We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Party animals”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Sandman Motel
Ranked #23 of 81 Hotels in Sacramento
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fort Lewis, United States
1 review
“Party animals”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Everything was great with our stay. The guy that checked us in was in need of an attitude check and the noise from the parking lot of guys who were cussing and yelling at each other was a tad annoying and bothersome but all in all it was a bed and we needed sleep!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Melanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean I, Manager at Best Western Sandman Motel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Melanie,
Thank you fro your review. It seems you enjoyed the the room with the execption of the other unruely guests. Please let us know if other guest are too loud or disrespectful and we will be glad to solve the situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    287
    94
    55
    26
See reviews for
197
196
52
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Stayed here in December 2013. Staff art check-in was most helpful and accommodating. Need an extra blanket. Blanket arrived in room within 5 minutes. Clean, comfortable room. Reasonable rates. Would stay here again

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean I, Manager at Best Western Sandman Motel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
We thank you very much for your kind review. Our staff will be pleased to here this information.
Our commitment to quality service and value is our goal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brea, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We stayed here once before and like the location of this hotel for easy access to central Sacramento and easy access to the freeway out of town. Our room was clean and comfortable. We just had to remind ourselves that this is a "Best Western" hotel and not a "Best Western Plus" hotel, which is what we had stayed in before the Sandman.

I was concerned about some of the negative reviews this place has received since our last stay and asked the check-in person what was going on. Once another lady behind the counter started talking it was clearly evident as to the source of the negative reviews. It is a shame that one person can make such a negative impression on guests. But, it does explain the negative reviews.

For the price point, this is a very good value! We will probably stay here again if we get back to Sacramento.

Room Tip: Ask to be placed away from the construction workers that stay there. They are a bit noisy and they l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean I, General Manager at Best Western Sandman Motel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Providing our guests with an enjoyable and memorable experience is our top priority. We appreciate you bringing to our attention your concerns regarding reviews you had read and your observations during your stay. Feedback is an essential tool we use to identify where we can improve or make adjustments. Please know that your comments are taken seriously and we will be addressing this issue and taking necessary actions. Thank you for choosing Best Western Sandman once again and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunsmuir, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

There was no coffee or tea in my room. I paid using and $50.00 Best Western Travel Card was was still charged the full amount of my stay. Then was told by my bank it may be several days before I will see the money credited to my account!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Penney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean I, General Manager at Best Western Sandman Motel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you for taking time to send us your feedback. We apologize for the inconvenience this has caused you during your recent stay in our hotel. Thank you for mentioning about the coffee or tea in the room, as we will do our best to have additional supplies on hand. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfair, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 December 2013

What has happened to customer service? I felt like I was imposing on them. The room we finally ended up was Good. There was plenty of room and the noise level from the motel was average. However, the freeway noise was quite annoying but expected due to the proximity to the freeway. A Mexican restaurant next door just opened and was quite good.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean I, General Manager at Best Western Sandman Motel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
We appreciate your feedback as it will us to improve our services. We are pleased to know that you find our hotel room within your expectation. We apologize for the inconvenience brought by the noise, we will be do our best to address this concern. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The Sandman is in a very convenient location and has easy access to the riverwalk. The rooms were clean and of decent size, the bathroom was clean, the beds were comfortable, and the motel allows dogs. We spent two nights there while exploring the Sacramento area. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean I, General Manager at Best Western Sandman Motel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
We are very pleased to hear that you had a pleasant experience following your most recent visit with us.It is the goal of our hotel to provide our guest's excellent service. We are happy that you find our rooms to be clean and comfortable. We will do our best to maintain the quality of our facilities and services. We hope you will choose our Hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 November 2013

this may NOT be fair as a review because I stay in hotels more than half of the year as I travel. I've earned the platinum level and they always "thank" me for the brand loyalty. At first I would stay anywhere until I realized that ALL my points in one place is better than scattering them around. The rooms are as nice as any I've paid more for but the special treatment and personal attention makes you feel at home, like they know you and really care. A nice room is a nice room but when it becomes PERSONAL makes you want to stay there..

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Lafayette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean I, General Manager at Best Western Sandman Motel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
It is our goal to provide the best lodging experience to our valued guests. Thank you for your continued patronage and for being loyal to our hotel. We are pleased to know that we still keep up to your expectation and is still satisfied to our services every time you visit our hotel. Please advise us of your trip and we will be more than happy to ensure you receive the highest level of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.3 mi away
Governors Inn Hotel
Governors Inn Hotel
#15 of 81 in Sacramento
494 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sacramento
0.8 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Downtown Sacramento
6.0 mi away
Good Nite Inn Sacramento
Good Nite Inn Sacramento
#31 of 81 in Sacramento
451 reviews
0.0 mi away
Days Inn Sacramento Downtown
Days Inn Sacramento Downtown
#38 of 81 in Sacramento
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Sandman Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Sandman Motel

Property: Best Western Sandman Motel
Address: 236 Jibboom St, Sacramento, CA 95811-0197
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sacramento
#7 Green Hotel in Sacramento
#13 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#17 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Sandman Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Sandman Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sandman Hotel Sacramento
Best Western Sacramento
Sacramento Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing