We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Sandman Motel
Ranked #27 of 83 Hotels in Sacramento
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Room was very pleasant. No strong odors from cleaning products or sprays as I have severe allergies. Staff was very helpful and left window open at my request as I was unsure of what to expect with room cleaning products. Came back at the end of the week and the new room was consistently pleasant. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Anna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean I, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Sandman Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

We are very pleased to learn that we succeeded in providing you with a superb experience on both occasions you stayed with us. We are always after guest satisfaction, so it is wonderful to know that we were able to attain our goal.

We thank you for mentioning that our room did not trigger any allergic reactions due to the absence of strong odors from cleaning products, and our staff took special note of your request to leave the room window open.

It was a great pleasure to serve you. We hope that you will visit us again the next time you are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (678)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

422 - 428 of 678 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

We loved this location, the river was right out back, my husband fished to his hearts content. The staff was great. The breakfast had many good choices. The room and exterior were very clean. the mexican food resturaunt in the parking lot was excellent. The shampoo / conditioner were organic. Only draw backs were the freeway was slightly loud, not too bad and the iron was in a holder mounted in the middle of the back of the ironing board. It made it very hard to iron a long dress. I would definately go back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Kasey V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean I, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Sandman Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Let us thank you for writing such a wonderful review of our property. We are so glad that you and your husband thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Thank you for mentioning that you loved our location and that our room and common areas are immaculate. Likewise, thank you for commenting that we have a great staff. We are proud of each and every of them and their dedication to delivering the highest level of service to our guests.

Thank you for your feedback regarding the position of the iron holder which made it a challenge to iron your dress. It will help us correct our deficiencies and improve our services in order to enhance the positive experiences of our guests.

It was wonderful to have you with us. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stay at the Sandman anytime we travel south. Very friendly, and clean. This place is very pet friendly, and has a great place to walk your dog along the Sacramento river. Good value, friendly, and clean keeps us returning.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean I, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Sandman Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for always choosing to stay with us whenever you are in town. It is very rewarding to hear reviews such as yours as they validate that we are on the right path and we are doing things right. We hope to see you again soon. You can trust us to provide with the same excellent accommodations and services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The hotel is close to Old Town, the River walk and to downtown Sacramento. But the facility itself is pretty average. Nothing really wrong with it, but if I come here again I might look for alternatives.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Alfred W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean I, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Sandman Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for finding the time to share about your stay. It is good to know that you were able to appreciate our unbeatable location. We sincerely hope that you will consider staying with us again, so we may be given a chance to demonstrate that there is more to us than a great location. We are definitely capable of providing you with excellent accommodations and services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

A look behind the scenes for what makes this a good motel. (Info gleaned from reading plaques in dining room and office and talking to friendly worker.) :
*food safety award of excellence for 3 consecutive high standard inspections 2013
*Servsafe certification 2014 for food service in dining room
*housekeeping certification training course diploma
*2 CA food handler certificates of training
*2 certificates of recognition from Best Western with scores over 950
*BW excellent housekeeping award
*2 BW director awards
*TripAdvisor excellence rating
*family owned for 60 years, 2nd generation management
*workers get health, dental and vacation pay according to worker Ms Parker

We stayed in unit 213 for 4 nights in May 2014. The large room was well maintained showing little wear, very clean, no disagreeable smell, king bed, desk, couch, coffee table, microwave, fridge, AC/heater that worked well and large bathroom with separate shower/toilet for $78. Breakfast was very good with the usual offerings including HB eggs, but no meat. Clean pool and hot tub.

Walk left out the back gate on the popular bike/hike path and it’s 10 minutes to Old Sac. Walk right and you’ll reach the river beach, bridge over the American River and Discovery park with boat launch on the other side. Lock bikes up securely. For the quietest stay, request a room overlooking the river. Although there’s freeway noise, the waterfall/pool with koi opposite the office is very cute.

You see, I can write a straight review.

Room Tip: The quietest rooms overlook the river at the rear of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean I, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Sandman Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Please allow us to thank you for your wonderful review of our property. You made an effort to list down the awards and certificates we have received over the years, and you patiently made an objective assessment of our accommodations and services. Your review motivates and encourages us to reach for even greater heights.

It was such a pleasure to serve you. We hope that you will come back and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

If you need a place to stay in Sacramento near the river this Best Western is the one for you. It has access to the river and no other hotels near by do. There is a restaurant on site and has very good food. Wonderful place to stay if you have pets.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank 252beckya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean I, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Sandman Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Let us thank you for your wonderful review of our property. Our commitment to providing the highest level of service to our guests is reinforced and encouraged by positive reviews such as yours. Thank you for mentioning that we are the only one with access to the river and we are pet friendly. We hope that you will come back and see us again soon. It would be a great pleasure to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This was my second stay at this hotel; not sure if there will be a third. The location is good and the trail along the river is too! The hotel is a little run down and our room/bathroom could have been a little cleaner. I know it is harder to keep older facilities looking clean and nice tho. The outside flowers etc looked nice. No one in our party of 4 adults cared for the Mexican restaurant, which is the only restaurant within super close walking distance. You are able to walk to Old Town and avoid the hassles of trying to park down there. The location is the best feature.....close to Old Town and close to Sleep Train Arena.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank merrittf2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean I, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Sandman Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

We are sorry to hear that we failed to completely live up to your expectations. Our housekeeping team will be informed of your comment regarding your room and bathroom. Generally, our guests are impressed with the cleanliness of our rooms and commons areas, nevertheless they are expected to implement corrective measures to ensure that our room standards are not compromised.

We want to emphasize that we are always seeking ways to improve our accommodations and services to better serve our valued guests. It is not certainly our desire for our property look tired and outdated.

Thank you very much for commenting that we have a great location.

We hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we may be given a chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.8 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
9.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Sacramento
Crowne Plaza Sacramento
#38 of 83 in Sacramento
294 reviews
0.3 mi away
Governors Inn Hotel
Governors Inn Hotel
#18 of 83 in Sacramento
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Sacramento Downtown
Days Inn Sacramento Downtown
#41 of 83 in Sacramento
491 reviews
5.9 mi away
Good Nite Inn Sacramento
Good Nite Inn Sacramento
#33 of 83 in Sacramento
469 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sacramento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Sandman Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Sandman Motel

Address: 236 Jibboom St, Sacramento, CA 95811-0197
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Sacramento
#7 Best Value Hotel in Sacramento
#13 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#17 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range: £67 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Sandman Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Sandman Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sandman Hotel Sacramento
Best Western Sacramento
Sacramento Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing