We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Delta King
Nearby Hotels
US$182
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$190
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Regency Sacramento(Sacramento)
US$309
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$171
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$324
US$282
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$274
US$240
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$195
Autograph
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$103
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (549)
Filter reviews
549 results
Traveller rating
198
228
72
21
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
198
228
72
21
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooms are smallthe rivertop deckpilothouse restaurantold sacramentofloating hotelthe pilot houseunique place to stayboat hotelmystery dinnerpaddle wheel boatvalet parkingbreakfast was includedrailroad museumsan franciscoriver view roomtypical hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
322 - 327 of 549 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2013

My husband and I have stayed on the Delta King twice in the past two months, each stay was for 2 nights. We have become big fans of this hotel. It is very unique, the ship has been lovingly cared for, staff is very pleasant and the location couldn't be better. As for the food -- breakfast is good, but dinner is amazing! All four dinners on the ship, 2 in the dining room and 2 in the bar, have been outstanding. The chef is the best. We know we will return again sometime later this year.

Old town Sacramento is fun to walk around and see the shops and museums, but it is not a bad walk to go on the other side of the highway to see other museums and the Capital. If you like to shop there is a very large mall just short walk away.

The hotel room size is not an issue for us, but I have seen remarks on travel sites that people commented or complained about it. Keep in mind this is an old ship that was restored. Rooms in the 1920's were smaller and darker. Just remember you are sleeping in a room that is on a piece of history. Enjoy the charm and unique space. They have larger rooms that you can rent, just get ready to pay more $$.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Billie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

The staff was very friendly, the atmosphere was fun and the location is awesome. So much to do in the area! Special touches like the turn down service really make you feel special. The rooms are very cozy but they did a great job of utilizing the space.

Room Tip: You can request either a river view or city view if you have a preference.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripsy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We traveled by AMTRAK to Sacramento to experience the train trip and Old Town. We loved out stay on the Delta King. The staff simply couldn't have been more helpful and willing to make sure our stay in the hotel and the area were what we expected. We loved all the museums within walking distance and shopping. In fact, staying on the Delta King was like staying in a museum. The history and view of the river were much more than we expected. We can recommend it as a hotel and Old Town as a great place to visit, eat, and shop.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view of the river and try to get a tour of the boat. Take cash for taxi if you need to ride outside of Old Town. 2 of three taxi drivers extremely reluctant to accept card.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m47pld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Stayed two nights on the Delta King, the first in a regular city view stateroom and the second in the Captain's Quarters. The regular state room was lovely, with high-end furnishings and bedding and a wonderful high-pressure shower. It was on the small side but larger than most cruise mid-range rooms, with plenty of space for two large travelers and their luggage. What can I say about the Captain's Quarters but WOW! If you are looking for a special occasion room, this is it! (It was a birthday weekend for us.) Huge, two story, covering the entire front of the boat, including the old steering wheel, right above the Delta Bar & Grill, and equipped with an amazing bathroom (high-end bath products, double sink, clawfoot tub), a sleigh bed, and a luxurious sitting area. It was quite an upgrade from the regular stateroom but well worth the extra $$ for that very special occasion.

The staff at the Delta Bar & Grill were happy to open several bottles of wine that we brought on board with us and package a delicious take-away cheese tray for our room the first night. The entertainment at the Bar & Grill was a peculiar live cover band (and not a very good one) that probably should have been vetted a bit more before being hired for a Saturday night. The Pilothouse breakfast (included with the room) was plain but hearty. We didn't "upgrade" our breakfasts either day (for an extra charge) to anything else on the menu as the other menu items were no more tempting than the "Bed & Breakfast." The orange juice was particularly fresh and tasty, and although the potatoes and breakfast meats were clearly pre-cooked (buffet-style), they were adequate.

Parking for the day, including multiple in's and out's, was $18, which is a bargain to park in the heart of Old Sac for 24 hours. The valets were great, if not always at the valet stand, due to jogging the 4 blocks to retrieve cars from the satellite lot. The location is fantastic and an absolutely great place to stay if you want to wander Old Sac, visit the various museums or shops, or dine in any of the great restaurants within walking distance. It's a kitchy place but very interesting and definitely a change from a normal high-end hotel.

Room Tip: The Captain's Quarters are superb for a special occasion. The regular staterooms are quirky and fun but don't expect a lot of room for the price. For those that care to have coffee or drinks on the deck, request the top deck staterooms with shared verandas and views of the river or city. The river or city views on the middle deck are only through small windows.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

I just spent the last two days in Sacramento on a business trip. I had the delight of staying at the Delta King. If you are particular about your accommodations and prefer a "sterile" room, this is not the hotel for you. However, f you like history and have never stayed on a genuine river boat, then you'll love the Delta King. The rooms are a little smaller than a standard hotel and can be a little noisy on the lower decks. The bathrooms are also tiny as is also common on a larger cruise ship. The free breakfast was very tasty and cooked to order.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the water side and enjoy riparian views out your window.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chasmader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews