We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Western Sandman Hotel A Very Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Sandman Motel
Ranked #28 of 83 Hotels in Sacramento
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The Best Western Sandman Hotel is a very good hotel with wonderful service. I felt welcome and accommodated from the time that I checked in, had breakfast both nights that I stayed there, and when I checked out yesterday. Well worth the price that I paid for the two nights that I stayed there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Samson W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean I, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Sandman Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Let us thank for choosing Best Western Sandman Motel. We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

You have sincerest thanks for commenting that you felt welcome throughout your stay and we were able to attend to all your needs. Likewise, thank you mentioning our facilities and services are well worth the amount you paid for.

It was wonderful to have you with us. We hope you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (678)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

440 - 446 of 678 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

I have stayed at this motel many times over the last 30 years for various trips to the Sacramento area. It's a great value, and it's always clean and comfortable, and a great location to reach my meetings or activities in the Sacramento area

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Randy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean I, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Sandman Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

You have our heartfelt thanks for making us your preferred hotel stay and for your continued trust and patronage. It is reviews such as yours that propel us to reach for even greater heights.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to our hotel. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We drove fromFrisco. To visit Sacramento without having to a downtown hotel or in the very touristic area. There is such a place. Not quite a mile from Old Sacramento; you can easealy walk. To the site along the river, there is ample parking, a very efficiant reception staff and the classical room accomodation of this Hotel chain. Clealiness, good beds and quietness. What more to expect .

Room Tip: We always prefer rooms on the ground floor ; easier for luggage and quick departure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLAUDEMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean I, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Sandman Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for choosing Best Western Sandman Motel. We are tremendously pleased that we were able to provide you with a comfortable and peaceful experience.

Your comments will be shared with our staff, thank you. They will be ecstatic to hear that you found them very competent and efficient. Likewise, thank you describing our room as clean, comfortable, and quiet.

It was a pleasure to serve you. We hope you will visit us again the next time you are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Nice accommodations & clean, up-to-date rooms. But watch out for the scary, but seemingly harmless, bums that hang out on the stairs of the motel & on the sidewalks near the motel. I wouldn't stay there alone, but with my husband it was fine. I also liked the proximity to the Sacramento River & nice walking/biking trail right outside & up the river-bank from our room. Wasn't able to have the breakfast or use the fitness room, so can't comment on that. But the fitness room looked nice with several machines. I would definitely stay there again, especially since the price was right. Would be nice if they could get rid of the bums still lingering though.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Lynne/anita L. M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean I, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Sandman Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for choosing Best Western Sandman Motel. It pleases us greatly to learn that we were able to meet your expectations.

Thank you for your comments regarding our proximity to the Sacramento River and to nice walking and biking trails, the cleanliness of our rooms, and the affordability of our rates.

We are sorry you were bothered by the presence of "bums" near our place. You have our assurance that we will look into this matter.

We hope you will visit us again in the near future. It would be a great pleasure to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Close enough to downtown Sac yet not too close for all the mess and noise etc. It's a quiet place to spend time before taking care of business. While it's two separate buildings with a pool in between, there is a bikepath nearby at the same level as the top level of bldg 2. Doesn't require as many BW Reward points as the next closest. The only restaurant w/in walking distance is right there- Nena's Mexican. Good menu choices; no hard liquor. Right off the 80, two gas stations to choose from.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank kathologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean I, General Manager at Best Western Sandman Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

We appreciate you giving your feedback about your experience. We are delighted to hear that our accommodation suited your needs for enough sleep and comfortable stay for business purposes. It is our goal to provide the best lodging experience to our valued guests and your review is important to us as it helps us to identify areas for improvement that will enhance the positive experiences of our guests. It was a pleasure to serve you, we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

satisfactory for the cost. Clean, older facility. Nice to have refrigerator and micro. Need separate lighting in toilet area - - as well as an outlet for a nightlight (or one built in). confusing light switch outside of toilet area. Husband hit wrong switch at 3 AM - - - lit up entire grooming area, woke me up (I was not happy) - - could be avoided with additional wiring and a switch/outlet in the toilet area. Sort of spoils the sleep thing. Understand the concept of not wanting electrical near the tub, but this offsets some of that. Poor design, and not thought through by designers. I know that it is not uncommon, but not user friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Jeanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean I, General Manager at Best Western Sandman Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for sharing the details about your recent visit. Your feedback is indeed of great importance to us. We sincerely apologize for the unlikely incident you experienced at our Hotel. Your comments and suggestions regarding lighting and fixtures will be considered as we want every guest to be comfortable and satisfied every time you stayed with us. However, we are also happy to know that you’ve found our rooms clean and appreciated the amenities included. Rest assured the comments you made will be addressed in order for us to improve our services, we hope you give us a chance to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

This property has the best of everything. Clean, quiet, close to downtown are a few of its pluses. There is a secure gate at back that allows access to walk/bike trail along river that allows you to walk to the Old Downtown Sacramento district. I always stay here when in town.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WolfgangThis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean I, General Manager at Best Western Sandman Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure serving you during your recent stay with us. We are delighted to know that your entire stay was excellent and relaxing. Most of our guests enjoyed our road access to walk down the Old Downtown Sacramento district and we are glad you also appreciated that. Thank you for giving us the insight into how we can better serve our guests in the future. We value your business and look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.8 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
9.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Sacramento
Crowne Plaza Sacramento
#38 of 83 in Sacramento
294 reviews
0.3 mi away
Governors Inn Hotel
Governors Inn Hotel
#20 of 83 in Sacramento
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Sacramento Downtown
Days Inn Sacramento Downtown
#41 of 83 in Sacramento
491 reviews
5.9 mi away
Good Nite Inn Sacramento
Good Nite Inn Sacramento
#33 of 83 in Sacramento
470 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sacramento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Sandman Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Sandman Motel

Address: 236 Jibboom St, Sacramento, CA 95811-0197
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Sacramento
#8 Green Hotel in Sacramento
#13 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#17 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range: £66 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Sandman Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Sandman Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sandman Hotel Sacramento
Best Western Sacramento
Sacramento Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing