We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Sandman Motel
Nearby Hotels
US$125
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$232
US$206
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hyatt Regency Sacramento(Sacramento)
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$245
US$229
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$194
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$164
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$195
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$177
US$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Delta King(Sacramento)
US$161
US$151
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (685)
Filter reviews
685 results
Traveller rating
215
288
98
56
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
215
288
98
56
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverthe mexican restaurantold townwalking pathroom was cleanamerican riverparking lotwaffleshard boiled eggspool and hot tubwould stay againcoffee makersacramento airportfreewaypetscerealgm
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
487 - 492 of 685 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I requested a non-pet-friendly room due to allergies and was accommodated without a problem. Although many people did have pets with them, there was no noise problems. It was a concern for me. Very quiet and comfortable night.
Great choices for breakfast, and plenty to satisfy even the fussy eaters. Fabulous location, easy to get around town.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheGatesClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean I, General Manager at Best Western Sandman Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

We are pleased to hear that you were comfortable and felt accommodated during your recent stay at our Hotel. It is always of highest priority to us that all of our guests are happy and satisfied. We will continue to provide the quality of service that you enjoyed and should expect. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Easy to find, It has a large parking lot. smooth professional checkin. On one visit to the area, we tried the other B. W. But in our opinion this one was overall better & the location felt safer. When in Sacramento the Sandman is our choice. We requested & received a quiet room on the second floor overlooking the River walk. Our room was not very large, but clean, with a micro wave & refrigerator. There is no elevator, so if you have a lot of luggage you might consider a room on the ground level. We had a good quiet restful night in a comfortable queen size bed. Breakfast is available in a dedicated room on the ground level, it was an enhanced continental meal with a good selection, with an cheerful attendant that was very helpful. My only regret was I neglected to get her name. Our day trip to.Old Town was a little disappointing. The store clerks seemed more interested in having conversations among themselves or people they knew, and socializing on the phone. We visited on old time candy store, the man never said hello or asked if he could help us. We revisited the Steamer restaurant, from our last visit. Ordered the clam chowder with bacon topping. The bacon chips were dry and tasteless, & we never did find the clams. Checkout from the Sandman was efficient, they asked about our stay, we advised them everything was great & if we are in the area again, we will return. When exiting the parking lot to return to the highway, be careful about oncoming traffic. There is a blind spot with traffic coming around the curve in both directions moving pretty fast.

Room Tip: Rooms in the rear are less susceptible to noise from the highway
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SoonFung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean I, General Manager at Best Western Sandman Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Thank you for sharing this detailed review about your experience at our Hotel. Our goal is to continue to provide clean, comfortable and enjoyable accommodations for our guests. We appreciate you sharing your opinion about our breakfast and your pleasant interactions with our staff. We look forward to serving you again on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

My wife and I have stayed here 4 years in a row with no problems or issues. We would highly recommend this hotel based on quality, location, service and amenities. Staff is friendly and helpful and everything in the room is as advertised and works. We like the big TV and the rooms are pretty quiet.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Paul G. A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean I, General Manager at Best Western Sandman Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear Paul,
Thank you for your review. We will continue to work hard to meet or exceed your standards
We look forward to your next visit..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

very pet friendly; nice continental breakfast with friendly staff; close to Sacramento River for walks during the day; close to downtown and all the freeways; plus gas stations just up the street; only drawback is older construction, so sound travels more easily from room to room

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank GFrib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean I, Manager at Best Western Sandman Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Our pet friendly rooms have been a big hit. Combined with the access to the Sacramento River and the pet area makes it simple and convenient.
Thanks for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

The location is convenient to the Capitol and many historical sites. It is located just of the freeway - but I heard no traffic noise. The breakfast choices were abundant and presented in a clean and organized manner. It was so much fun making my own waffle!! The coffee was tasty and of good quality. I have stayed and higher priced hotels and this one far exceed my desires and needs. There is interior and exterior art exhibited - plus beautiful Spanish tile walkways. NICE!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank pooletj37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean I, Manager at Best Western Sandman Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Thank you for noticing the details. We strive to constantly upgrade to a better quality product.
Hope to see you back with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews