We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Place To Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel
Ranked #21 of 80 Hotels in Sacramento
GreenLeadersBronze level
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Place To Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Nice, quiet, but just beyond the freeway are transients. We didn't worry about our car, but we chose not to walk anywhere. The room was satisfactory, however, we could not get the A/C unit to cool down the room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Simi_Bees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean I, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
It is so nice to hear that on the whole you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We put utmost importance on guest satisfaction, so we are glad to learn that we were able to hit the mark.

We do want to apologize about the air conditioning unit installed in your room. Had it been brought to our attention that it failed to bring the temperature down to a comfortable level, we would have gladly sought a quick remedy to the issue. It is our desire to provide our guests with a comfortable and restful stay.

We hope that you will choose to stay with us again should your travels bring you near our area once more. It would be a pleasure to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    285
    94
    54
    26
See reviews for
197
195
51
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Lorenzo, CA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

My husband and I booked this overnight stay because we were attending a wedding near by. I searched the reviews of this hotel before I booked and decided to give it a try. I sure am glad that I did!

There are several hotels in the area and upon first arrival, I was kind of taken back by all of the "wood carving" statues around this one. As I looked around, the charm of these forms of artwork were growing on me. A waterfall complete with an eagle, deer and various other animals greet you in the entrance. We arrived about an hour early for our check in so I was wondering if we would be able to get early check in......no problem. In less then 5 minutes, we were in our air conditioned room, (it was about 100* on our arrival) Walking past the pool, and more wood sculptures (walrus and shark, I think) watching over you.

The room was so spacious and charming. A little couch and coffee table, nice colors, dark "cherry wood" furniture, granite countertops in the bathroon, updated light fixtures AND a massaging shower head. Clean and new looking. Plus, the access to the River Walk around the back *BONUS!! (complete with wood sculpture of turtles and bears) AND a free breakfast to get you started. Love, love love this place. And the price is right up my alley. I would and am totally coming back to this little gem.

Less then a mile from Old Town ( you could probably walk there on the trail, but not sure) made it even more of a draw. Thank you Best Western Sandman for an unforgettable stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arjay10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean I, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
We are tremendously pleased to read that we were able to give you a memorable experience. We are greatly inspired and encouraged by your review to continue striving to deliver the best of services to all our guests.

Please allow us to thank you for appreciating our interior and exterior decor. We are glad that they met your approval. Thank you as well for mentioning that we are well-situated and our prices are friendly to the pocket.

It was wonderful to have you with us, we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South San Franc
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Room was very pleasant. No strong odors from cleaning products or sprays as I have severe allergies. Staff was very helpful and left window open at my request as I was unsure of what to expect with room cleaning products. Came back at the end of the week and the new room was consistently pleasant. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Anna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean I, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
We are very pleased to learn that we succeeded in providing you with a superb experience on both occasions you stayed with us. We are always after guest satisfaction, so it is wonderful to know that we were able to attain our goal.

We thank you for mentioning that our room did not trigger any allergic reactions due to the absence of strong odors from cleaning products, and our staff took special note of your request to leave the room window open.

It was a great pleasure to serve you. We hope that you will visit us again the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victorville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We loved this location, the river was right out back, my husband fished to his hearts content. The staff was great. The breakfast had many good choices. The room and exterior were very clean. the mexican food resturaunt in the parking lot was excellent. The shampoo / conditioner were organic. Only draw backs were the freeway was slightly loud, not too bad and the iron was in a holder mounted in the middle of the back of the ironing board. It made it very hard to iron a long dress. I would definately go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kasey V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean I, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Let us thank you for writing such a wonderful review of our property. We are so glad that you and your husband thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Thank you for mentioning that you loved our location and that our room and common areas are immaculate. Likewise, thank you for commenting that we have a great staff. We are proud of each and every of them and their dedication to delivering the highest level of service to our guests.

Thank you for your feedback regarding the position of the iron holder which made it a challenge to iron your dress. It will help us correct our deficiencies and improve our services in order to enhance the positive experiences of our guests.

It was wonderful to have you with us. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snohomish
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stay at the Sandman anytime we travel south. Very friendly, and clean. This place is very pet friendly, and has a great place to walk your dog along the Sacramento river. Good value, friendly, and clean keeps us returning.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean I, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for always choosing to stay with us whenever you are in town. It is very rewarding to hear reviews such as yours as they validate that we are on the right path and we are doing things right. We hope to see you again soon. You can trust us to provide with the same excellent accommodations and services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon, PA, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

The hotel is close to Old Town, the River walk and to downtown Sacramento. But the facility itself is pretty average. Nothing really wrong with it, but if I come here again I might look for alternatives.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Alfred W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean I, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for finding the time to share about your stay. It is good to know that you were able to appreciate our unbeatable location. We sincerely hope that you will consider staying with us again, so we may be given a chance to demonstrate that there is more to us than a great location. We are definitely capable of providing you with excellent accommodations and services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

A look behind the scenes for what makes this a good motel. (Info gleaned from reading plaques in dining room and office and talking to friendly worker.) :
*food safety award of excellence for 3 consecutive high standard inspections 2013
*Servsafe certification 2014 for food service in dining room
*housekeeping certification training course diploma
*2 CA food handler certificates of training
*2 certificates of recognition from Best Western with scores over 950
*BW excellent housekeeping award
*2 BW director awards
*TripAdvisor excellence rating
*family owned for 60 years, 2nd generation management
*workers get health, dental and vacation pay according to worker Ms Parker

We stayed in unit 213 for 4 nights in May 2014. The large room was well maintained showing little wear, very clean, no disagreeable smell, king bed, desk, couch, coffee table, microwave, fridge, AC/heater that worked well and large bathroom with separate shower/toilet for $78. Breakfast was very good with the usual offerings including HB eggs, but no meat. Clean pool and hot tub.

Walk left out the back gate on the popular bike/hike path and it’s 10 minutes to Old Sac. Walk right and you’ll reach the river beach, bridge over the American River and Discovery park with boat launch on the other side. Lock bikes up securely. For the quietest stay, request a room overlooking the river. Although there’s freeway noise, the waterfall/pool with koi opposite the office is very cute.

You see, I can write a straight review.

Room Tip: The quietest rooms overlook the river at the rear of the property.
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycling in breakfast room. Local plants in garden.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean I, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Please allow us to thank you for your wonderful review of our property. You made an effort to list down the awards and certificates we have received over the years, and you patiently made an objective assessment of our accommodations and services. Your review motivates and encourages us to reach for even greater heights.

It was such a pleasure to serve you. We hope that you will come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.3 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sacramento
0.3 mi away
Governors Inn Hotel
Governors Inn Hotel
#17 of 80 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Days Inn Sacramento Downtown
Days Inn Sacramento Downtown
#36 of 80 in Sacramento
3.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Downtown Sacramento
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn Downtown
Quality Inn Downtown
#44 of 80 in Sacramento
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel

Property: BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel
Address: 236 Jibboom Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Sacramento
#7 Green Hotel in Sacramento
#13 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#17 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sandman Hotel Sacramento
Best Western Sacramento
Sacramento Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing