We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay for price paid, but nothing special” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House
Ranked #3 of 80 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
Long IslandNY, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Okay for price paid, but nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

There was nothing seriously wrong with this hotel, just nothing great . Location is good if wishing to tour State Capitol and its arboretum. A variety of decent-looking casual dining restos in area. Exterior of hotel, which is located in a residential area, is nothing special. Interesting pictures in hallways. Large pool in center of hotel space. Our second floor room offered more privacy that a first floor room would have. The drapes in the room are weird: 1960's funky. Hotel was quiet during our one-night stay. Bed was comfortable, water was hot, towels were nice. Soaps were tiny, shampoos, etc. were skimpy and seemed cheap. Breakfast was nothing special, maybe worse than others of this sort. I had only coffee.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    230
    64
    25
    18
See reviews for
155
163
32
269
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Very friendly staff, clean rooms, great service, good breakfast, free parking. Overall...EXCELLENT stay. Front office staff was very nice and provided wonderful service. Thank you! I come to Sacramento often for meetings and I think I will stay here from now on.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Veronica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weed, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

This is a nice hotel in the State Capitol area of Sacramento. Very good location and value for the price. A nice restaurant, Blue Prynt, is located close by. Clean and convenient. Staff is professional and seems to be well trained.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Joyce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Stayed at the BW Sutter for 2 night, booking 2 rooms. The hotel is within walking distance to capital and eating places, we liked the location. It had free parking, complimentary breakfast including waffles and the tram stopped next to the hotel. The rooms were large and comfortable and clean and we saw the attention the staff gave to the public areas like the pool and of course the rooms. Our rooms had easy access to the pool, which is outside on the second floor and we were able to sit outside our rooms by the pool. I felt this hotel was a very good value in Sacramento and would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BronxRican1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Rock, BC Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We had not been back to Sacramento since we took our first independent road trip as teenagers back in the 70's. Then we stayed at Motel 6 but now we opt for something nicer. We were not disappointed! Easy access from all hwys and located right in the heart of downtown within walking distance of the Capital, Old Sacramento, the river walk, etc. Check in was excellent by Jeremy.Our king room was large and beautifully decorated with colorful accents and had a bay window. Bed very comfortable with good pillows. Spotlessly clean and quiet at night. There is a large pool area in the center of the building that looks like a resort. An adequate complimentary breakfast is provided. We ate at the Blue Prynt restaurant next door which was very good. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cdn_beach_bums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Hotel is nice and clean. Staff is polite and helpful. Rooms are clean, well stocked and roomy. Beds are comfortable. I would stay here again. The restaurant Blue Print is wonderful place to eat and they server a nice drink as well. The hotel is easy to get to and there are many place around. Please eat at Jim Denny's next door - it has been featured on DDD > with Guy. It will not disappoint.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Howard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel was surprisingly luxurious and clean when compared to other options in the same price range. I stayed at the Best Western for two nights while on a business trip. The room was decorated well, was relatively clean, and I could see that there was quite a bit of attention to detail in preparing the room for guests.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Gloria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 80 in Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
0.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House
Address: 1100 H St, Sacramento, CA 95814-2812
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#5 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#8 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sutter House Hotel Sacramento
Best Western Sutter Hotel
Best Western Sacramento
Sacramento Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing