We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn and Spa at Parkside

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn and Spa at Parkside
Ranked #2 of 14 Sacramento B&B and Inns
california
1 review
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2009

Thank you to the Staff at Inn and Spa at Parkside. Your care and attention to ensure that we had a great anniversary made our stay that much more special. The spa was great and we loved the "Dream" room. Wow! Breakfast in Bed. Yahoo! Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Makenziesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    32
    12
    8
    11
See reviews for
13
149
9
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
sacramento
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2009

This was my third time staying at the Inn over the last two years and definetly won't be my last. I have stayed in two different rooms and they were both amazing. The rooms are very spacious with all the bells and wistles. Cal King bed, great bedding, jacuzzi tub, flat screen tv with cable and surprisingly DVR, great shower and lots of little extras. The location is very good. Across the street is a great park for jogging or just taking a stroll, and the Inn is in walking distance of many great Sacramento restaurants and bars.

The staff at the Inn is amazing. From the Inn keeper to the owner everyone was extremely nice and made us feel at home. They have a wine and cheese hour everynight with good wines and a nice selection of cheese,crakers, and salami. The owner Diane is always a blast.

I have had a couple of treatments from the estitician Kristin and they were amazing. She does a great job of making you very comfortable and I always leave feeling extremely relaxed.

If that wasn't enough they come to your room in the morning and serve breakfast in bed. Now that is service. Coffee, juice, fruit, and oh yeh eggs, bacon, pigs in a blanket, chiliqueles(never mind the spelling its good).

I obviously love this place and can't say enough great things about it. Go you won't regret it. Ask for the room Dream if you are in a romantic mood, it is the best.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sactochunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fair Oaks, CA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2009

A bed & breakfast is a home away from home, and we want it to feel like our home, not someone else’s. A great example of this is the Inn & Spa at Parkside in downtown Sacramento. My guess is this was probably our 50th stay in a bed & breakfast since the early 1980s. We usually shun hotels because of their predictability. Parkside is a refreshing change from that. We celebrated our 35th wedding anniversary at Parkside and will remember pleasant memories that will last a lifetime.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ron_weakley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Jolla, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2009

I had a last minute trip to Sacramento for business reasons and needed a convenient, comfortable place to stay. For a stressful trip, this was the perfect antidote. The staff was professional when I called, I got a same day reservation discount. Everything was easy. The reservation, parking was convenient and free, the place is centrally located and my room, which was the lowest rung, was anything but. The huge bed with a canopy had this amazing mattress. I felt like I was sleeping on a cloud. The staff was helpful; even calling back after I hung up after answering my question on my own. The temperature was comfortable, even though I am used to A/C, which in my new home of San Diego, is something people seem to be used to living without. (I can't.) The fan was adequate though and I did not wake up in a sweat!
What else. The building was stunning. Old and charming, but clean and not over-accessorized. My room had a large canopy, kind of a safari theme, and a full length mirror in the bathroom, cozy robes. The mirror above the bed could have seemed cheesy (esp hilarious, since I was by myself and clearly this was a romantic room for 2), but wasn't. And breakfast was offered in the room or downstairs. I opted for an early in-room breakfast, which was DELICIOUS. Was just what I wanted. I'm an oatmeal/whole grain breakfast fan. And there were many good selections of teas, so I was happy. My oatmeal, fresh fruit, orange juice and a Belgian waffle. Couldn't believe I scarfed it all down. But somehow I managed. I didn't check out the spa features, but happily enjoyed what else was to offer. Did not turn on the TV once, but listened to the spa-like relaxation music the whole time to combat any stress of my trip. There was free wine/cheese/crackers at night also.
The owner chatted with me a bit, asking about my day. Was kind and thoughtful, but not overly intrusive. I am usually a bit more social, but just was so tired that I happily hibernated in my cozy room.

I arrived way early and was just going to drop off my bags, but the host checked my room and said I could check in now. They were very accomodating and even though I didn't take advantage of the lovely backyard/porch area and this peaceful sitting area outside my room, it was just what I needed.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abby77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2009

I was lucky enough to find the Inn at Parkside about a year ago and don't stay anywhere else when I'm in Sacramento for business. Diane and her staff are fantastic and always go above and beyond to ensure that my stays are wonderful. The rooms are very comfortable (Destiny is my personal favorite) and the beds are incredible--most comfortable bed I've ever slept in! If you are a business traveler, give this place a try. Its such a refreshing change from being in a hotel and you can't beat having a gourmet breakfast in a warm and comfortable environment.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Swtthg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2009

My girlfriend took me there for my birthday at the end of Nov. We stayed in, "Dream" which is the name of one of their suites. They name all of their suites there are no numbers. Our room had a heavenly king size bed with a temperpedic top. There was a large jetted tub in the room. The bathroom had a 5 head shower/spa. The only hard part of the stay was getting out of the bed early enough to eat our homemade breakfast while it was still hot. Did i mention the couples massage that we had? Pat was my masseuse and she was great, very strong, a real pro. She gave me a wonderful deep tissue massage,(which isn't easy on me, as I'm a large man). I would recommend it to anyone who needs an immediate dose of pampered relaxation. I've since been back and stayed in "Kiss" which was equally restful and relaxing

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JBDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2009

We stayed in the "Lounge" room last June. The inn is unique, beautiful, luxurious, has lovely art and decor in the public areas. If you can take advantage of their last minute specials, it is a fantastic bargain, probably the best in Sacramento. I liked the park location, and the big trees outside the giant, arched windows in our room. The chaise lounge was so comfy for reading the morning paper, as was the King bed. Got a great nights sleep, very quiet , and I am a light sleeper. Too hot to use the fireplace, but the room certainly has all the elements for romance. I have 2 caveats for anyone considering renting this room, though. One, the king bed is just too large for the size of the room, and if you want to get to the desk, fireplace or closet, you either bang your foot on the bed's footboard, or hit your shoulder on the glass shelf which holds the tv/vcr remotes. There is very little clearance there, and I left with numerous bruises because I kept forgeting to tread carefully when heading to the closet. It was very frustrating and I would have asked to be moved had I paid the $379 advertised price for the room. You can see looking at the website how close everything is in that little corner, due to the outside balcony space intruding on the square footage of the room. The other "oddity", which in fairness, IS alluded to on their site: there is no separate bathroom, only a "water closet" for the toilet. Everything else is right there in the room. Not that that's a negative necessarily, unless you are a private person and want to brush your teeth without an audience. It all felt a little cramped to me, just a matter of personal preference, but a surprise nonetheless. The hot breakfast was good, I especially liked the fresh raspberries, real cloth napkins, and being able to eat, alone on our tiny little balcony in the sun. It was delivered 1/2 hour late, though, and I feel at a "luxury inn" they should have let us know they were running behind. Instead, we called them at 25 min. after, to inquire if they'd forgotten us. When the tray arrived, no one apologized. We were anxious to take off for Yosemite, and that added little bit of time and stress does not befit a 1st class inn stay. I would definitely return, but call first and make sure they room is more spacious next time.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy_RInnO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 80 in Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
1.1 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn and Spa at Parkside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn and Spa at Parkside

Property: Inn and Spa at Parkside
Address: 2116 6th St, Sacramento, CA 95818
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn and Spa at Parkside 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Parkside bed and breakfast is an urban oasis of relaxation and renewal. Ideally located for business and pleasure, this chic and elegant bed and breakfast mansion. From the moment you enter the inn, the urban world of chaos is left behind. Calmness permeates you, enhanced by the seamless blend of Eastern and Western instrumentals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Inn and Spa at Parkside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn And Spa At Parkside Hotel Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing