We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Now for something different” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Delta King

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Delta King
Ranked #19 of 80 Hotels in Sacramento
Aptos, California
Level Contributor
142 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Now for something different”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

We stayed two nights on the river side in May. It was very tranquil watching the geese and their chicks on the river. The room was quiet and there was plenty of outdoor space n the boat to walk around and sit outside. The food ans service in the restaurant and the grill were very good. Two museums within walking distance and fun shops on the way in Old Town.

Room Tip: River side is best and a corner room would be the biggest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seacliff23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    200
    63
    19
    28
See reviews for
61
274
28
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

a fun spot and pretty area on the river- restaurant food was not good-the bathroom had a water leak that came through one of the light fixtures and dripped on the floor- we advised management and they said they would take care of it. the lobby people were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: rooms are small but adequate
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ladybug6445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

I have been here last summer and I remember that the receptionist in charge gave us the last room available and I received a very warm welcome!
I have never been in a boat hotel and it was an amazing experience! The restaurant service was very good the breakfast in the morning perfect and the staff was very professional!
I have got just good memories about this Hotel and the staff.
Keep the good job!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonTesoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

My husband and I stayed one night on the Delta King, returning from a L-O-N-G road trip through the Olympic Peninsula of Washington state and the coast of Oregon. We wanted to be pampered. Picked one of only two staterooms onboard (we enjoy sleeping in separate beds while on vacation--often the change of scenery and excitement are quite enough, thank you very much). We got some funny looks, let me tell you! While my husband enjoyed what looked to me to be a king-sized bed (or very nearly so), I was shuttled off to a side room to "enjoy" a twin bed. Trust me, had to turn-in-place all night or risk falling out of bed! In the morning, I started to wash my hair in what turned out to be a TINY sink (about the size of a dessert plate). That was obviously a no-go, so I ended up taking a shower (and was pleasantly surprised at the height of the faucet that did NOT hit me in the face like usual). We enjoyed an interesting complimentary Continental breakfast, but had to leave early to get to the Sacramento Airport on time. We will always wonder what we missed, because "new" food kept getting added to that buffet all the time. All in all, it was an unforgettable experience we would have hated to miss.

Room Tip: Rooms are interestingly historical!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slycke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
133 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

What a wonderful way to spend your days/night on the Sacramento River with amazing views, excellent service, great food - what more can one ask for?? We were able to get a tour of the ship, which was extremely interesting and gave us real appreciation for the work that went into renovating an aging paddlewheeler into a lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Room views are over the rails, of course, but try to get a room that is not looking into the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGrovelandCatLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparks
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

We had such a good time staying at this hotel. It is an authentic riverboat that took passengers to and from San Francisco from the 20's to the 40's. Then during WWII it transported troops. It is well worth a stay if just for the experience of it. It was very clean. The rooms were small, but that is totally expected.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melis_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Point Reyes Station, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

If you need a huge room and the biggest and newest tech toys, please don't stay here.
If you enjoy feeling like you're on a journey, if you like waking up backstage, if you cherish a cup of coffee as you soak in the sun over a river, then this is the place for you.
I stayed in room 423 (Old Sac side) and while the room was fine, I did hear lots of noise from Old Sac and will likely book a river side room next stay.
My room was not big, but it was fine. TV, clock, lights, desk, coffee maker, etc. The bathroom was very narrow, but the water pressure was amazing. No low flow fittings here.
The best part of my trip was the staff. Alex introduced herself and made sure I knew where to find her and what the name of the manager who was coming on after she left was. She was great and every employee I ran into was kind and helpful.
The best part of staying here was waking up and going out on the deck to sip coffee and read the paper while pretending to be traveling down river.
I will stay here again. Enjoy the journey!

Room Tip: Avoid the expensive ($18 per day) valet if you can. River side rooms are less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CoastalBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
0.3 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 80 in Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
1.1 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta King? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta King

Property: Delta King
Address: 1000 Front Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Delta King 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Delta King is an authentic, historic, and permanently moored riverboat on the Sacramento River in Downtown Old Sacramento, Ca. In addition to the two restaurants, the Delta King has 44 AAA 3-Diamond rated staterooms with prepared to order hot breakfast daily, two dinner theatres, a wine school, and wedding & conference facilities. Sacramento Bee says: Pilothouse Restaurant is a must dine destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Delta King reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta King Sacramento
Delta King Hotel Sacramento
Delta Sacramento
Sacramento Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing