples massage later that morning. I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of service and at the value for money. It's been 4 days and we are both still smiling.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlauben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Dorado Hills, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Visited the Parkside after purchasing a Groupon deal that included a couples massage. The inn is very nice and rooms were very clean and nicely furnished. Couples massage with jacuzzi bath and chocolate strawberries was perfect. Would definitely return for a local getaway.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jgvarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2011

the place was nice. tucked away. and secluded. one room the kiss was beautiful and updated. the other room happiness was older but superb. the staff was lovely and accomidating. for the value and amenities it felt like a great deal!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigjohnson916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

My husband and I like to come here when we want to get away for the night without the kids but don't want to leave town. It has an incredibly relaxing ambience, and if you are on the fence about which bed and breakfast in town to choose, I would definitely go with this one. Yummy breakfasts, too! Check out the last minute rates on their website.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenjram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 81 in Sacramento
1,612 reviews
0.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
1.1 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn and Spa at Parkside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn and Spa at Parkside

Property: Inn and Spa at Parkside
Address: 2116 6th St, Sacramento, CA 95818-1244
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn and Spa at Parkside 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Parkside bed and breakfast is an urban oasis of relaxation and renewal. Ideally located for business and pleasure, this chic and elegant bed and breakfast includes the Historic Fong Mansion as the Main house plus the Villa Building next door, added in 2007. From the moment you enter, the urban world of chaos is left behind. Calmness permeates you, enhanced by the seamless blend of Eastern and Western instrumentals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Inn and Spa at Parkside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn And Spa At Parkside Hotel Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing