We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but could use some work”
Review of Arden Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arden Star Hotel
Ranked #43 of 81 Hotels in Sacramento
Orange, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good but could use some work”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Overall our stay was just adequate. We stayed in the section of the hotel with outdoor corridors. It was very dark at night. So dark that we felt a bit uneasy. We noticed several lights that were either burnt out or not turned on, including some in the stairway. Also, it appeared housekeeping was a little bit sloppy. The room was clean, but very low on toilet paper, and the shampoo was only half full. The staff were very helpful in fixing the problem, but someone should be checking this more closely.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victorjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M, General Manager at Arden Star Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. On behalf of the entire staff I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations during your stay. We have recently undergone an ownership change, and we plan on making a lot of changes to the hotel including as you mentioned some training to our staff on policies and procedures, as well as customer service. We have also contacted a local contractor to add some lighting to our parking lots and walk ways. Again I do apologize and hope you will give us a chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    41
    22
    9
    24
See reviews for
36
27
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
West Pittston, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stains on the carpeting, massive amount of mildew growing behind the grout and dirty wet towels replaced on the rack until I insisted they be changed. When I asked about the towels the front desk staff did not even look up and acted as though I was not even there.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel! There is no good reason to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dad113056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M, General Manager at Arden Star Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. On behalf of the entire staff I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations during your stay. We have recently undergone an ownership change, and we plan on making a lot of changes to the hotel. We hope that you might come in and take a look for yourself in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sacramento hotels

maryland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This is a property crying out for renovation. I am not an expert on the lodging market in Sacramento but I never in my life expected to shell out more than $100 per night to share a bathroom with cockroaches. This Quality Inn gave me that experience. My room was fairly clean but the furnishings and decor were old and tired. The front desk person was very nice but that is the only plus I can think of. Quality Inns should regard this location as a cancer on their brand.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Otto M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M, General Manager at Arden Star Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We do have an upgrade of the property going on but it will take a few months to complete. I hope you might give us another chance in the future to see the upgrades we have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This was a great find for a one-night stay to attend a nearby conference. It's easy to find, is near Cal-Expo, and for me the best part -- directly across the street from a Red Lobster restaurant. Lisette, at the front desk, was terrific, handling multiple check-ins at the same time and maintaining her calm demeanor, helpful attitude, and professionalism all at the same time. This facility is very clean, but could use a little updating, i.e., handles missing on some of the doors to the outside, sliding door on the closet in my room missing. There was also a weird piece of white plastic, about the size of a quarter but a bit thicker, glued to the bottom of the bathtub, right about where your bum would be if you were to attempt to take a bath. Strange, but I took a shower, not a bath, and the shower was very nice. I had a very roomy ground-floor corner room, #142, and it had a very nice kitchenette complete with a small upright fridge. (The handle was missing from the lower door of the fridge, however.) The room was quite large, with two double beds, and very quiet. The rooms have a somewhat strange heating/cooling unit, that hangs on the outside wall up near the ceiling. It had a remote to operate it, but I had to climb up on a chair to see the temperature display. It worked well, but the location was decidedly odd. (Another person in our group had the same unit in their room.) Again, the room was very clean and quite comfortable. The entire facility is smoke-free, but when I left my room to go to breakfast I could clearly smell cigarette smoke from the next room. I reported it to the front desk, but wasn't around long enough to see/hear what transpired. The breakfast was very nice -- don't let the round scrambled egg patties fool you as they were delicious. They fit perfectly into the English muffins, along with same-size sausage patties. Fresh fruit (but no bananas), waffles, toast, cereal, juices, yogurt, boiled eggs, just about everything you could think of.) For only $71 for the single night (and a Friday night at that), I felt it was a very good value.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M, General Manager at Arden Star Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Lisette is a great asset to the company and we are lucky to have her. Thank you as well for letting us know about some of the issues in your room. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

It is really fun and has a pool the people were really nice and it was near a lot of places.such as restaurants like red lobster and outback steak house it was also near old Sacramento and the science museum plus the breakfast was very delicious.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M, General Manager at Arden Star Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad you where able to enjoy the pool, and breakfast. We look forward to serving you on your next trip to Sacramento.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chittagong City, Bangladesh
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I along with my family (Wife) visited the Howe Avenue River and thus we had to reserve room here at this "Quality Inn". The front desk clerk SUSHANT advised and guided me. This man is professional indeed and showed me with his chart and map "how to reach to Howe Avenue River and regional parks. Though, I was a little concerned on moving with my wife but at the end all finished successfully.
After returning to this Inn again, I found SUSHANT. Thanks man for your cordial help. Rooms were a little old fashioned, but room services were good enough. I do appreciate the complementary breakfast as well.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K N A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M, General Manager at Arden Star Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad you where able to enjoy some of the things Sacramento has to offer. Sushant is a super start at the hotel and he goes above and beyond his job duties to make sure all guest feel welcomed. Thank you again for choosing us, and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2014

My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon. Front desk clerk Sushanti, was extremely helpful on anything we needed, from help on my computer to even knowing about digital cameras..... The rooms are comfy yet the only complaint i would have but it is minimal is old tvs in room. but to me that was minimal. Sushanti hooked us up on special rates both times we stayed because of special occasions. I recommend the stay, and if in town ask for Sushanti, teell him about his great review, may even help out with a discount. total stay i can say it was satisfying..... Thank you Sushanti, Mike and Andrea Caamal

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeDrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M, General Manager at Arden Star Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I have to agree with you we are lucky enough to have such a great employee. Sushant and Mike are a great asset to our company. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Sacramento
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Cal Expo
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Sacramento Cal Expo
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn Sacramento Cal Expo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
#13 of 81 in Sacramento
441 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Sacramento-Cal Expo
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sacramento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arden Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arden Star Hotel

Property: Arden Star Hotel
Address: 1413 Howe Ave, Sacramento, CA 95825 (Formerly Lexington Inn & Suites/Expo Inn & Suites At Cal Expo)
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 81 Hotels in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Arden Star Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Arden Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Expo Hotel Sacramento
Best Western Sacramento
Sacramento Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing