We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The crew of the Delta King”
Review of Delta King

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Delta King
Ranked #17 of 82 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2014

...exceeded our expectations! What a unique, fun and comfy overnight stay. We rode Amtrak and arrived before checkin time, so asked if we could leave our luggage there while we toured the town and waited for checkin time. James, the front desk guy offered us a fantastic upgrade at a very small increase and we were giddey when we realized he gave us keys to the beloved Captains Quarters! And we got to check in right away. We had a wonderful time enjoying the privacy and quality of this lovely room. Very comfy queen bed, with nice reading lights on either side, 2 huge overstuffed chairs & a couch to enjoy the view of the river! A large soaking tub in the good sized bath was enjoyed; an armoire made into a wet bar/coffee brewing station complete with mini sink, use of an exclusive deck with nice table & chairs. Breakfast the next morning was a full-blown bacon & eggs cooked to order meal! And it was included with our room! Just a very relaxing way to spend a short 1 night mini vacation. The entire staff was gracious, efficient, accomodating and delightful. Can only say we'll definately be back!

Room Tip: Even numbers face river; odd face Old Town. Ask what's below your room (i.e. restaurant, bar, e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (527)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 527 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

Well, you don't quite roll, since the Delta King paddle boat is moored at the foot of Old Sacramento, but you do get a sense of what river travel might have been like from staying here. Our queen river-view room was compact but did not feel crowded.--also glacially air conditioned (appreciated given the heat). The bathroom was another story--about 30 inches wide and 8 ft long with a noisy top-tank-and-pull-chain toilet. The shower worked well, though, and there was adequate shelf space. We slept very comfortably and enjoyed the included hot breakfast (eggs, bacon, potatoes, toast). Old Sacramento itself is a bit depressing--mostly tee shirt shops and ice cream parlors--but it was only a 5 minute walk to the RR Museum and only about 10 minutes to the Crocker Art Museum. We enjoyed the easy access to Riverwalk as well. We stayed there on a lark but would definitely consider staying there again.

Room Tip: The city-view rooms mostly face the wharf, unless you're up high and can see over it. You don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sudbury9122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My daughter and I had an overnight "Mom/Daughter Date" in Old Sacramento, about an hour from where we live. Our stay on the Delta King was awesome! The reception staff was friendly and the room was clean and nicely decorated, although the bathroom needs updating. We stayed in a Deluxe City View Room on the top level. We were on the corner and had great views of the river as well. The valet parking costs less than if we had paid for the garage, and Old Sacramento was just a few steps away. We had dinner off the boat, but will definitely plan to come back for this as their dinner menu looks amazing AND the grill area would be an awesome place for cocktails. The complimentary, made to order breakfast was more than ample and yummy too. We even invited guests for breakfast and ordered off the menu as well. BONUS was that there were fireworks the night we stayed because of the Rivercats home game.

Be forewarned...the rooms are small and the head clearance for taller people might be an issue - but it's a boat after all! Also, the boat is old and not always level or easy access, so if you're traveling with fragile or disabled individuals, I'm not sure this would work well. Otherwise, an awesome experience!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brandy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Went there for lunch last month with business associate from out of town. She and I both loved it. We ate outside on the deck. Food and service were fantastic. I had been there for dinner but I may become a lunch regular.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

When my colleague told me he’d booked us on a ferry boat for our one night stay in Sacramento, I was sure he was kidding. Not a bit of it. There it was, a floating hotel in a real paddle steamer. The rooms are a bit small, but who cares? It’s just one night, and you’re afloat. Everything else about the place was just fine, with its 24 hour reception and business centre, restaurant and bar, plus free wifi. It’s good to know places like this exist, and where to find them.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We live about an hour away and have visited the Delta King on day trips before, so when a special for the hotel came up we (me and hubby + another couple) decided to stay on a Friday night. Staff was wonderful (thanks so much Alex and Norman, and the valet staff), rooms were comfortable (we were on deck 5, river view), and food/drinks scrumptious and reasonably priced. The AAA baseball team The River Cats had a game that night across the river with fireworks after so that was a treat to watch from the boat! Very relaxing in the morning sitting outside our room watching personal boat traffic go by while sipping coffee (which is provided in the rooms via coffeemaker).

Great location for visiting Old Sacramento, riding the bike trails (we brought our bikes...staff stored them for us), and sightseeing California's capital city! We will be back for a longer stay next time!

Room Tip: Get a river view room on deck 5. It's at the top and has table/chairs outside each room. If rive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yukonmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This was a spur of the moment trip. My daughter and grandson were returning to North Carolina from Reno, flying out of Sacramento. I thought it would be fun to meet them the night before their flight for a visit. When I looked online for someplace to stay I saw the Delta King listing. We were all so glad I did. It turned a quick visit into a really special mini vacation. We were so impressed with the wonderful restoration, the staff were all friendly as well as professional, and the food was incredible. We definitely plan to return when we can stay longer.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
0.3 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 82 in Sacramento
1,735 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Sterling Hotel Sacramento
The Sterling Hotel Sacramento
#43 of 82 in Sacramento
75 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sacramento/South Natomas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta King? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta King

Address: 1000 Front St, Sacramento, CA 95814-3231
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range: £118 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Delta King 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Delta King is an authentic, historic, and permanently moored riverboat on the Sacramento River in Downtown Old Sacramento, Ca. In addition to the two restaurants, the Delta King has 44 AAA 3-Diamond rated staterooms with prepared to order hot breakfast daily, two dinner theatres, a wine school, and wedding & conference facilities. Sacramento Bee says: Pilothouse Restaurant is a must dine destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Delta King reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta King Sacramento
Delta King Hotel Sacramento
Delta Sacramento
Sacramento Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing