We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The next stop on out tour!!!”
Review of Delta King

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Delta King
Ranked #18 of 81 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The next stop on out tour!!!”
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Left San francisco for the city of Sacramento they couldnt be further parts of the pole!!, equally in a fantastic way. Stayed at the Delta King Riverboat WOW, just a one night stop over the room was good, upgraded to a city view. We eat on board the food was excellent and the wine better!!!. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tuckerjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    206
    68
    20
    29
See reviews for
64
282
28
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Took our 6 year old grandson up on Amtrak, stayed the night at Delta King and visited the wonderful train museum. Great trip for all of us. Food was surprisingly good and service was friendly and prompt on Delta King. Receptionist a bit abrupt and unresponsive. Manager gracious and gave us free tickets to train museum and will pay for ripped pants I incurred on one of the bench seats (nail protruding). Only complaint we had was the noise on the deck after 10 p.m. We wish they had some sort of security that made sure non guests could not get on board and party! Location and view was worth the stay - albeit overpriced for accommodations.

Room Tip: Be sure and call for night supervisor if noisy crowd on deck past 10 p.m.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pres2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, California
Level Contributor
556 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Our stay on the Delta King was enjoyable overall but the experience left us with mixed feelings. The location on the water in the heart of Old Town Sacramento is superb. The train museum and shops are an easy stroll and we enjoyed a fabulous dinner at the Firehouse less than 2 blocks away. Our room was small and simple, as one would expect on a boat, but was clean, nicely decorated and very functional. The bathroom was cute but needs minor updating as mold was apparent around the shower and toilet grout. Overall the boat is in beautiful condition with crisp, clean decks and fantastic woodwork.

The views from the boat are exceptional and we enjoyed sitting at the table outside our room with a glass of wine and watching the small boats go by. In the evening, the views of the bridge are beautiful with lights reflecting off the river. The room included a free breakfast and it was perfect - coffee, juice, eggs, ham, potatoes, fruit and a fresh blueberry muffin. Our waiter, Gannon, was quick and professional and the dining room was beautiful.

Despite an overall positive experience, there were 2 negatives. The first of these is that the bed was horrible. The mattress was stiff and uncomfortable and the pillows were thin and unforgiving. Add in some train noise and sleep was difficult at best. The second negative relates to staff attitudes. Other than our waiter who was excellent, everyone we came into contact with was polite but most seemed over-stressed and interactions were mechanical and had a Stepford Wives tone.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and are glad we had an opportunity to experience a bit of history. But honestly, on our next stay in the area, we will probably stay at one of the local hotels and stop by the Delta King to simply enjoy a glass of wine on their lovely deck.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LightFighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinez, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Great time was had by all without ever leaving the dock. Beautiful rooms
and excellent service.
Beautiful views from all rooms. Never a dull minute something entertaining at every turn well worth the money.
We will return to the Delta King again real soon

Room Tip: corner suits are large and sunny with great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank surfsup066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
102 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

My wife and I just spent two nights on this salvaged and renovated "Delta King" riverboat. It is now a beautiful piece of history. We took advantage of the special which included a dinner the first night and breakfast each morning. We had earlier made reservations for a room on the port (left) side of the riverboat toward the aft or stern. This was also alongside the river and not along the starboard (right) side of the riverboat. We made the right decision. Our room was situated toward the rear with a beautiful view of the river. Boat after boat passed by with its passengers waving to us as we stood outside our room. The room was beautifully renovated with large windows to view the river. Unfortunately, at night activities on the floor above were noisey and bothersome. The food at the restaurant at dinner was good, selections limited. A full service bar was located near the top of the riverboat with great seating outside. The breakfast each morning was very good. The staff was friendly and accommodating. There was plenty to do each day as we were given vouchers to go to the fabulous "train museum" nearby (within walking distance). After the tour of the museum we walked around "old Sacramento" before returning to our room. It was so much fun. Parking in the area was very limited. Parking on the street is $.25 for every 12 minutes. Bring plenty of quarters or utilize the change machine on the street corners. The City of Sacramento is extremely aggressive and will not hesitate to ruin your adventure by giving you a $40.00 parking ticket. The city parking garage is another option but the hourly rates are huge and you may have to take out a second mortgage on your home to stay all day. The City expects you to see everything within 2 hours. Yes, you have to move your car every two hours if you don't park in the garage. If you can stay on the riverboat and can afford or pay for valet parking or afford the city garage fees it is a worthwhile experience.

Room Tip: Select a room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SeniorExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Excellent little hotel, two really good meals, excellently furnished room, the slant of the deck does make walking around at night a little odd, especially when youve had a few

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ansonm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottonwood
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Met up with my sister in law for a night out in Old Sacramento. What a treat. The Delta King was a 1/2 way point for us both. The atmosphere on the King is awesome. From the first moment when you are greated by friendly staff you know you are in for a great time. The food is outstanding and not too expensive. The view of the river is great. We are planning another trip soon and I would like to take in the Dinner Theater Show. Can't wait.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
0.3 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 81 in Sacramento
1,543 reviews
1.1 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta King? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta King

Property: Delta King
Address: 1000 Front St, Sacramento, CA 95814-3231
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Delta King 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Delta King is an authentic, historic, and permanently moored riverboat on the Sacramento River in Downtown Old Sacramento, Ca. In addition to the two restaurants, the Delta King has 44 AAA 3-Diamond rated staterooms with prepared to order hot breakfast daily, two dinner theatres, a wine school, and wedding & conference facilities. Sacramento Bee says: Pilothouse Restaurant is a must dine destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Delta King reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta King Sacramento
Delta King Hotel Sacramento
Delta Sacramento
Sacramento Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing