We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Pleasant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House
Ranked #3 of 80 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
Anaheim, United States
1 review
“Very Pleasant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel was surprisingly luxurious and clean when compared to other options in the same price range. I stayed at the Best Western for two nights while on a business trip. The room was decorated well, was relatively clean, and I could see that there was quite a bit of attention to detail in preparing the room for guests.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Gloria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    230
    64
    25
    18
See reviews for
155
163
32
269
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Why would Best Western Plus Sutter House need 5 words in the name is still a puzzle for me. The room was nice, a pleasant surprise was the fridge-and-microwave combo – it was not listed in the room description on the BW website. We got a room with 2 beds, and each bed had 4 pillows, a body pillow, and a round red pillow to put the feet up. The ground floor has garage and lobby with computers, first floor – rooms and breakfast room, 2nd floor – rooms and a conference room.

The pool is a regular one, plenty of loungers, a few tables with umbrellas, “help yourself” shelves with towels. You need to have a key card to open the pool gate, that worked half of the time.

There are 3 restaurants close to the hotel: Blue Prynt next door (good, a bit noisy), Jim Dandy's (burgers, we skipped this one) and Bangkok on 12th that we really liked.

Coming to the hotel we took bus # 30 that dropped us off 2 blocks away from hotel. Going home we decided to walk along the nice and shady residential H street. If I knew we’d have to pass the jail I wouldn’t walk, but we felt safe.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ImaMY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Pleasurable and relaxing stay. Close to downtown events and business. Free parking!!!! Helpful and courteous staff. Discounts available for those on a budget. Nice complimentary breakfast. Nice pool and other conveniences.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Allan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
99 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Good for our 1 night stay. Easy parking, our room was on first floor, as was the pool.
Comfy bed, fridge, bath with shower over.
Breakfast (included) was fine, with cereals, waffles, toast etc. with disposable plates and cutlery which is handy if you want to take in back to the room.
Old Sacremento is a 20-30 minutes stroll and is a nice historic place to spent a couple of hours near the waterfront and old train track. The main shopping mall was is the process of closing down so the city seems quiet.

Convenient place to stay

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy123Northampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salinas, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We took our kids to stay in Sacramento for a night on our way up north. The girls enjoyed their time in the hotel and I felt like the room was clean enough to let my 8 month old crawl around. My older daughter told me, "Mom, this is so much fun!" I am sure she would have liked any hotel, but I was pleased with our room, street view, and location in downtown Sacramento.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

My stay was pleasant and convenient to the Sacramento Convention Center only 3 easy walking blocks. Love the free internet in room and breakfast before I start my busy day, the hotel staff are courteous to allow my luggage be dropped off prior to me checking in.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Shirley/kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

The room isn't huge but I don't live in the room anyway...it's for sleeping. For that the room was comfortable and quiet, all the room amenities worked and were handy, and the staff was great! The hotel is 3 blocks from the k st electric train and so getting around is simple. 5 blocks from the capitol building, 3 from cathedral. Restaurants and miscellaneous shopping are very handy. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 24justme49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 80 in Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
0.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House
Address: 1100 H St, Sacramento, CA 95814-2812
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#8 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sutter House Hotel Sacramento
Best Western Sutter Hotel
Best Western Sacramento
Sacramento Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing