We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel
Ranked #23 of 80 Hotels in Sacramento
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
181 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We had a great stay here. There were fluffy towels, a nice showerhead, a good internet connection, and it was clean. It is located on the river walk to (upstream) Discovery Park and (downstream) Old Town. It had a below-average breakfast with zero protein offered. We have stayed here before and we will definitely stay again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean I, Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time out to write this review. We are pleased that you enjoyed the accommodations as well as our location and internet connection. We also appreciate the feedback regarding breakfast. Thank you for your patronage and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    285
    94
    54
    25
See reviews for
197
194
51
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada, USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stay at this hotel often, for both business and pleasure. We can always depend on good service and a nice room. The location is perfect for anything we have going on in Sacramento, and I love the river and the park being right there.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 951brendac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean I, Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
We love to be such a dependable and enjoyable experience for you every time. It is wonderful to hear that our hotel is accommodating and that our location is convenient. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Bluff, California, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Nice place for the money. Very quiet. Actually, we did not have any complaints. Nice pool/jacuzzi. Friendly staff. Pet friendly. Close to Old Sac. Small rooms, but comfortable. Didn't need a "reservation". They took our name and held a room for us.

Room Tip: Not near the front of the hotel or an ice machine. There is a section in the back that faces the lev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ditsydebz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean I, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
It is heartwarming to hear of how our efforts to give you a great experience, filled with hospitality, comfort and convenience have been successful. It means a lot to us that you have taken the time to share the many positive features of your most recent stay with us. On behalf of our entire staff, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manteca, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

This hotel is a great value, it is right next to the Sacramento River, it has access to a bike/walking path behind the hotel which you could use to get to a beach along side the river or to walk to old town. One draw back is if your room faces the freeway you will hear a little road noise from the highway. The rooms facing the river don't have that problem.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Mitzi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean I, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how you enjoyed your stay with us. We are all pleased to learn we were able to make you feel at home and that our services and accommodations lived up to your expectations. We look forward to serving you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

When I arrived the parking lot was full. The hotel is right off the I-5 so a popular stop. The outside isn't so pretty but what counts is cleanliness. The bathroom was spotless. Pool and spa spotless. Pet fee $15 (to 80 lbs). TV/mic/fridge. Everything we needed for a good sleep. Beds comfortable and lots of pillows. Our dog knew there had been other pets here but it didn't smell like it to us. Noise was minimal - we were on the backside. There is continental breakfast and a fitness room. We were pleased with the $86 price.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank RBinVABeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean I, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments and review regarding the standards of our service, the cleanliness of our rooms and the hospitality of our staff. It's rewarding to learn that we exceeded your expectations with the accommodation. We are so glad that your stay was enjoyable and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los altos, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

My husband recently had kidney transplant surgery at UCD Sac Med Center - we now need to come up weekly for check ups - I need a VERY clear and quiet place where we can come up a day early rest and be ready for his check up on Tuesdays. the Sandman has been extremely nice place for the value - with easy access to the rooms - and even being so close to the freeway - quiet and restful - I love being able to go for a walk after dinner along the river - while he rests...and their breakfast is a good start for the day - and glad to see the sugar free syrupy and hardboiled eggs.....I would recommend this a good place to stay..

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean I, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
It’s very nice to hear that our place suited your needs perfectly. As much as possible, we want to offer a feel of a home away from home to all our guests. Thank you so much for your kind comments and we will continue what we do best in serving our guests. You are always welcome to stay at our hotel and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

In the middle of a long road trip, we just needed a place to lay our heads. Didn't want to spend a lot as we were there for less than 12 hours. Not great sound proofing as we had very noisy neighbors, and not the greatest neighborhood. Overall average hotel, you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean I, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
We strive to give you a great experience, and we pleased to learn that we were able to meet your expectations in many ways; though we regret to hear that you were not thoroughly impressed with our accommodations and location. We appreciate the compliments and the comments regarding areas where can improve. We hope you will find your expectations to be far surpassed during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.8 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
0.3 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sacramento
0.3 mi away
Governors Inn Hotel
Governors Inn Hotel
#16 of 80 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
4.9 mi away
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
#12 of 80 in Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
1.6 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel

Property: BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel
Address: 236 Jibboom Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Sacramento
#7 Green Hotel in Sacramento
#13 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#17 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com and TravelUp so you can book your BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sandman Hotel Sacramento
Best Western Sacramento
Sacramento Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing