We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great deal but a little shady area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Sacramento Downtown
Ranked #43 of 81 Hotels in Sacramento
Alta Loma, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great deal but a little shady area”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel is clean and well priced. It sits right at Discovery Park where the American river and the Sacramento River meet. Great bike trail along the river to keep you busy. The only downside is that several homeless people hang out on the street in front of the hotels. None of them bother anyone but it gives the area a shady feeling. . . A little creepy. I would stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Granniejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    187
    164
    82
    78
See reviews for
224
158
78
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland OR
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We were very disappointed with this LaQuinta. I have stayed at various locations and have been pleased. This location doesn't have enough parking for the number of rooms and to serve the park and fly people. We were unable to in the morning due to the cars parked in the fire lane blocking us in. This needs to be corrected! WIFI was way to slow.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orcheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

I stay at LQ's nationwide for my business trips. I can definitely say this one is on the lower end of the scale. Like everyone sayed the rooms are average.

-My main concern is the internet is painfully slow. I had a hard time opening up emails and working online. Definitely a deal breaker for me.

- One other very big concern is my room has a door joined to the next room over which is normal, except for the fact the door has NO LOCK!. All it has is the little backup security lock that you flip with your hand and catches the metal ball. I didn't notice why there was a chair backed up against the handle of the door till it was night. Definitely not safe and I will be checking out in the morning.

Hopefully this helps

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank i20ar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level Contributor
43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stay here as the rates are low, the shuttle bus from the airport is complimentary, breakfast is free and you can walk downtown. There's also a nice bike path next door. However, I'm not sure we would stay again. For the second time, we were woken up during the wee hours with violent fighting between hotel occupants and police on site. There appear to be some long term tenants here, who bring their problems into the hotel with them. The hotel is so inexpensive that they seem to draw folks with mental illness, drug issues and other problems that make my wife and I uncomfortable. And the hotel gym is pathetic! On the pro side, the beds are comfy, and the rooms are clean. Next time, we will stay elsewhere even if it's more expensive.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DBS0210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, United States
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The swimming pool was closed down during our stay due to a complaint to the city health department. We were not compensated for the inconvenience. We otherwise like the hotel, which has a good location near the American river, where we swam and took hikes. But the pool was important because it was a family visit and the management should not have been so resistenct to making adjustments.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pueblo West, Colorado
Level Contributor
237 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This hotel is very reasonable priced and the beds are very comfortable. Our room was very small, not conducive to spending much time in it. The room was clean and maintained. The facility is noisy, with people going in and out of their rooms and talking, partying, etc. But it is a place to stay with a good price if you are going to be out most of the time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandon, Oregon
Level Contributor
132 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Room was musty smelling nears walls ( by headboard, when on phones) room was clean, food mart and gas station next door had a lot of people hanging out in parking lot in their cars, homeless people were sitting on sidewalk outside motel eating and throwing food around. Nice area for pets with grass. Quiet, good breakfast, large and busy motel, grounds were kept up, car rental on site. Wi fi. Good price, good value.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ORbeachdawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.2 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sacramento
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Sacramento Downtown
Days Inn Sacramento Downtown
#36 of 81 in Sacramento
3.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.2 mi away
Governors Inn Hotel
Governors Inn Hotel
#17 of 81 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Downtown Sacramento
1.0 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
6.1 mi away
Good Nite Inn Sacramento
Good Nite Inn Sacramento
#31 of 81 in Sacramento
3.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Sacramento Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Sacramento Downtown

Property: La Quinta Inn Sacramento Downtown
Address: 200 Jibboom St, Sacramento, CA 95811-0108
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 81 Hotels in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Sacramento Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, LaQuinta, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Quinta Inn Sacramento Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Sacramento Downtown Hotel Sacramento
La Quinta Sacramento
Sacramento La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing