We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and relaxing get away”
Review of Delta King

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Delta King
Ranked #18 of 81 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
Rocklin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fun and relaxing get away”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We stayed here one night, mid week, using a TravelZoo coupon. We were on the 4th deck, riverside. It was very enjoyable. We enjoyed sitting outside at the small table by our room, having a drink outside the bar and a delicious dinner. We didn't leave the boat once we got on because my hubs has difficulty walking much at times.
The room was not huge but I've stayed in smaller ones recently. The bathroom was narrow but it is a boat. I could touch both walls with my elbows!
All the staff were very helpful and friendly. There are no elevators so you need to be able to walk down a ramp to get on and off the boat (there may be an elevator that can be used on the dock). Each deck is a flight of 10 steps. We only had to go up and down one flight. The bar and grill is on the 4th deck and the restaurant and entrance to the boat is on the 3rd deck.
We were lucky there were no large groups of people or parties going on. It was very quiet. I can see, though, that noise could be a problem. As others have said, the walls are thin and people walk by right outside the room.
I enjoyed sitting outside at night watching the sunset and the lights of Old Sac and the peaceful river early in the morning before most people were up and out.
The breakfast that comes with the room was good. I did not realize we would get that, so it was a pleasant surprise..

Room Tip: We were in 422. It is right at the stairway so it could be noisier than some of the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSP799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    206
    68
    20
    29
See reviews for
64
282
28
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Stayed here one night as part of a fly-drive honeymoon. Really interesting boat hotel and very authentic old American surroundings. Staff helpful and nice on board restaurant.

Only downside is that bedrooms are a bit basic and feel slightly damp

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelw007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Quinta, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

The Delta King is a river paddle boat that ran between San Francisco and Sacramento in the 1900's transporting workers back and forth. Now, it is permanently docked in Old Towne Sacramento on the Sacramento River. It has ornately carved staircases and bannisters throughout and shows the eloquence of the early 20th century river travel. The room we stayed in (521?) was updated with modern amenities; hairdryer, coffee pot, flat screen, outlets, etc. and yet retained the small white tile work in the bathroom. It had an inviting looking claw-foot bathtub and a water closet for the toilet---rarely seen these days. Charming! The room was small of course because it is a boat after all, but comfortable. The one curiosity I noticed to my amusement was that the floor slanted outward! Not much, but enough to notice Unique! The queen size bed was very comfortable too. Breakfast was included and boy were we surprised to have had a full breakfast. I mean full breakfast; sausage, bacon, or ham, eggs of your choice, hash browns, big muffins, orange juice, coffee, tea, milk, whatever. All this in a white-napkin ornately accented dining room. Beautiful!

Room Tip: I was told that the rooms on the top floor and city side are the best and quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josette0214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

The level of service was incredible--every staff member we encountered was amazingly friendly and helpful. We brought our bikes to enjoy the wonderful bike trails along the river expecting to store them in our car. The hotel staff provided a locked storage room for us instead and helped us get them there. We had a river-view room--small, but with a large bathroom. The boat has tables and chairs set up on the decks for guests to use--great views of the river banks and old bridge. We had forgotten our corkscrew, but the restaurant server happily opened our wine for us to take to the tables on deck. The breakfast was generous and tasty with quick service. All of Old Town is within easy walking distance and there is a large shopping mall just down the street--also an easy walk. Great food at the bar and grill, but lots of other restaurants close by. We will definitely go back!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CPfromCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NW England
Level Contributor
81 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We went here after a hectic exploration of four National Parks and prior to visiting San Francisco. We wanted two nights peace and quiet which the Delta King provided in a quirky and convenient way. We were able to visit Old Town and Downtown Sacramento without using the car and even popped back for lunch. The weather was hot and sunny and we enjoyed eating outside.

The room/cabin was small, but we knew that before booking. However, the bed was comfortable, the air-conditioning efficient and the in-room tea and coffee was welcome.

Breakfast was included and gave a good start to the day. We also enjoyed the lunch.

On both evenings we had dinner at Delta King; one in the Grill and one in the restaurant. We had a main course and each was well- cooked and tasty.

All the staff were friendly and helpful. This stay served its purpose well.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Potterers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

An interesting way to spend the night in Old Sacramento. Take Amtrak and walk a few blocks to the riverboat, possibly stopping at the Railroad Museum or the Sacramento History Museum. Rooms are small but well appointed with flat screens and radio/cd. Good bird viewing along the river with scads of sand martins flitting about. Look for a deal such as Travel Zoo which got us breakfast and a bottle of wine to take away. I would do this trip again.

Room Tip: Riverview only
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aptos, California
Level Contributor
142 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We stayed two nights on the river side in May. It was very tranquil watching the geese and their chicks on the river. The room was quiet and there was plenty of outdoor space n the boat to walk around and sit outside. The food ans service in the restaurant and the grill were very good. Two museums within walking distance and fun shops on the way in Old Town.

Room Tip: River side is best and a corner room would be the biggest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seacliff23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
0.3 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 81 in Sacramento
1,549 reviews
1.1 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta King? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta King

Property: Delta King
Address: 1000 Front St, Sacramento, CA 95814-3231
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Delta King 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Delta King is an authentic, historic, and permanently moored riverboat on the Sacramento River in Downtown Old Sacramento, Ca. In addition to the two restaurants, the Delta King has 44 AAA 3-Diamond rated staterooms with prepared to order hot breakfast daily, two dinner theatres, a wine school, and wedding & conference facilities. Sacramento Bee says: Pilothouse Restaurant is a must dine destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Delta King reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta King Sacramento
Delta King Hotel Sacramento
Delta Sacramento
Sacramento Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing